We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Service at Tenaya Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class Service at Tenaya Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Staying at Tenaya Lodge is not cheap. We stayed a week, and it accounted for half of our 2 week trip budget, including airfare and car. And the Tenaya lodge suffers from a few of the afflictions of many luxury hotels. They charge for internet access. Their selection of TV channels is limited. There are no microwaves in the rooms, and the mini fridges are truly mini. That said, our week there was a great pleasure, and WE'LL STAY THERE AGAIN WITHOUT HESITATION!

First and foremost, the staff are exceptional! Virtually every hotel staff member smiled every time they saw us. They were extremely accomodating without making a big deal of it. For example, when a guest took a glass bottle to the pool deck a staff member showed up with a cup for them to use instead. Also, I can't tell you how many times I was asked, "Can I do anything else for you?" I also heard, "Take all the time you want," many times, and it always felt genuine. The room was clean. The common areas were clean. The pool towels were plentiful, clean and luxurious.

We ate several times at Jackalopes. The innside dining was lovely, but eating outside by the fire pit was particularly nice on a cool Fall evening. There are many delicious dishes there, but we especially recommend the fried calamari.

We stayed in ealy October, and we also recommend that time for a visit to the hotel and to Yosemite Park. The crowds are greatly reduced, the weather is cooler, and the colors are wonderful.

No hotel has no problems, but the issues we had were minor and the staff resolved them quickly and in the friendliest possile manner. They also double checked afterwards to be certain that we were satisfied with the resolution. As a manager in the service iindustry, I am greatly impressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    971
    436
    172
    95
See reviews for
929
987
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our purpose was to visit Yosemite but the reviews were mixed for the hotels inside the park so we decided to choose this hotel. What a good choice we made! The rooms were excellent, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The breakfasts had an amazing choice, the evening meals were delicious and the staff were friendly and efficient. We needn't have worried about the location as we were very near the southern entrance, so it was ideal for us. Our only regret was not having time to use the pool - it looked very tempting in lovely surroundings. We would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Yosemite.

Room Tip: We chose a higher floor but all rooms looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

An excellent place to stay, close to the entrance of Yosemite. Rooms are clean, beds comfy and a good bathroom. No kitchen facilities except a coffee maker and small fridge, so you have to be creative if you want to keep costs down with an in room breakfast. There is a good supply of pastries in the shop and options for breakfast in one of the restaurants.
There is a two person concierge - they are really helpful and are worth a visit first up as they have plenty of good advise and can book most things for you.
The facilities are plentiful, though the large indoor pool was out of commission for most of our stay.
Wi Fi is not free which we found unusual, as other places we stayed at in the US were free of charge and unlimited.
Prices for drinks and food are a little dearer that other places in the US, but as it is a resort it comes as no surprise.
There is a choice of three restaurants, and the menu for two of them is almost the same. The food is good, though after a couple of days I found the selection limited as the menu is a strange mix. Service in the food outlets was variable, sometimes we had bread, others not. The waiters were all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: There is a variety of room types, ask about the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My family and I stayed at Tenaya in August 2012 for 3 nights. The location is fantastic for visiting the southern end of Yosemite; there was never a wait to get into the park. The lodge itself is beautifully and thoughtfully designed. We stayed in a Deluxe double room - a good size for the four of us, but the beds were alittle tight so we rented a cot for our younger son. We enjoyed everything about the lodge, the pools, the restaurants, the grounds. My complaint was the low water flow in the shower and bathroom faucets. In their effort to conserve water, I feel like I used more, because it took me at least twice if not 3 times longer to shower and brush my teeth! I began dreading having to shower, knowing the water would barely flow and the hot and cold water would switch back and forth. For a high-end hotel like this, I found that unacceptable. I was even able to tolerate the wasps and hornets that took over the pool area. But when they took over the food at the high-priced Summerdale BBQ dinner, I finally complained. If it wasn't for the great staff and fun atmosphere at the BBQ, it would have been a disaster. Don't book the BBQ if the wasp problem still exists! Otherwise, enjoy the lodge in the natural beauty of its surroundings.

Room Tip: Get the extended double room if you have a large party. It gives more space plus a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages, very nice with a fireplace. The two rooms on the second floor with a king in the larger living room, a smaller room with a queen. Just right for us traveling with our son and his girl friend, and costing less than two separate rooms in the main lodge. The cottages are about a 5 minute walk to the main building. Meals in the dining room were okay, but there are not many alternatives in the area. We spent our days exploring Yosemite, so we didn't try out all of the amenities at the resort, but the large pool was refreshing after a day of hiking. But wi-fi is an extra charge. Tenaya is about a 35 mile (1 hour) drive from Yosemite Village, but has closer access to Mariposa Grove, Wawona Hotel, Taft Point, Bridalveil Falls and Glacier Point on the southern side of the valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Tenaya Lodge for 4 nights in September 2012, this was the start of our 3 week California Road Trip. Upon arrival we checked in and we were informed that our room was not ready, so we had a wander round and got chatting to Ron who was in charge of the restaurant area. He was a wealth of information and told us a lot about the hotel and surrounding area. We went back to reception to find out if our room was ready, this time we were dealt with a by a young lady called Amber, she had a could not be bothered attitude and was very short and abrupt and very unhelpful. The hotel location served its purpose for us both as we would be spending a majority of our time in Yosemite National Park and the hotel is ideally located. We did spend one day around the pool, we had it to ourselves until 4pm, which was really nice. We could not fault the staff in the restaurant inparticular Heidi and Ron or the food, it was a shame that the first person we met was miserable and unhelpful not a good first impression!!

Room Tip: Do not waste your money on a Spa Suite as no different to a normal room apart from the bath being a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review and comments. We are sorry that our front desk staff did not meet your service expectations. As a senior contributor to TripAdvisor, you are surely well-traveled, and we appreciate your overall four-star review. We will work on the issue you mention, and do everything possible to constantly improve our service delivery. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay if in Yosemite for either one night or longer.its located in fish camp which is a short drive from the sequoia trees.
Good size rooms and great service.
Lots of choice for dining, we enjoyed the food.
Would Reccommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.