We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most romantic place ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Lizzie Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tin Lizzie Inn to your Saves list
Tin Lizzie Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7730 Laurel Way, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The most romantic place ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Tin Lizzie will blow your minds! This is like nothing else we have ever seen! We spent two night at Tin Lizzie on our honeymoon and we are sure we will never ever experience anything quite like it again!

We had the honeymoon suite (the bigger of their two rooms) which basically was the upper floor of the house - a gigantic bedroom with a fairytale bed, a really tasteful bathroom with all the luxury and our own balcony! Everything fantastically decorated in 19th century style. Everything from the books to the bathtub to the furniture to the cutlery was in the same old style, still all the amenities was modern top class!

The hosts, David and Sharan, were incredible! They were super-friendly all the time! They not only gave us great advice when we were going into the park (Yosemite) but also packed a bag of binoculars, hats and other thing they thought we might need. They served breakfast each morning on the porch - and it wasn't just your average breakfast! No, it came in three servings with home made cakes, crispy bacon, smoothies, desserts, you name it!

We also got a ride in one of David's old T-Fords, which was a cool experience!

Tin Lizzie can seem to be a bit expensive but it's totally worth it! It's a once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
74
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

My wife and I were fortunate that word hasn't gotten on this hidden gem, which made it possible for us to book the suite over Memorial Day weekend. The Tin Lizzie is definitely the best B&B we have ever stayed at and the most interesting with all the antiques. The owners Sharon and David were the best host we could ever hoped for. It felt as if we were staying with family, except the place was so much nicer with so much charm and character. Plus breakfast, dessert, and snacks were just divine.

The B&B was like 5 minutes from Yosemite's South Gate which made it convinent to visit Yosemite as well as Bass Lake. After a long day of hiking in Yosemite, the jacuzzi tub was so soothing. The Tin Lizzie is perfect escape for peace and quiet, and to be close to nature.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

My husband and I celebrated his 40th birthday at this beautiful victorian inn. We stayed in the suite which was decorated with amazing antiques (as is the entire B and B). The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom large with old fashioned style tub (with jets), large shower with multiple heads, and heated floor. Every detail was considered for our comfort and relaxation. Enjoyed watching shooting stars from the suites porch at night. Breakfast was excellent and filling. My husband loved driving a 1927 model-A Ford to Yosemite. What a way to see "the valley". The innkeepers were gracious and friendly. You could visit with them as little or as much as you like. They felt like old friends. Overall a 5-star trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

My wife and I were guests at the Tin Lizzie Inn in mid-May, staying two nights in the Tin Lizzie Suite. This suite is a large accommodation filling nearly the second floor of the inn. It is lavishly furnished with Victorian antiques and rivals the suites of any fine hotel. The gourmet breakfast is outstanding! The inn is only two years old and is meticulously maintained.

Two other things make the inn special, however. First, you can rent either a vintage Model A or T Ford. We chose to take the complementary ride around Fish Camp with the innkeepers, David and Sheran Woodworth. Our Model A drove and rode remarkably well. It is amazing these vintage Fords are still on the road after 80-90 years and a real testament to their design and durability.

The most special aspect to the inn is the owners. David and Sheran are not only great hosts, but are also interesting (with many experiences to share) and warm as well. You'll leave feeling you have made two new friends.

We have stayed in many hotels, inns, and B and B's around the world and can recommend the Tin Lizzie Inn without hesitation. If you visit Yosemite, a stay at the Tin Lizzie will be a highlight of your visit! It rates a "5 out of 5".

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

This is the best place we have ever stayed anywhere in the world, David & Sheran are the most amazing and generous hosts. Nothing is too much trouble - they even booked us accomodation at other B&Bs for the rest of our trip! And the Tin LIzzie suite is divine - you feel like royalty. From the huge soft bed to the enormous luxury bathroom to your private balcony it was all totally perfect. During our stay we got married in Yosemite and David & Sheran made our day perfect - they even made us a wedding cake! I cannot recommend the Tin Lizzie Inn enough - if you are visiting Yosemite this is where you must stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

David and Sharon are the owners of the Tin Lizzie Inn, however, it feels more like you are staying with relatives. Nothing is too much trouble, The Inn is adorable, every detail has been meticulously planned and is exquisite, unlike any B&B we have stayed in before. We had the cottage which is beautiful with its own parlour and bedroom, however, if you can push the boat out stay in the Suite, it looked amazing.
The attention to detail doesn't stop at the furnishings and the house but the food and the afternoon treats were also amazing. We took breakfast on our patio and on our second day on the front porch and both days the food was excellent.
David and Sharon set us a fire one evening and provided us with marshmallows to roast and popcorn - a truely memorable evening.
I recommend The Tin Lizzie Inn to anybody travelling to Yosemite, it was truely a highlight of our holiday in California.

  • Liked — The inn is so quaint, the service, the hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stayed at the Tin Lizzie Inn for 3 nights as part of a 16 day tour of California.

I had spent a long time looking for accomodation in Yosemite as most places seemed to be over-priced for what they offered.
Although there had only been one previous review on this forum for the Inn, as soon as I spoke to Sheron to arrrange the booking I was confident that this was the place for us.

Fish Camp is only about 2 miles from the south gate park entrance and is just a pretty little village with a few Inns and a large hotel (Tenaya Lodge - not visible from the road).

The Inn is set back off the main road so there was very little noise apart from the local wildlife.

The Inn offers 2 rooms - a cute little 2 storey cottage (where we stayed) which is an annexe to the main house and a suite which covers the whole floor of the main house. The place was clean as a whistle with fantastically comfy beds and fluffy robes and towels.

David and Sheron are delightful hosts and seem genuinely interested in their guests. They are happy to leave you be to make your own plans or will assist with restaurant bookings and ideas for places to go if you wish.

Sheron served up a real gourmet 3 course breakfast every day (the most delicious we had during our trip) and you can eat it out on the front porch watching the birds and squirrels in the trees.

David also made us a fire pit in the evenings to sit and warm and toast marshmellows on - delicious!

As well as running a super B&B, David also hires out vintage Model A cars - and although it was a splurge, it really was worth it to drive around Yosemite in for the day.

From the Inn you can walk across the road to eat and drink at the Tenaya Lodge which has a casual and a fine dining restaurant or there is another restaurant (Narrow Guauge Inn) about a mile or so down the road.

Of all the places we stayed in on this trip, the Tin Lizzie was the most charming - not only because of its magical setting, but also because of its super hosts.

  • Liked — The setting and the hosts
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tin Lizzie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Lizzie Inn

Address: 7730 Laurel Way, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tin Lizzie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 miles from southern entrance to Yosemite National Park you will find out new vacation home nestled in the Pines, you feel like you're in a treehouse. Two bedroom each with private bath with massaging tub, heated floors. Flat screen TV, wireless internet, gourmet kitchen and wonderful grounds with barbecue, play area and hammocks. All our guests receive a complimentary tour of Fish Camp in an original 1915 Model T Ford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tin Lizzie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Lizzie Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.