We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge & great location for visiting Yosemite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Enfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge & great location for visiting Yosemite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in Tenaya Lodge for two nights while visiting Yosemite. We had a cabin room that was located a short distance from the main lodge. The room was large and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed the privacy and quiet of the cabins away from the main area. We also enjoyed the short walk up to the main lodge for dinner and breakfast. They encourage you to select the breakfast buffet which was expensive but decent quality. Fresh fruit and yogurt available as well as all the traditional breakfast foods. There are three restaurants to choose from for dinner. We chose Jackalopes bar and grill because it was the most casual. They offered outdoor seating and had fires going to keep you warm. Again, the food and service were quite good. We ordered picnic lunches each day to take with us to Yosemite. A tasty sandwich, fresh fruit, and chips packed carefully in boxes. This was a great option and allowed us to picnic in the park each day while enjoying some incredible views. The lobby of the hotel is impressive looking with high ceilings and lots of wood. Tenaya lodge is located only a couple of miles from the south entrance of Yosemite. It was very convenient and the price was very reasonable compared to the lodges inside the park. We highly recommend this place for couples and families.

Room Tip: The cabins are great for families but I wouldn't recommend for very elderly or handicapped as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    970
    436
    172
    95
See reviews for
928
987
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hempstead, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

A lodge, yes, but more of a resort, with indoor and outdoor pools, three restaurants, spacious, well-appointed rooms with oversized chairs and comfy beds.

Gorgeous grounds and attentive staff.

Pricey, no question, but location is everything. You are at the southern entrance to Yosemite, close to the Mariposa Grove of giant sequoias. About an hour's drive from Glacier Point and Yosemite Village. An easy and breathtaking drive.

Restaurant food and service was quite good during our stay. BreakfastPrices for food not excessive, at least by our NYC standards.

Enjoyed our brief stay. Definitely recommend. Only negative was the shower pressure (and if that's all we could find to complain about...).

A definite recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms in building attached to the lodge require less walking to restaurants, reception, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was an incredible get away for us. The hotel is great and resembles the grand hotels of the west. High ceiling with large log supports, definitely a "WOW" factor when you walk in. We stayed at the cottages. While very nice and comfortable on the inside, the outside looks like it could use some TLC. Perhaps every spring they could just take a hose or pressure washer and wash off some of the winter grime. They just don't look clean and inviting from the outside. The "Patio" at least for our room was non existent. We had two chairs and a log on some dirt with a moldy door mat. How about a REAL flagstone patio? Back inside I get it!!! We're all trying to "go green" to a big hotel like this it translates to "we want to save money any way we can" Fluorescent bulbs everywhere. When I want to see what's in my bag, I WANT TO SEE what's in my bag. I don't want to wait for the bulb to "warm up" How about LED's? You'll save even more and have better lighting. The hot tubs were not "hot". Barely even warm. Perhaps that's why no one uses them. We ate in some of the restaurants, the food was OK. But for being where this place is, not enough of a good wine selection and too many Bud products on the beer end and not enough micro or craft beers. The pizza place to us was TERRIBLE. Itty bitty salad bar with maybe 10 to 12 items, but all seemed very fresh. We got the margarhita pizza, if the crust was made out of cardboard it would have tasted better. We complained and the best they could do for us was offer free dessert. Keep in mind kids, this place is in the WOODS. Spiders wandering across your pillow are included at no extra charge.

Room Tip: Next time we'll stay in the lodge itself. Try not to get on the north side. That's where th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The Tenaya Lodge offers an alternative to staying n Yosemite Valley. If you stay in the valley you either have to book way in advance to stay in an equivalent location to the Tenaya Lodge (Such as the Ahwanee) or you have to still pay a lot and stay in accomodations that are not nearly the equivalent of the Tenaya Lodge. We stayed three nights and enjoyed it very much. We stayed in a cabin which I highly recommend. Each has a balcony and a fireplace .... gets cool there in the evening in spring!! The staff was very helpful and friendly. Food was very good at the Sierra restaurant. We ate there twice and enjoyed it ... albeit a bit expensive ... but you are a captive audience since there isn't much else around. It's is a beautiful location and about 30 miles from the valley so be prepared to drive an hour or so each way when visiting. The good thing .... it's a beautiful drive that I could do again and again!! I would definitly highly recommend and will likely return some day myself!!

Room Tip: I would definitly choose a cabin over a room in the main building!! More private and very quiet! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very nice hotel about a mile away from the Yosemite south entrance. Staff was extremely friendly, rooms were very nice, food was OK. Very close to the Mariposa Grove, which is a must see for the Giant Redwoods. We didn't swim, but there were indoor and outdoor pools and jacuzzis which looked very nice. Overall it was a bit pricey (especially the food), but still much cheaper than staying at the Ahwanhee, and much nicer than some of the motels closer to Yosemite Valley. It was about a 45 minute ride to Yosemite Valley, but it was a nice ride without much traffic even in peak season. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and had no noise at all. Even the basic room is very big, only downside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were looking for a nice place to stay during a trip to Yosemite, and Tenaya Lodge really hit the spot. As we have two small-ish children, having a place that's family friendly was very important to us, and I'm glad to say that Tenaya lived up to our expectations. We stayed in the cottages, which I think was an excellent choice in terms of comfort and privacy; although as you may read in some of the other reviews, the walls tend to be thin and you can hear when your neighbors come in and out, very well. The cottages are usually either 2-story buildings with 2 units on the ground floor and one on the 2nd, or 1-story buildings with 2 units.

Our Yosemite visit was intentionally quite casual and car-based, so as not to tire out the kids and grandparents (and parents!), so we still had a fair amount of time in the hotel, during the 2 nights that we were there. The hotel complex (rooms, landscaping, and facilities) is clean and appears to be very recently renovated. The indoor and outdoor pools (back at the main building) were nicely done up, with some fun activities for the kids, such as a rock wall, archery, cycling, and hikes, and even a several hour "kids camp" where your kids are kept fed and active. There is an arcade there also, although we found that many of the games were out of service.

All the staff there is very friendly and engaging, so it helps set the kids at ease, and helps us figure out what to do. A great side activity which you can also arrange via the hotel is a ride on the narrow-gauge steam train at the Sugar Pine Railroad, which is very close by (2 miles away).

Amenities in the room are good, although for a place with microwave, coffeemaker, glasses, and mini-fridge; we were surprised not to find any utensils.

Overall, a great value, considering that despite spending a fair amount of money for the room, other family members who spent nearly the same amount for lodging in Yosemite itself, complained about the quality of accommodation there. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid cottage rooms on the ground floor, which have a "patio". Most of these we walked by...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
We're delighted that you rated your stay with us so highly. Your detailed accounts of the Tenaya Lodge resort experience was very helpful to us, as we are always trying to hone and optimize our guests' experiences. (Looks like we need to review our silverware allocations!) And you don't know how rewarding it is to hear that our guests are taking the time to enjoy all the activities available right here on property -- from archery to rock climbing, mountain biking and more -- or, in the case of the Sugar Pine Railroad, things to do right outside the property. How special that yours was a multi-generational group, with grandchildren to grandparents along -- thanks again, we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

What a stunning lobby. We recently stayed at Tenaya Lodge for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our deluxe double room was huge with 2 double beds. Laundry room at the lodge was handy. We had dinner at the pizza restaurant which had a great atmosphere and good pizzas. We enjoyed the night tour with guide Troy and found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.