We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yosemite retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Arcadia, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yosemite retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We shared a very pleasant room while on a tour of Yosemite. One nice feature was that the vanity area was separate from the bathroom, making it easier to get ready in the morning. Lobby and grounds were very pretty. The hotel is in close proximity to the south entrance to the park. There is a small convenience store on site as well as a restaurant and bar/grill. A short distance away is a pizzeria, so there are several eating options. Also close by is the Sugar Pine Mountain Railroad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    968
    436
    172
    94
See reviews for
923
986
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here with my husbands parents for a family weekend. The hotel is one hour from the Ahwahnee, but well located for Mariposa Grove and Glacier Point (which we wanted to see).

Pros: Dog friendly (!), staff are really nice/helpful, ambiance is comfortable, grounds well appointed. We stayed in a cottage and didn't hear our neighbors and had good sleep quality. Food was solid and the bar is great.

Cons: The rooms are pretty worn, carpet worn. The pillows were ok, but small. The lodge is a long way from the Yosemite valley. Our reservation room type was "fully booked". We requested king beds - they were sold out. They upgraded us to a suite, but the bed was still a queen. The suites are really poorly laid out. There are heater in each room, none are central. The room is comfortable, but a little dark. Internet is incredibly frustrating. It's "free" for lower band width - $9.95 for higher, which you really need.

The pool doesn't open until mid-May. In general, I thought the price expensive for the quality/room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wi
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here in a cabin for two nights in April. The cabin was very quiet. We were on the lower floor and never heard anyone in the upper room or the room next to us. Great peaceful location and very close to Mariposa Grove hiking. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on and off since it opened as a Marriott in the 90s. Marriott no longer owns this hotel. THIS HOTEL HAS LOST IT'S POLISH. 2.5-3.0 star level at bset.
The best feature of this hotel is the staff - they were all friendly and helpful. The problems are management/maintenance problems.
We had barely warm water for showers (a common complaint we learned later). The mattresses were extremely hard, the towels and sheets are not exposed to fabric softener. The bedspreads were dingy. There were cigarette butts in the outside tracks of the sliding door to our balcony. The breakfast buffet was terrible - fake eggs, cold hard croissants, sick looking sausage, undercooked bacon, cheap orange juice, but lots of good fresh fruit. There were upholstery problems on furniture throughout. They supposedly give you a limited amount of free wi-fi, but it was difficult to figure out the connection (not explained at check-in) and then they want to charge you $10/day for more, but at the rates they are charging that is ridiculous. The entire hotel needs a deep cleaning and polish.
They advertised a "GM Special" which included a Yosemite park day pass and buffet breakfast starting at $159/nt. but when i went to book it it was $250+ and that was the weekend before all of Yosemite Valley was open. Golf courses & Glacier Point didn't open until the following week. What they don't tell you is the park day pass is good for unlimited use for 7 days - so you don't need the GM Special rate every night. The buffet wasn't worth it at all.
The insulation was so bad we could hear every step the guy in the room above us took and worse yet, we could hear him pee. TMI. Add that to no hot water and it was feeling like the no-tell motel. When we complained they moved us to a top floor room, but offered us nothing for our inconveniences.
The Jackalope bar had great mulligatawny soup and we had a good sandwich and the drinks were very good. That and the nice staff and complimentary valet are the only reasons to give this property a 3. If you stay - make sure to reserve a room on the top floor and request one with hot water.

