We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lodge experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Save Saved
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best lodge experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Tenaya Lodge is an outstanding lodge. We chose to stay in the 'lodge' quarters of the hotel for a relaxing experience. We were there throughout the christmas break of 2011 and were unlucky as there was no snow which is atypical of Fish Camp at that time of year. Check the snow reports if you plan on going during snow season.

From the moment your drive your car through the lodge you are greeted with friendly valet/bell boys only too happy to help you and your luggage to your front desk. From there we were quickly checked-in and escorted to our room. The bell boy gave us a quick orientation to the room and the services on the study desk. He opened the windows to reveal the most spectacular views of the forrest.

Being one of our honeymoon stops the hotel delivered a welcome gift of bubblies which was a pleasant surprise. We were able to swap it for apple cider on the spot given we do not drink :)
The hotel room was well maintained, bed was comfortable, bathroom and accessories were just as you expect from a quality hotel. There was also a drip coffee machine in the room with decaf options too. The cupboard space was good and there was an iron in there too along with extra pillows and blankets. The TV had a plethora of cable channels to choose from too.

Location:
This hotel is a self-contained hotel with all amenities, including its own convenience store. We were able to purchase snacks for a picnic lunch at Yosemite National Park which was an hours drive away. Our half-day trip allowed us to see the main sights such as El Captain, Half Dome and the majestic Sequoia tress in Mariposa as well as the various lakes in the area. We rented our own Jeep from SF to give us the flexibility to explore at our own pace which is something I would recommend in the area. I am glad we stayed at fish camp because the main park at yosemite was dull and lifeless with limited food options.

Things to do:
We were able to book a day hiking trip through the concierge which I would highly recommend to get in touch with nature. This was approximately 2 hrs and customised to our needs. We also booked spa treatments at ASCENT Spa which were extremely relaxing. I had the best french manicure by far and to date I still wish I could go back for more!
We also booked our ice skating tickets here in the hotel's very own ice-skating rink. This was a very cosy rink that was a popular favourite for all ages.
There is an indoor pool that is large and heated that adjoins to an entertainment quarter with lots of games machines and a pool table. This was a popular, yet not crowded, area.

Food:
The restaurant choices within the hotel are only steps away from the reception and under the same roof. We reserved a romantic dinner at Embers through the concierge which was a very memorable experience. Try make a reservation early so you could get a spot near the fireplace. The food and service was impeccable. Do not pass the lobster bisque if it is on the menu!

Buffet breakfast was plentiful at Sierra restaurant and hearty with a mix of hot and cold options. Waiters are attentive and frequently refill your cup with freshly brewed coffee.

Timberloft Pizzeria makes amazing gourmet pizzas and some great salads too. My husband ordered over the phone for pick up only to realise it was a small walk away from the hotel. One of the bell boys offered to give him a lift to the pizzeria to pick up the food and dropped him off at the hotel again.

In the lobby they had complimentary hot chocolate with marshmallows which we found very comforting to drink beside the fireplace.

Shopping:
They have a small convenience store and a gift shop with lots of souvenirs that are reasonably priced. We purchased a few unframed photographs that were absolutely spectacular. The store also has various clothes such as hats, mittens, scarves etc.

Overall the experience was a very memorable one and I cannot recommend it enough. If you want a place to relax, unwind with great food and a variety of leisure activities then this is certainly the place for you. I am planning a second trip here over the next few weeks and hopefully there will be snow this time :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind and comprehensive five-star review! Congratulations on your wedding and, since we are coming up on a year since your visit, happy anniversary! We are so pleased as well that you were able to experience Ascent Spa at Tenaya Lodge and other resort amenities such as our Nature Hike and ice skating rink. Just one note to clarify our location: you're right that it's about an hour's drive from the resort to Yosemite Valley, but Tenaya Lodge is just two miles from Yosemite National Park (South Gate). Hope we see you again for a Yosemite anniversary visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    669
    806
    383
    150
    88
See reviews for
769
830
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

When first pull in the beauty of Yosemite is what you first fall in love with the hotel is set back in the midst of the beautiful trees and you csn hear and see nature.
They have everything for adults and kids of all ages! Ice skating rink which is so much fun and it's all decorated for Christmas just amazing! Next flash light hikes, kids club indoor hot pool and arcade! The lobby is very large with massive fireplace leather comfy chairs and games to sit n enjoy! Great quiet or family atmosphere. A must stay place!
Did I mention tgd Christmas tree in the lodge Is massive and beautiful the whole place smells n looks of Christmas !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles,ca
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It is with sadness that I write this review.The hotel 's location was excellent, the property lovely, rooms O. K. However, there were many criticisms my family and I would make.-Our room was fine, but the hot water situation in the rest of our rooms was not very inconsistent. The main area of concern was that it seemed that at the restaurants, there has been a great lessening of quality and choice. Jackalopes and the Sierra Room were once quite different ,the former being an informal bar and grill type of place. The Sierra room had a lovely and interesting menu-prime rib, trout,a variety of steaks, pot stickers, little appetizer lamb chops. So the menu is less as is the quality and presentation.We were truly appalled when we arrived for the Thanksgiving buffet-20 of us -at 5:30.The room looked as if a cyclone hit it. Everything looked picked over. The presentation was dissheveled and meager and it took quite a bit of time for things to be replenished.It looked like a gussied up high school cafeteria in place of the lovely set up we have experience in the past.There used to be a wonderful appetizer table. I even remember earlier on shrimp ,crab,etc. The desert presentation and variety of deserts was very poor. The turkey was not carved from a whole turkey and the beef was mostly drowned in salt. The Timber loft was horrible in atmosphere, service and quality. Has the hotel taken to doing things on the cheap? We were very disappointed as this is the one holiday our large family gets together and we have done it for many years at the Tenaya.Not again,unfortunately. I am sorry I had to write this, but it is the truth and it needs to be told.

Room Tip: Getting a good meal is more important here than the roooms in a way, since in order to get a good me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed there with 3 friends on 12th -14th November. I love this place! Front desk were extremely helpful - even got us some booze after the bar had shut, always a bonus! The pool and jacuzzi were pretty much ours as no one else was using those facilities.
The food was yummy. The beds were comfy. The shower had power. The room was clean. The staff were friendly. The whole ambiance was perfect.

The only down side would be that all the horse riding sessions were booked up - I'll just booked ahead of the trip next time.

Yep...next time! : )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here in October 2011, in a Cottage Room. The Cottage was so beautiful, exactly like the photos online, sit in a picturesque area. The room with 2 Queen beds (for 2 adults and 2 children) was small but beautifully decorated with an open fireplace, desk, access to internet, fridge, TV and outside area. The bathroom was pretty small and the fan was extremely noisy. It was only a short and lovely stroll to the main lodge which was gorgeous and offered two lovely restaurants and a gift shop. The staff was helpful and gave us all the information we needed to go on our tours the next day. It was only a short drive into the park for those, and a short drive into the nearest town for more restaurants etc. Next time I'm trying the spa!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A bit expensive for what you get but as you are close to a world -famous attraction and there's not many other hotels in the area, its not a let down. We were on an early start for a Yosemite climb so we only used the shop which had nice coffee and other stuff for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great location near Yosemite, but limited accommodation in the region means that not much effort is required. $9.95 for Wi-Fi! Amazing that anyone still charges these days.
Loads of cream in the scrambled eggs at breakfast, & the lobster bisque in "Embers" restaurant was almost pure double cream with lobster flavouring. Steaks all come out the same whether you order "blue" or medium.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We're sorry that the experience in Embers did not meet your expectations. The restaurant's Lobster Bisque regularly receives rave reviews, but apparently it didn't meet its usual high standard for you. The cost of bringing WiFi in to our remote mountain location is high, and we've have had to charge guests who use it a nominal $9.95 (for up to three devices). However, we are constantly reviewing how we can improve our guest experience, and as a result we may be changing our current WiFi policy. Thanks for taking time to review your experience and share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.