We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Little Place - Apple Tree Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Super Little Place - Apple Tree Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

We visited the Apple Tree Inn after a visit to Yosemite. It is about 45 mins south of the Park.

It was such a pretty looking place with little "houses" nestled amongst the trees. The houses were split into three and we had the whole top floor with a balcony.

It was beautifully decorated and very homely. There was a little noise at 1 am when the people below arrived.

My teenage boys and husband used the swimming pool and jacuzzi!

We ate next door at the Tenaya Lodge which was superb. In the morning a complimentary breakfast was served.

All in all I could not rate this establishment more highly - it was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Liked — The setting and how it was decorated.
  • Disliked — The noise from downstairs.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    971
    436
    172
    95
See reviews for
929
987
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

If you are looking for upscale lodging just outside Yosemite, Tenaya Lodge is a good choice. That's especially true for families with children, since there is both an indoor and outdoor pool to occupy the kiddies when they are not exploring the park.
This may sound like an ad for Tenaya Lodge, but now comes the cautionary advice. If you are grownups who intend to spend only part of your time in Yosemite and also want to kick back at the hotel and enjoy the beautiful scenery, think about choosing someplace else.
The hotel occupies almost the entire site, with room in front only for an outdoor dining area, a pool, and a huge parking lot. The back of the property is even worse, a dismantled former ice skating rink the primary feature. There are some tables and chairs on a meager lawn area in the back, but that was blocked off by construction tape. Oh yeah, there's another parking lot there too.
As for enjoying the view, the options are limited. You could get one of the rooms that do have a tiny deck, room enough for a small table and chairs. But they are very expensive. Or you can walk to the very front of the property beyond the parking area and plop down on a solitary bench.
If you want to spend time at your hotel AND enjoy the incredible surroundings, a much better choice would be the Wawona Hotel in the park. It has lovely grounds with chairs scattered on the lawn as well as chairs lining the walkways to the rooms. I'm told the rooms are much more spartan than the Tenaya (the Wawona was sold out when we were there and we couldn't see one) but it's a tradeoff I'll make when I return.
Of course, if you're a hedge fund manager the only way to go is the Awahnee, which is both breathtaking and breathtakingly expensive.
If you do go to the Tenaya, you will be pleased by the rooms and the service. We paid a little extra for a junior suite and it was worth the money. Much more room and a view from the window over the parking area to the hills beyond, which was better than nothing at all. Better still was the staff. From the fellows who park your car to the front desk personnel and the cleaning ladies, the service was uniformly outstanding. Very nice people who all deserve a raise.
A dining tip: the food at the hotel is OK, but overpriced for what you get. If you don't mind the 12 mile winding drive back to Oakhurst, go to El Cid, an outstanding Mexican restaurant.

  • Liked — proximity to the park entrance
  • Disliked — inability to really enjoy the scenery
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

We stayed at the Tenaya Lodge for one night. The bedroom was very big. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was a little outdated but clean. Pool and hot-tub were great. Gym was well equipped. Staff were very friendly. Front desk and concierge had lots of maps and recommendations for day trips, sights, quickest routes, etc. in to, out of and around the park. There's free internet access and printing at the concierge desk. One of the two hotel restaurants requires a jacket and tie which seems a little out-of-place at a hotel in a location where people go hiking, climbing, etc. but they do also have another more low-key restaurant and a decent bar menu. There were LOADS of kids and families staying at the hotel which made the lobby and public areas a little noisy but overall it's a nice hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson,Nv
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

The rooms were not as stated. The carpet and walls were damaged and the second floor in the rear is street level with 8 feet of snow covering the windows...igloo type view. The staff was not accomodating and could not understand why we didn't like the view. Lobby was nice. Busy with weddings and families. The plus is being so close to Yosemite. Pre-paid breakfast buffet was worth it. I wouldn't go outof my way to stay here

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

My family stayed at the Tenaya Lodge this year from March 24th through 28th. We really enjoyed our stay and plan to stay there again. We have 13- and 15-year old girls.

This is one hotel that has paid attention to detail to accommodate children, which can be very tricky during the inclement months. A few of the things available for kids (and adults too) include: an outdoor ice skating rink, indoor pool (there is an outdoor pool for the warmer weather), board games and s'more kits at the concierge desk, night hikes with snow shoes.

In the evenings you will find families in the lobby playing board games on the coffee tables in front of the large fireplace. We did this as a family and my girls loved it.

As mentioned in some of the other reviews, there were some ill behaved children and adults, but I have seen worse at other hotels.

I noticed a lot of guests had dogs and the dogs were well behaved.

If you eat at Jackalopes, be sure to have the chocolate chip cookie pizza dessert. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

This was our first time to Yosemite and absolutely loved it. We had heard so many wonderful things about this hotel that we had to stay there and no one ever had a bad thing to say about it.

The hotel staff is excellent! We have never experienced such wonderful service at a hotel. We drove up to the valet and were greeted by Bruce, who was very sweet and kind. He offered to take care of our bags while we went exploring. Everyone at the front desk was very nice as well. The restaurants were casual, warm due to the inside fires, and the staff was excellent. (Especially Matthew in the Jackalope and Terri in the Sierra Restaurant for breakfast).

Our only complaint was the other guests of the hotel. The amount of children running amok in the hotel was unbelieveable. We saw kids under age 10 running throughout the hotel, up and down the elevators, and all unsupervised. The sounds of running up and down our hallway (and also on the floor above us) was constant throughout our 3 day stay. I even spoke to other guests in the fitness room and they noticed the unsupervised children as well. Yes, the doors to the rooms do slam but guests need to be more considerate of others and close the doors gently rather than letting it slam.

I would like to say to the family in room #273 on March 26...if you're reading this, you have extremely unruly children and thanks for keeping us up all night with your fighting. We were sitting in bed trying to watch tv and your kids must have been jumping on the bed because our wall kept vibrating and thumping. We could hear all of their little laughter and I have no idea where you were because this continued on for a while.

Our other lasting memory of the guests came on our day of departure. At 12:30am, we were awakened by a large group of 20-something males in our hallway. If you've ever seen the movie Animal House, you'll know what I mean. This group was drunk, loud, and were banging on the door across from our room. They were literally having a nice party in our hallway (2nd floor). I got up and opened the door and there were about 20 guys in our hallway. ONLY ONE OF THEM had the sense to say, Shhhhhhh. We called security and complained. Apparently, the majority of the floor was complaining. Within about 15 minutes everything had calmed down. When I told the front desk manager about this situation in the morning, Ms. Eichman, her response was, "Thank you. I'll follow up with security." There was no apology, no nothing.

Now I understand that unruly children are the parent's responsibility and not the hotel's. And the hotel could not have predicted that the group of males would have gotten out of hand. But it left a lasting impression on my mind and I would definitely not recommend this hotel for a "romantic" weekend. We did not go there expecting one, since we had our own teenager, but I could not believe how people could be that inconsiderate.

  • Liked — Most of the staff
  • Disliked — The other inconsiderate guests
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to San Francisco through Yosemite. The rooms are clean and comfortable (although the view at the backdoor of 8ft of snow was not such a great view!)

Staff were excellent and in particular the waiter in the restaurant. Even if you think the hotel is a little over priced for its rooms and accommodation, it's well wortht he trip for the restaurant food. Dine in the A La Carte restaurant and trust me you won't be dissapointed!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.