Room Tip: Top floor only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind comments regarding the great service provided by our hotel staff and the food you enjoyed. We’re sorry to read that the accommodations did not meet your expectations. We take great pride in having earned our Four Diamond designation based on the rigorous standards of AAA. Renovations at any popular destination resort are an ongoing investment, and for the last two years we have been addressing the water issue you pointed out. We have about 15 percent or less of the property left to complete the project. Currently, WiFi is free up to a certain bandwidth. For increased bandwidth, there is a fee of $9.95 for a 24 hour period. The cost of bringing WiFi in to a remote mountain location is high. As we continue to work with our local providers we may be able to change our current policy in the future. With regard to your room rate and bill, may we request you call Tenaya Lodge at (559) 683-6555 and ask to speak with Mindy Eichman. If there was any error on our part we will certainly want to remedy that for you! Thank you again for reviewing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you can't get a room in the valley and can afford the price, the Tenaya Lodge is a great alternate. My wife and I had a room in the main hotel, which was very nice. I liked the idea that the bathroom has 2 sections with the sink being separate. Our friends were in the cabins which are nice with a fireplace, but not sure it is worth the extra cost. We only had breakfast and thought it was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Tenaya Lodge is really nothing special. It is big, sprawling and dark. We stayed in an upper cottage, nice amount of room but it was dark, in the woods, and ordinary.
The main lodge is dark as well, the pool was closed, the restaurant food was almost inedible, actually it was inedible and cost almost 100 bucks for shrimp and salmon! No wine..no desert. The next night we got take in from a great barbeque place in Oakhurst.
Stay in Oakhurst, stay in Yosemite, avoid this place if you are not with a big tour group.
There simply is no magic here...

Room Tip: a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your thoughts, Ellen. It sounds like a room on the upper floor of our main lodge might provide the view you were hoping for, as our individual Cottages were built to provide a sense of being nestled within surrounding Sierra National Forest. We would like to clarify that we have four pools on the resort property including a large indoor heated pool at the main lodge which allows guests to take a dip even if the main pool is closed for renovations, inclement weather, etc. Thank you again, and we hope we have another chance to serve you at the main lodge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Here's the short version:

- Fellow Californians: The Tenaya Lodge is a terrible value. It's a $150/night hotel masquerading as a $350/night hotel on the strength of the location, prettiness of their lobby, Indian blanket motif stencils on the faux-Mission furniture, and their swimming pools. It has limited competition and a captive audience in international visitors flowing to Yosemite - they don't have to be good - people just keep coming. Leave it to the tour bus crowd.

- Couples: run away, run away from the hotel rooms (cottages may be newer and nicer?). Families with kids: you *may* like the pools enough to stay here; see caveats way below.

- Our room was in fair condition and felt like a cave decorated in 1986. The bedcovers were cheap polyester and the windows were filthy. Furniture was chipped, lampshades stained. There was trash on the lawn during our entire stay. Sleep quality was OK.

- The $75 "Deluxe Pampered Pet Package" was a joke - we got a too-small dog bed and a scratched up metal bowl, and even had to phone the front desk for that.

- The $50 per person dinner in the Sierra restaurant wasn't worth the price, I didn't get what I ordered, and no alternatives were offered. The service was ok but fakey. Breakfast and the morning server were excellent, though.

---------------------------------------
Here are the nitty-gritty details:
---------------------------------------

We decided to take an impulse trip and drive to Yosemite to see the waterfalls at their spring peak, and we wanted to stay at a place that was a bit of a splurge. We also wanted to bring our dog, so we booked Tenaya Lodge, which has a Deluxe Pampered Pet Package. The reservations agent on the phone charged us $75 for the pet package. The total charge for our basic room for one night was about $380.

According to their website, the Deluxe Pampered Pet Package provides your pet with the royal treatment, a Gourmet Dog Bone Biscuit baked by Tenaya's Executive Chef including recipe, 2 hours of pet sitting time, a dog toy, water bowl, plush dog bed, dog treats and disposable mitts - nope, and concierge sheet with tips, doggie do's and don'ts.

When we got to the room, the pet package wasn't there. We called the front desk, and about 15 minutes later a maintenance man brought the "royal treatment": a blah dog bed that was too small for our dog and a well-used metal dog bowl that had deep white scratches all over the inside. None of the other items they had listed on their website ever showed up.

