We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is located just 15 minutes away from Yosemite. The rooms are very spacious and confortable. We went in the winter, so there was lot we were unable to do, but we look forward to come back.

The only issue we had was that the shower didn't have constant hot water.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi, and thanks for posting your comments. Just wanted to add a quick update, Tenaya Lodge is even closer to Yosemite than you think -- we're just five minutes from the Park's South Gate. Hope we can welcome you back again real soon, and we'll show you the many things you can do in the winter (ski, sled, snowshoe, skate, snowmobile, sip, savor, spa)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    1,112
    497
    195
    102
See reviews for
1,100
1,181
36
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked this outstanding property thru Expedia at a discounted rate. The restaurants, atmosphere and accommodations were outstanding. We enjoyed sitting in the lobby reading the paper and listening to relaxing music. The brunch was outstanding, extremely varied and beautifully presented. Give this place a look.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were surprised to get a last minute booking during the New Year holiday week. It was very crowded with young families - it didn't have the atmosphere that is portrayed on the website.
The room we had was a deluxe extended room, which was roomy for a family of four, plus our gear and luggage. In this setup, there is a balcony that you can walk out to and also serves as storage area for your snow gear. There is a very small mini refrigerator in the room. The wing that our room was in was very quiet.
There were plenty of activities onsite to keep teenagers happy - snowshoeing, cross country ski rentals and you can hike on the trail to find challenging sled runs. Our night time snow shoe hike was excellent and our guide extremely knowledgeable. There's also a small ice skating rink onsite and an indoor pool. Outdoor pool was closed for the season.
The restaurants were sufficient and it was enjoyable seeing our favorite waitress at different meals. The three restaurants are adjacent to each other and share some menu items. There is also a small mini-mart onsite to get snacks.
Ascent Spa is lovely and worth a visit. My only complaint is that the sauna/steam room is open to the guests without spa appointments, even though these amenities are available at the indoor pool. My relaxation time was spoiled by two screaming children that were brought in by their parent.Thankfully, a spa attendant noticed that a young child was in the sauna for an extended time.
It is about a 40 minute drive to Yosemite, making this a very convenient place if you aren't able to stay within the park. I highly recommend the tour offered by the Lodge if you are a first time visitor. You get a great overview and can make notes of spots to revisit on your own.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just stayed at Tenaya for a Friday and Sunday and had a so-so experience. The rooms are good sized and the beds comfy but we had only lukewarm water in the bathrooms on both stays (so different rooms). We also had friends in other rooms and they didn't have hot water either. After cross country skiing all day it would have been nice to come back to some hot water in the shower. The bathroom sink couldn't even muster up much heat. I called the front desk which expressed apologies but then accidentally (?) disconnected me. When I went to call back they were too busy to answer and then we had to leave so I never got any real feedback from them.

Also, the hotel seemed rather full and the staff seemed poorly equipped to handle the number of people. One night we ate at the Jackalope and there was only one waiter in the whole room but there were 5 hostesses milling around the desk. It took at least an hour for the waiter to even take our order! In the bar, there is only seating at the bar, not at the tables, unless you are seated to order a meal. Forget trying to order appetizers or drinks if you have anyone under 21 with you. I was told to call room service and they would serve me in the lobby.
Overall, staff seemed disorganized and unable to handle the number of guests. As another reviewer noted, the walls are paper thin as well.
The Tenaya has a great location near the entrance of Yosemite and because they are a little isolated, I'm guessing that most of their guests just stay at the resort as opposed to going elsewhere to eat. It would be nice if they had their food service and restaurant flow more organized and some hot water! Brrrrrr!

Room Tip: We stayed in the east wing so maybe there is a problem in that area with having hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have dined and stayed at this property several times. The atmosphere is very nice and service has always been good. Due to the fact they greet guests from all over the world who come to visit Yosemite National Park it can be quite busy, and a bit challenging for service due to the number of guests. They have many activities for all ages and the deli counter has great sandwiches and will even pack box lunches as you head out for a day of adventures. If you have a chance to stay in one of the cottages formerly known as the Apple Tree Inn you will find comfort and quiet away from the hustle bustle of the Main hotel lobby. Be careful in the winter as the road in and out of the hotel can be very slippery with ice on the main highway and the driveway back to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Second time staying at this resort and both experiences were great. What I like best about it is the activities that the resort has to offer. We were there at Christmas and it was magical. Great for Children. Took our grandson for a truly magical holiday experience and it was wonderful. He went sledding had dinner with Santa, decorated cookies and Mrs. Clause read a bedtime story to the children before they went to bed Christmas Eve. The resort also distributed Christmas stocking to all the rooms Christmas eve full of goodies. In the summer they also have similar activities for the quests such as hay rides, etc. Rooms were clean and nice, The restaurant food was a bit pricey but Oh Well, We had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We just got back from the Tenaya. It was only about a quarter filled, which was perfect. Though there weren't that many people - we could easily see how difficult it must be when the hotel is more filled. The walls are paper thin, we could hear clear conversations from the next rooms. Had to sleep with earplugs. It really seems like the hotel is catered towards kids. Who were LOUD. Running the halls, screaming, crying. If you're not into kid noise (we're not) this would not be the hotel for you. It worked for us ONLY because it was off season, cannot imagine when it's full. The restaurant told us that when it's full the wait for dinner is 2-3 hours.

That being said, we had a really nice time. The food was delicious and we are vegetarians. As soon as we got ear plugs, it improved. I would go back, NEVER when it's crowded. It's clean, new and really nice employees.

Room Tip: Best to be on upper floor, downstairs floors can hear people stomping around upstairs. Sounded like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your thoughts. You've touched on something that we want to highlight -- Yosemite National Park a four-season destination, but the highest levels of visitation occur during the summer months. Experiencing Yosemite in the fall and winter can offer a deeper level of engagement with its wonders; highly recommended! And, we're pleased that you found our vegetarian dining options were delicious. And, we're sorry if you encountered a few little guests who could have used a bit more parental supervision. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.