We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Memorable Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Lizzie Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tin Lizzie Inn to your Saves list
Tin Lizzie Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7730 Laurel Way, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Stirling, Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Most Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Upon our arrival at the Tin Lizzie we were met with the warmest of receptions by our hosts Sheran and David. Although only early October, it was -1 degree Celsius and Yosemite was experiencing the first snowfall of the season; we were welcomed with coffee and warm cookies and immediately made to feel right at home.

We stayed in the cottage, a self contained annex to the main house which had a living area downstairs and a charming open plan bedroom (bed with an electric blanket) and bathroom (including shower) upstairs. Breakfast was in the main house and was a feast each morning setting us up for the day ahead. On our return every evening we were welcomed with different treats and dinner reservations at local eateries.

As we had left the remainder of our trip open ended Sheran and David were invaluable in helping advise on other places to visit in California, providing us with a suggested itinerary and onward accommodation recommendations/bookings. I know that Sheran and David would have no hesitation in helping others plan their trip so perhaps contacting them before making your final decisions on where to go is something you may wish to consider.

Having come from the anonymity of larger hotels it was an absolute delight to stay with Sheran and David who were the most attentive, interesting and helpful of hosts. I would thoroughly recommend staying with them at the Tin Lizzie!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
74
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

My partner John and I (age 36 and 40) had a 3 night stay in the Tin Lizzie Suite last month as part of our 2 week California trip. The stay was perfection from start to finish. Our suite was simply beautiful. Sheran and David catered for our every need - even down to leaving little pastries and cakes in our room and folding down our bed in the evening! Breakfast was something else: 3 courses of exquisite food and never the same thing twice. David and Sheran helped us plan our Yosemite visits; offering great tips on best vantage points and what to do when. They really looked after us. We would highly recommend the Tin Lizzie and feel that, should you require assistance in planning the rest of your California trip, Sheran and David are really well travelled and will really help you do this. This can be a godsend when in a huge U.S state with only 2 or 3 weeks to take all the best bits in. A delightful couple and a really beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want something memorable, go for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This place is simply perfect....after staying previously at 5* corporate hotels with predictable 'great levels of service' the Tin Lizzie Inn was a much welcomed relief. David and Sharan, the owners, built this gorgeous house from scratch, and their love and dedication is apparent in everything they do. We had the suite which occupies the entire top floor of the property. Simply stunning. Check out the bath! Breakfast is simply gorgeous (so much so a hike is required to burn off the excess calories).
Fish Camp to South Gate takes around 10 minutes so the Inn is ideally located, without being in the centre of the Park.
We'll definately be returning.

Room Tip: The suite is amazing, with your own private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

After shipping our third child off to college and a very hectic summer, following a conference in SF, I planned a trip to Yosemite with my wife to relax and get our time as empty-nesters off to a good start. The hotels in Yosemite are always booked, so I came upon this highly rated B&B and thought we'd give it a try. The suite at Tin Lizzie exceeded all expectations. I can sum it up by saying that as we left I found David cleaning the windshield on my car! If you like antiques stop reading and just book the place. I had no idea that there were so many creature comforts, warmed bathroom floors, air-tub, towel warmers, absolutely fantastic bed, Poggesi Italian soaps, Charisma towels. Breakfast came on china with crystal and silver and linen napkins and included peach crepes, omelets, baked apples and pears with walnuts and whipped cream, Gran Marnier french toast with bacon. David served as butler delivering coffee from silver service. It was just unbelievable.
We slept with the windows open snuggled in the down comforter. The air at 5,000 feet in a pine forest delights the nose. We even had a full moon. A local jay woke us like clockwork each morning at 7. Sharen delivered desert treats to the room every night--my favorite was the chocolate chip cookies. Fresh flowers. They recorded our home team football game so we could watch it after hiking in Yosemite. You don't need to study tour books as their suggestions for restaurants and hikes in Yosemite were perfect. The Narrow Gauge Inn was our favorite restaurant and the hike to Sentinel Dome the most visually stunning. This place and the hosts are truly special. Hey, everybody who stayed here has rated it 5 stars, must be a reason! Simply one of our most memorable trips of a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the Tin Lizzie Inn. We were welcomed on arrival by David and Sharon who showed us to our lovely room and provided a good explanation of the area, places to eat and walks through the Yosemite national park. The room was beautifully decorated and very homely.
The breakfast in the morning was delicious (very sweet) and was set on the beautiful, sunny porch attached to the main house.
We highly recommend this B&B, located out of the busy area of the national park, but still close enough to enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Lizzie Inn will be the highlight of your trip along the West Coast. Very cute house run by David and Sharon, extremely kind people, they will make you feel comfortable , you will feel like being home. Their house has something magic,romantic... it's a jewel. Home furnishing and attention to every details is amazing. You will always hear soft music from 70's\ 80's in the background while Sharon is making your breakfast with the same smile as if she was doing it for their own children. A squirrel will keep you company while eating the quiche, the scramble eggs, the cake, the fresh fruits. Everything will be home-made for you before your leave to the park. David is just enthusiastic about life..and obviously his Model-T cars (from early 1900!), all of them kept in very good conditions. He will take you for a ride and will take tons of pictures of you in the car! After your full day in the Yosemite park you really can'y wait to go back...home!Francesca and Marco

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

David and Sharon have certainly mastered the art of hospitality. From arrival to departure, they could not have been more attentive, caring and hospitable.

Both, my wife and I work in the hotel industry and stay at hotels/resorts, etc. quite a lot for work or for pleasure so our expectations might be higher than that of others. David and Sharon are such wonderful host and provided an unparalleled experience.

All the little details in the room, the decor, the treats in the evening, a very delicious breakfast out on our private balcony, the drive in one of David's Ford's made for an unforgettable experience.

Our stay cannot be compared to anything we've ever experienced. We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: We personally liked the large suite with the private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tin Lizzie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Lizzie Inn

Address: 7730 Laurel Way, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tin Lizzie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 miles from southern entrance to Yosemite National Park you will find out new vacation home nestled in the Pines, you feel like you're in a treehouse. Two bedroom each with private bath with massaging tub, heated floors. Flat screen TV, wireless internet, gourmet kitchen and wonderful grounds with barbecue, play area and hammocks. All our guests receive a complimentary tour of Fish Camp in an original 1915 Model T Ford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tin Lizzie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Lizzie Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.