The room (# 189) was clean but only in fair condition. Keep in mind this is a $380 per night room I'm describing here. The decor gave the impression of a maroon and beige cave that was designed and forgotten back in 1986. The bathroom mirror's frame paint was chipped off. The windows were absolutely filthy. The standing lamp's shade was dented and had water stains all over it; the desk lamp shade was lightly stained, dented, and coming apart. The bedcovers were cheap plastic polyester - come on, Tenaya: even Hilton Garden Inn, Doubletree, and Marriott hotels have cotton covers on the beds these days. Pillows were old and very flat. The desk had two medium sized chips along its edge, and the bathroom door was missing about four square inches of veneer. At 9am the water pressure was barely sufficient to take a shower, it wasn't warm enough, and the fixture was wobbly. Outside our sliding door there was a piece of trash that no one picked up during our stay (and yes, this bothered me. Like filthy windows, it's another example of poor management at the $380 per night level). We could have overlooked one or two of these things, but all flaws taken together added up to a shabby, sorry, place to stay.

There were a few good things about the room: good bath amenities, good video equipment, good climate control, sufficient lighting for reading, and there was enough insulation between the floors that the sound of people walking overhead was muffled.

The outdoor pools weren't open for the season, but the indoor pool was. Unfortunately the ventilation in the enclosure is inadequate and the chlorine gas smell was so strong that I didn't want to stay in there for more than a minute or two. The pool isn't for adults anyway - both times we walked by, there were at least 20 screaming kids in it. If you're traveling with children, they will really enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools, so bring their swimsuits. But be aware, the Tenaya Lodge pool is the only pool at which I've ever seen a sign that says, "WARNING - persons with Diarrhea Cannot Enter Pool for 14 Days". So, yeah, you go on and have fun, I'll pass.

The upscale restaurant "Embers" was closed, so we ate dinner in the mid-tier Sierra restaurant. Wait time was about 20 minutes. Our server was polite, but had this fakey persona and tone that both my husband and I found distracting. Both the server and the host used "we" a lot... "how are we this evening".... "are we ready to order" ... "what would we like to drink" ...etc, which eventually got on our nerves. But as with the room, the real issue was the poor value for price paid.

At $50 per person (without wine or alcoholic beverages, just one split salad and two entrees!), you at least expect to receive the items you order. Instead of bread, there were tasteless breadsticks (your kids will like them, though). I ordered wild salmon and got what was obviously farmed salmon. I was offered wild rice but got boil-in-a-bag white rice. We told the server, but she didn't offer us something else, just thanked us for educating her on what wild rice was! The plate also had half a limp, overcooked carrot sliced lengthwise and two oily pieces of cauliflower. The sauerkraut was good, though. After the dinner debacle, we skipped dessert.

This restaurant is heavily cutting corners to make a profit and it's unlikely that you will get what you order - for example, in addition to the "wild" salmon that wasn't, the menu offers Mary's organic chicken, but I'll bet you're getting Tyson.

In contrast, we also had breakfast in the Sierra restaurant, and it was very good. Our server, Connie, was absolutely excellent as well. Wait time was also about 20 minutes. Price was about $18 per person, and it was a teriffic value.

At checkout, we were credited our $75 pet tariff back, bringing the price of the one night stay down to about $300, but this was still waaaaay overpriced. Save yourself some money, and stay at one of the $150 per night places nearby - other than the frou-frou Tenaya Lodge lobby, you'll get about the same thing, maybe even cotton bedding. Leave this place to the tour bus groups.

Tenaya Lodge management: if you ever read this, I strongly recommend sending your manager to the Grand Del Mar in San Diego so you can see the quality and value another hotel is providing in your price range. You are ridiculously overpriced (and I'm happy to pay $500/night for a room if the value is there). If you care enough to capture the local luxury crowd, you either need to upgrade your rooms and bedding or reduce your prices to reflect the value of what you're providing. You have a huge throughput of people, therefore you need to refurbish frequently. You also need to put things like window cleaning and lawn trash cleanup on a regular schedule. Also, remove the Pampered Pet Package from your website - you are obviously unable to deliver on what you're promising.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, book a cottage, not a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge_Yosemite, Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Tenaya Lodge. We are very sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations in several areas. Having earned the prestigious Four Diamond designation based on the rigorous standards of AAA, it is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service. Rest assured that this review has been routed to our management staff and your comments are being considered carefully. It is our sincere hope that we can restore your faith in our property and be of service to you in the future. To that end, our General Manager would like the opportunity to speak with you personally. To connect with him, please call Yvonne Moreno at (559) 683-6555. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.