We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nice welcome. Beautiful Hotel. Easy Check in. Pretty Cottage. Large clean upper suite room (2 double beds one in separate room). Instant Log effect fire - very welcome as temperature had dropped to around freezing as we arrived. Good food at Sierra restaurant on site. Very comfy bed. Easy drive up to Yosemite Falls and surrouning beutiful countryside. Back at hotel, nice indoor swimming pool, and spa pool (although air temperature in the Spa room was freezing). Even better meal at Embers restaurant on site. Really was an excellent place to spend a couple of restful relaxing nights. We will return.

Room Tip: I recommend the Upper Suite in the Cottages ner the Indoor Pool and Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for your review -- we look forward to your return! We're very pleased that our Sierra and Embers restaurants met your expectations, and that your stay with us excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    1,068
    479
    185
    98
See reviews for
1,052
1,128
35
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

we were at this hotel for 2 night.
the hotel staff and room were great, we really enjoyed them.
the surrounding of the hotel and the hotel itself are very beautiful.
the location is ok for staying near yosemity about an hour or so from the village.
the only thing that was not so good was the food in the restaurant of the hotel.
they were expensive and not so tasty.
would i recommend it, i guess i can say i will but not if you want to eat as well.
(the value for money is ok)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Not sure where some of the "haters" reviewing this beautiful haven stayed, but we've just come from a wonderful weekend at Cottages of Tenaya. We stayed in 512, and loved it: well lit, openable windows, effective shades to allow or disallow forest light at your command. Full deck overlooking real trees... very restorative. Private, but you're still near the other units and your car. Great queen beds (2) with plenty of extra blanket action. Fireplace is adjustable and warms the room within moments. Cozy, comfortable and a great mini-moon getaway. Housekeeping was flawless (and I'm super picky). Generous amenities: enough towels, glasses, paper products, and toiletries to serve 3 hotel rooms in Chicago. We found the 10 minute walk to the Lodge beautiful and invigorating, and all service staff were polite and welcoming. Buffet breakfast was also generous, included in our aarp rate and delightful. We chose not to spend a lot of hotel time, alternating between Yosemite drives/hikes (closest 10 minutes at Mariposa Redwoods) and coffee/meal runs to Oakhurst (pretty 12 mile drive). A special "don't miss" we got from the concierge: on arrival afternoon, we rested until 4:30 pm (90 mins before sunset) then caught spectacular sunset and moon rise at Glacier Point... total Ansel Adams moment, in brilliant color. It was a great start to 2 days of amazing getaway from Los Angeles (and only 5 hours drive!). Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked 2 nights at Tenaya to help break up a long drive from Las Vegas to San Francisco. Though it's a little out of the way, it's quite a nice place. It's clearly a higher-end resort (not just some shack in the woods). There was lots of outdoors'y style activities, so if you're at all an outdoors person, there's lots here for you. Certainly recommended if you're in the area.

Room Tip: It's a fairly quiet hotel and well insulated, so room-noise shouldn't be an issue here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice upscale lodge, but not pretentious. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, food was good. Rooms were clean, comfortable with upscale rustic decor. Great location. Would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wife and I stayed at Tenaya Lodge for several nights in early September 2012 in order to explore Yosemite National Park, of course, and this hotel has that lodge feeling but with upscale amenities and a great staff. This place is huge. We upgraded to one of the cottages, separate from the main hotel, and we love the room. Comfortable, quiet, and very clean with a balcony overlooking the forest. Great bathroom with great water pressure and hot water.

We bought the buffet breakfast option and it was well worth it, believe me. The breakfast buffet was awesome with endless food options and you really need a big breakfast if you plan on hiking in Yosemite. We also got a discount on "lunch boxes" with our breakfast buffet tickets from Tenaya's in house deli, sandwich, fruit, cookies, chips....perfect for taking to Yosemite. We had dinner one night in the Timberloft Pizzeria which was expensive but tasty good and dined the other two nights at Jackalopes, which was excellent, but pricey too. No complaints, we were on vacation! There's also a deli about a 3 minute drive from Tenaya, which is open 7am to 7pm.

We didn't get to Ascent Spa but I recommend booking as early as possible, like weeks before you go, to ensure you get a spot. Yosemite is a must see place, one of the most beautiful natural wonders I've ever seen and staying at Tenaya Lodge made the journey all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Cottages are really quiet but a 5 minute walk to the main lodge. There is a paved path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your five-star review! "Jewel in the forest" has a great ring to it -- we may have to borrow that in our promotional materials ;) ! There was one comment you had about needing to book Ascent Spa "weeks before you go" -- that typically is not necessary, but if did you have a challenge making a spa treatment appointment, we would love to know more about that and offer you a discount the next time you're up here with us to experience Ascent Spa at Tenaya Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

WE really liked the character of this place, lots of wood around and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The valet parking always remembered us.
The room was nice, not the best view but we spent most of our time around Yosemite so that was fine.
the room had a fridge which was great for us as we like to keep breakfast and lunch stuff to make our own food, as we tend to be out early and want lunch on the go - hard when you are up Half Dome!
For dinner we ate in the pizzeria, which was average at best, and the two restaurants in the hotel which share a menu (not the fancier one). Service in the first one was a bit all over the place. Service in the second was efficient. Food was good but they do seem to make the most of the fact you can't really go anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.