We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind after a day of skiing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
GreenLeadersGold level
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind after a day of skiing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Booked this hotel due to its proximity to Badger Pass Ski Area. It's is located just minutes from the south entrance to Yosemite National Park. Checkin was quick and easy. Friendly staff from the valet staff, front desk, and those roaming the hotel. Room was clean and nicely appointed in a lodge theme. There is an indoor pool with two jacuzzi's attached to the main building. (Hint...access is via the second floor). Overall nice place and I can only imagine how beautiful it must be in summer. They have various outdoor excursions...flash light hikes ect. Good midweek rate, but probably would not pay weekend rate since we live just down the mountain.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    970
    436
    172
    95
See reviews for
926
987
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I had a reservation for Tenaya lodge last weekend (Mar 17-18) and there was a large snowstorm scheduled to hit Yosemite. I called and asked about canceling my visit based on the weather forecast and was told that no refund would be given. The reservationist, and then her supervisor named Kathy suggested that I get chains for my rental car (can you imagine a Chevy Impala with chains!?!) to drive to the lodge. The choice I was left with was to attempt to brave the bad weather and risk my safety or cancel the reservation. I chose to cancel. I was charged $220.89 and never stayed at the lodge. It seems to me that refunds based on unseasonably bad weather would be warranted, but apparently the safety of the guests is not a top priority at Tenaya Lodge. I do not recommend this hotel.

It snowed 9" in Fish Camp on Saturday 17 Mar and an additional 2" on Sunday. No thanks, Tenaya Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
We are sorry that you feel this way. Tenaya Lodge is a Sierra Nevada mountain ski and snow play resort where March snowfall is common. Though nearly a foot of fresh powder did fall on the weekend of your reservation, our local roads were safe, open and clear. For future reference, it is a Yosemite National Park regulation that visitors must carry snow chains in their vehicle during the winter months.

As we are a remote destination resort, our cancellation policy is a minimum of seven days prior to arrival and our reservations change policy is 48 hours prior to arrival. Our call center representatives were correctly following procedure. Inside of those minimums, weather conditions do not normally qualify for policy exemptions.

That considered, we would like to make this right. With your permission, a member of our management team would like to contact you regarding a return stay and the opportunity to welcome you to Tenaya Lodge -- rain, snow or shine! Please contact our reservation manager at 559-683-6555.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Went there for a weekend stay and found the staff entirely unhelpful. For example, I tried for 24 hours to get help connecting to wifi. Despite promises to address the issues immediately, they never did anything or called me back in the room. Similarly, I found the bar staff unhelpful. Overall the place is in a nice setting and good rooms, but the staff made it a poor experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. While we appreciate the compliments, we do take guest issues very seriously. Tenaya Lodge's wireless service is managed by a local company with technicians who respond to service issues in real time. Were you advised to contact them directly? If you can let us know when you attempted to contact them that would be helpful in improving this service issue. And we're sorry your service at our bar was not helpful; if you can let us know what happened, we will follow up with the staff member(s) on duty at the time. Again, thanks for staying with us and sharing your concerns (and compliments).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We really enjoyed this lodge. The room was nicely appointed and well kept. We stayed three nights and loved the proximity to Yosemite. The service was good, and the grounds were clean. I enjoyed the gym and had a wonderful massage while there. The main sitting area is nice with a stone fireplace. The food in the restaurants tasty and reasonably priced. The indoor pool and spa is a plus after hiking all day in Yosemite. I would come back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review! We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed here during Thanksgiving of '09 at one of the pet-friendly cottage rooms (Dogwood). We checked in at the reception/lounge area which was decked out with a very tall Christmas tree. The rest of the area was also decorated for the holidays so we didn't feel too bad about not being home.

The cottage had 2 queen beds with a fireplace and was away from the main hotel, but not so much as to feel completely on our own. It was comfy enough for all of us plus our two dogs, which was really the main reason we stayed here. The bathroom was a nice size and stocked well with toiletries and enough towels. We didn't spend much time in our rooms, obviously, so can not comment on the amenities of the main hotel but we did notice that there were several large conference rooms, a souvenir shop, and an art gallery.

We look forward to staying here again some time soon.

Room Tip: All cottages appear to be pet friendly as that is where we saw folks with their dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Located just outside the entrance to Yosemite. The "cottages" were perfect - a bit secluded and a short walk to the lodge. Well appointed, comfortable rooms. Fabulous restaurants. We go to Yosemite every winter, we will definitely return to Tenaya.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We've stayed at Tenaya twice -- once in the hotel and once in the cottages. Hotel is LOUD -- you get to hear everyone slamming doors and every hallway conversation. Cottages are a little better but somewhat removed from the hotel. There's lots to do when it snows, hotel employees are helpful and hotel is kid-friendly. The rooms are a little dated and worn. The bathrooms in the cottages are teeny tiny and the floors are frigid. Overall not a bad option if you want a little comfort and don't want to pay an arm and a leg to stay within the park.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.