We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 minute drive to Maripose Grove” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite to your Saves list
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
san diego
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“5 minute drive to Maripose Grove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Stayed in the cottages which is a away from the main Lodge(3 minute walk?) cottage has Three Guest Suites. We paid $299/NIGHT. Our cOTTAGE Suite had Two Rooms, Bath, Balcony. Main room with king bed, fireplace, fridge,micro, flat screen tv w gaming control, second room very small with queen bed large flat screen tv no gaming control. Check in was fast and easy, we arrived very early 1pm and since our room was ready. The lodge had a scheduled Flashlight night hike we signed up.. Drove 5 min.to Maripose Grove and hiked to the top, took pictures and got back about 530 exhausted.Timberloft Pizza Place few paces from our Cottage and enjoyed the fresh pizza, salad bar was good value with a huge plastic container(notice i didn't say bowl) .Flashlight Hike , Expense$20/person. Used snow shoes and flashlight, kids really enjoyed it even though they didn't want to go because they were tired(13 and 15 y/o) Funny they were in the front of the group while mom and dad where in the back of the group. Whose tired? Breakfast Buffet was average, but good enough. Beautiful 1 hour drive to the Yosemite Village, but you stop so much to take pictures it takes longer, but who cares! I agree that the lodge is Dated Looking, I felt the staff was very friendly. It is terribly overpriced, but I love the convinence. We had Room Service Breakfast and where concerned it would get cold because they have to drive it to the cottage, but it was fine, they forgot our coffee , but quick5-10min. got some for us. At the cottages there is plenty of parking, a heated indoor pool and a separte room for the hot tub. The also have one Washer and Dryer. They maydifferent amenities in the main hotel lodge, but not sure. We were very comfortable, but if you were snowed in or wanted to stay in the cottage it could be a bit cramped with all the luggage, snow gear etc. They also have a hotel store with everything.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    1,140
    508
    196
    104
See reviews for
1,146
1,196
36
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

The lodge is an amazing place. Loads of things to do and their organised tour of Yosemite was amazing. They even gave us all a packed lunch. Would thoroughly recommend this lodge to anyone for winter or summer breaks. I bet it would be beautiful to spend Christmas there.

Room Tip: Amazing place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This hotel is in a great location just outside park entrance and an hours drive to Yosemite Valley.
It's a large hotel that seems to aim at a family market. There's a pool and ice rink and games arcade !
Maids shout loudly in the hallways and the foyer area is being hoovered as you sit and relax in the evening. The restaurants are expensive and the cheaper one serves fast food quality at high prices. The staff try hard but it seems to be rather impersonal
probably because it is such a large place. The decor is tired and dated. It aims to create the ambience of a hunting lodge spa. Dead animals mounted on walls. The rooms themselves are large and comfortable. If it wasn't for decor , poor food ( though a good buffet breakfast ) and high price it would be OK. I would not go again

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed this past Easter Weekend at the lodge and it was a very nice stay a very close distance from the park (1 mile). We stayed in the more secluded Cottages @ Tenaya Lodge and loved the feel of it with loads of privacy as we did not have neighbors until the the day of check-out. Even with neighbors I can see privacy not being an issue as each cottage has it's own patio with chairs and parking and a good chunk of space between them. There was snow around the cottages and there was a huge mound of dirt caked snow directly in front of our cabin--a bit of an eyesore, but what can you do? They can't make it disappear!

The cabin interior we had was very nice with a king size bed, a desk, a table and a big screen tv with cable, and two nightstands and a closet. Sad to say there was no kitchenette, or even a micro-wave. Their website states most cottages have fireplaces, and luck would have it that we DID NOT have one. This is understandable, except the empty cottage next door had a fireplace and stood empty until the day we were leaving. It annoyed me, but seeing as how we didn't spend much time in the cottage I lived with it.

Two complaints:

The big complaint is internet is not free. It's $9.95/day which is not outrageously expensive, but we've stayed at many places and all have had free wifi internet. Tenaya Lodge isn't a cheap place to stay at so we expected to at least get free internet. Seeing as how there was no phone reception, both my wife and I thought they were taking advantage of their guests.

Last is that their room service, and cleaning service staff was WAY friendlier than their front desk clerks when we called from our room. When we were having trouble connecting to internet (after purchasing) the front desk was not very helpful when we called and transferred my wife to the tech guy, who snootily told her that she should "Get acquainted with her laptop before calling" when she could not find her IP address, in a not so friendly way. The room service guy was much nicer, and apologized several times for the lateness (we told him no problem, since the guy over the phone let us know it would be an hour).

All in all it was a nice place, and realistically the two big complaints we had are easy fixers and one is completely avoidable (Don't call front desk and apparently, get acquainted with your laptops!). However, the location is amazing, and the rooms themselves are nice. I would recommend. Get a good deal and shop early. Rooms here are easily $300 + in summer.

Room Tip: Shop early and check back often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I loved Tenaya Lodge in many ways. The room was gorgeous, the amenities in the room were top rate, the dinner and breakfast at the Sierra restaurant was fabulous. The bathroom was full of goodies to pamper with, the flat screen TV was awesome, the lobby was large and inviting. One negative would be the lack of complimentary wi-fi. I don't think for the price of the room they should charge for this. I've stayed in much lower quality hotels and it was free. Please, just throw it in, it couldn't cost that much considering the $245 price we paid. The sheets could have been a higher thread count, they were a little rough. Last of all, when we checked in, the clerk failed to tell us we had two breakfast buffet coupons coming our way. Thankfully I remembered this morning and was able to get them before we paid to eat.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, lots of stomping above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Superbly located just outside the gates of Yosemite park, Tenaya is getting long in the tooth. The family room we stayed in had poor lighting, fairly dark/drab decor and thin walls that left us hearing the family next door late into the night. The "oversize" double beds must be marginally so, and pillows were simply awful

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed in one of the cottages. Very luxurious and comfortable for a family of 4. After 2 nights in a tent in Yosemite we decided to treat ourselves to a couple of nights at Tenaya. Unfortunately the snow meant we couldn't see much of the surrounding area, but there was plenty to do at the Lodge - a lovely pool, snow shoeing and ice skating kept everyone busy for 2 days. Food was expensive and pretty forgettable, but everything else about this place was pretty special.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
4.5 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Ahwahnee
The Ahwahnee
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,764 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.