We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in the heart of Yosemite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Big Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Big Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yosemite Big Creek Inn
1221 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Yosemite Conservancy
Ranked #2 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing stay in the heart of Yosemite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived at the Big Creek quite late at night but had no troubles getting into the property from the instructions we had received at time of booking. We woke up early the next morning & Pamela offered to do us breakfast early so we could make the most of our day in Yosemite, we had waffles with lots of fruit & maple syrup & they were to die for. After breakfast Pamela helped us decide what to see in the time we had & this proved to be invaluable. On our second morning there were more guests so we had a full buffet breakfast & Pamela had laid on everything you could think of, hot items, cereals & oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, bagels, toast.....so much to choose from. We stayed in the Mariposa room it was huge with a nice balcony where I loved watching all the humming birds each morning there were so many! The room was spotlessly clean with two bathrooms; one had a bath & shower combo plus a sink & the other had another sink & toilet. There was a walk in closet & a very large entry which opened up into the bedroom & also had the bathrooms & walk in closets off of it. Lastly I just wanted to thank Pamela for forwarding my husband's trousers that he left in the room to us which she covered the cost of as my English credit card wouldn't accept the payment you really did go above & beyond not only with the trousers but your hospitality whilst we were staying with you...Big Creek was our joint favourite place to stay on our whole 22 day trip around the west coast & we hope to be back in the future for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
226
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Big Creek Inn made our trip to Yosemite even more perfect. Pamela greeted us at the door and showed us to our lovely room (Mariposa) and I was so impressed with the cosy feel of the room and it had everything we needed. The breakfast was so good loved the homemade sweet breads and muffins! I really wanted to see a Steller's Jay and Pamela gave me some peanuts to attract them on our deck, and I got a great picture! Pamela was very helpful with advising us on what to see in Yosemite and she was right on everything worked out great. Ron especially liked the candy jar! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Unwilling to pay the rather lofty summer rates for hotel lodging inside the park, we chose the Big Creek Inn after researching other nearby possibilities. Good choice. Despite only a one night stay, it was the most comfortable night of our 4 day trip to Yosemite. Our room, the Mariposa, was large, well-appointed and absolutely immaculate (as was the rest of the inn). Double windows keep the room quiet as do the walls which are very thick and sturdy. We found the deck outside the room a wonderful place to stargaze - the night sky was mesmerizing. In the morning, Pamela, the innkeeper, had a very nice and healthy breakfast prepared and engaged in pleasant conversation with all her guests. Additionally, she has a wealth of information about Yosemite and suggested visiting another section of the park we had never been to. If you are not very familiar with Yosemite, take her advice! We did, and our exploration of the park was far more memorable than it probably would have been. In short, the Big Creek Inn is a perfect place to relax in after a long day inside Yosemite. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were unable to get reservations inside Yosemite Park so I looked for something close by. I was so lucky I chose the Big Creek Inn. When we drove up to the Inn, it was not that impressive but Pam met us at the door and when we entered, everything changed. The inside was beautifully appointed and our room (Mariposa Room) was large and beautiful. But the real surprise was on the deck outside our room. As we sat looking over the beautiful meadow, we saw 10 hummingbirds feeding at the feeder below our room; we saw deer in the meadow; we saw a family of quail feeding below. At night, we watched a meteor shower in a crystal clear sky filled with millions of stars. The breakfast was delicious and Pam is a great resource for anything you need in Yosemite. The Inn turned out to be the highlight of our time at Yosemite.

Room Tip: The Mariposa Room is the best side for seeing incredible hummingbirds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our stay here was the perfect complement to our 4 days of hiking in Yosemite.

Pamela is very thoughtful and helpful, and her rooms are immaculate and include modern amenities. The high-pressure shower was just what we needed at the end of a long hike each day. Breakfast was hearty and plentiful: usually an array of cereals, hardboiled eggs, bagels and lots of fresh fruit, and she even made waffles and sausage for us on one of the quieter mornings. On our first morning we had a very early hike and Pamela pre-packed us a breakfast to go, complete with coffee and snacks. She's been a Fish Camp local for a while now and can help you find all the best hikes and activities (and dinners!) around the park.

Our favorite part about staying at the inn was returning each evening so we could watch birds and wildlife from the room's private balcony. Over the course of our evenings on the balcony we spotted lots of Stellar's jays, a group of California quail, a great blue heron, a belted kingfisher, and a couple of mule deer. Pamela also has hummingbird feeders that reliably attract many hummingbirds each evening (either rufous or Allen's, we weren't sure). One evening we explored the creek and meadow that all of the rooms' balconies overlook and were able to spot some warblers, some sparrows, and a woodpecker.

We were initially concerned about the location, since it's an hour drive south of Yosemite Valley, but we ended up being very happy with it. If you're mostly doing full-day hikes and only driving in and out of the park once per day, then the time you spend on the beautiful mountain roads can be quite enjoyable. The Valley is about an hour's drive north, Glacier Point is a little less far than that, and the Mariposa Grove is very close, only 5-10 minutes away from the inn right after the park's south entrance. On our first morning we made the 2-hour drive past the Valley to Tuolomne Meadows for some birdwatching and it was totally worth the trip. Although the main lodging and campgrounds within the park would have cut down our driving a bit, you're going to have to do some driving (or shuttling) from anywhere you stay since the various sights are so far apart, and we noticed that the more central lodging options were much more crowded and felt less isolated than this peaceful 3-room inn.

We were very happy with Pamela's inn and would definitely come back in the future.

Room Tip: All three rooms appeared to be equally desirable. We stayed in the "Merced" room. Each roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here in 2004 for 4 nights on our way from SFO to LAX. We have very fond memories of nights in the hot tub wondering if a bear may come up and lick us on the ear. Days spent watching the blue Jays feeding nuts from the veranda. Pam was very hospitable and gave us great advice on places to visit and where to eat on an evening. Look no further than the big creek inn, it's been one of our best ever accommodation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Everything is fine. Good location. Very nice bedrooms and bathrooms. The advices of Pamela for the ride in the park are just outstanding. Breakfast is excellent including a different home made cake every morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Big Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Big Creek Inn

Address: 1221 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest B&B lodging to the south gate of Yosemite National Park ~ A three guest room inn located on a tranquil bank of Big Creek, just 2 miles to Yosemite National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yosemite Big Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Big Creek Hotel Fish Camp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Big Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.