We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but pretty worn out for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2-Nights, Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location but pretty worn out for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I had high expectations based on the website and the price ($315/night for 2 queen room with a view of a parking lot), but this hotel reminded me of an older Holiday Inn. This hotel bills itself as a luxury resort, but I would much rather stay in a new Holiday Inn Express.

Pros: Location - an hour outside Yosemite Valley, but the drive was nice and you are (relatively) close to Glacier Peak and the Mariposa Grove. Free wifi in the business center, although it didn't work in the rooms. Fitness center was decent, and the front desk clerk was kind enough to phone someone to let me in early (it didn't open until 6 am). Rooms were spacious and this was the only hotel we stayed at that had washing machines (not normally something I look for, but this was a 9-day trip and we didn't want to check luggage).

Cons: Hallways, indoor pool, laundry, and our bathroom were very old and worn out. Every monring, inexplicably, we lost our cold water (I understand losing hot water but cold?!) between 6 and 7. It was cold when I woke up, but by the time we were brushing teeth at 6:30 to leave, it was burning hot. I told the front desk clerk the first day, she asked if I wanted them to fix it (um, yes??), but it never got fixed. I suspect when maintenance came to my room later, the cold had come back on, and they just thought I was crazy (but it happend three mornings!). Restaurants were mediocre, and service was VERY slow. outdoor hot tub was lukewarm (maybe it got my cold water). Concierge was overwhelmed - twice we waited around for 15 minutes or so to meet with her but gave up (she did VERY quickly reply to an email I had sent before we left home, so that was quite helpful).

Tips- we stopped at a grocery in Oakhurst (Raley's or something like that - great food but no wine selection) to get breakfast foods to eat in our room, and we had an amazing Sunday brunch at the Awahnee hotel in Yosemite valley - highly recommended and well worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

For two years in a row this hotel advertised specials and as soon as I called (the day I got the ad) the price was DOUBLED from the advertised rates. When I called to find out about the discrepency they said, "oh those are just starting from rates." However, the person could not find even one date with a rate even close to the advertised rate. I love this hotel and it has a lot of business, so don't know why they would have to resort to false advertising to get business. Very disappointing and makes me want to never go back, on principle!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank EMW32414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Tired furnishings, musty smelling room, poor restaurant service. For the $450+ spent for one night in a king room, I expected much more. I cannot stress enough how overpriced this room was; Holiday Inns have nicer rooms! It has a very unappealing lobby that could be quite nice, but the overall feeling is very dated; kind of reminds me of a Cracker Barrel gift shop. I do not recommend this overpriced resort, shame on you Tenaya.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Staci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here only for one night on a quick trip to Yosemite. Its a beautiful hotel, excellent service, but for the high price, there should have been free Wi Fi access, and a complimentary breakfast as we found with most other quality motels we stayed in.
The beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows were shocking!! We woke up with back and neck aches and had the worst night sleep ever!
Rooms are very cramped, or at least ours was. Its such a shame as it is a magnificent place, the grounds and buildings are top notch!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen7392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

When we decided to visit Yosemite we wanted to be near the park but not necessarily camping in the park so we booked the Tenaya Lodge to be close to the park but have all the comforts of a nice vacation.

Upon our arrival we were astounded by the friendliness of the staff. We were greeted by the valet who showed us where to park so we could check in and then after we checked in showed us where we could park to be near our room. When we entered our room we noticed that we needed a roll away bed and one was delivered within 5 minutes. The room was nice and roomy and quite comfortable. The window opens so you can get fresh air and we had the pool view which was quite pretty to look at. The bathroom was small but considering the building was not brand new it was doable.

We used the concierge on the property who was very friendly and helpful and gave us some great tips for our visit into Yosemite. They also informed our family of the Ranger Talk that was happening that evening (free and wonderful!), extra activities we could sign up for such as archery and rock climbing.

Though there are two pools on the property our family only used the outdoor pool. It was nice and staffed with a bar and a waitress who could take food orders. There seems to be a bit of a bee problem at the pool but considering you are in the forest you just deal with them. If you use the pool be sure to wear flip flops since some bee's just don't make it and drown in the puddles around the pool and it would stink to get stung.

The food is delicious and the service is impeccable! The wait staff was very attentive and asked what our plans were or how are day was and offered tips and advice to make things nicer for our trip. We ate most of our meals here since the food was so good. Very much worth the price and we enjoyed eating outside as well.

The reason I gave this review 4 circles rather then 5 circles is the housekeeping. I'm a little perplexed that the two nights we stayed we return to our clean room with the comforter of one of the queen beds on a chair. The first day I thought it was odd and thought maybe the maid forgot but the second day it happened again (same bed but the comforter was on a different chair). Not sure why both beds couldn't be made completely and though it is minor we were paying quite a bit for this room so I would expect the job to be done completely. Also, they are very stingy on the shampoo and conditioners. After one shower you will use it up and we had to chase down a cart to get more since we were not restocked after one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swithygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My sisters and I did a girls weekend at Tenaya Lodge. We got a cottage that was a short walk to the main lodge. The peace and quiet of the cottage area was great. The snow is always plowed and your car does not get stuck anywhere. The room was nice with great views and a gas fireplace that kept our room very toasty. The bar in the lodge was great and the service was outstanding. The drive up was beautiful, just make sure you take chains or a 4 wheel drive or they won't let you go up. The price was reasonable and came with two breakfast buffet vouchers. The Spa downstairs was amazing and has good prices and is so so so beautiful. Just make sure you make a reservation before you go up if you want to get in on Sat. But we were able to be appointments Sunday morning no problem. I would like to go back during the spring to experience the place without snow, but the snow was wonderful.

Room Tip: Get a cottage, same price but more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebabaganoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I was a bit wary about this having seen mixed reviews on TA. But it was great! As we were staying at the weekend we booked a cottage suite to avoid the noise in the main hotel, and it was lovely. Very quiet, first floor with a balcony up amongst the trees, smelling beautifully of pinewoods. We had two good family meals at Jackalopes, with friendly and efficient service, and in fact every member of staff we met was charming. Having just come from Wuksachi Lodge in Sequoia (see review) this was a welcome relief.

Room Tip: Go for a guest suite, and ask for a first floor one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edsmum984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Ahwahnee
The Ahwahnee
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,091 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,129 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing