We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get-A-Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Big Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Big Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yosemite Big Creek Inn
1221 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Yosemite Conservancy
Ranked #2 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Great Get-A-Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Following a business conference in San Francisco, my husband and I traveled to Yosemite for a few days of vacation. We stayed in the Big Creek Inn, a perfect choice. We loved the fact that it is a smaller inn (three guest rooms), located just about a mile or two outside the Yosemite Park entrance. Our room was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated, with a private balcony. My husband sat out on the balcony late afternoon and watched the humming birds feed (the balcony overlooks a beautiful meadow). Pamela was a great hostess, helping us (and others) set their daliy schedule based on what we wanted to do that day (easy hike or moderate hike, etc.). She is very knowledgeable about the hiking trails and what you must see in the time you are there. She also recommended great places to eat (place to get sandwiches for a hike as well as nice restuarants for dinner). The breakfast each morning was delicious - lots of choices. I would highly recommend staying at this Inn. The Hobans (Fort Worth, Texas)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
227
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay at Big Creek Inn in Fish Camp while visiting Yosemite. Had read the great reviews, and must say the Inn completely exceeded our expectations. Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean, and outfitted with every possible comfort. Add to that, Pamela, our host, was entirely gracious, helpful with tips to enhance our visit, and provided an amazing breakfast. I travel extensively and tend to opt for boutique hotels, and don't often have the chance to visit B&Bs. But Big Creek Inn is high on my list of places I'd like to return to. It's completely charming, in a gorgeous place, and provides every comfort, and I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I decided to plan a last minute trip to Yosemite the weekend after July 4th. Fortunately for us there was a vacancy at Big Creek Inn. We were truly just looking for a place to rest our tired bodies after a full day of hiking, but we ended up with a truly wonderful experience. When we booked our room for Saturday night. We had been hoping to also stay Friday night as well, but we figured we would make the best of the situation since there were no vacancies anywhere to be found. I indicated our original plan when I booked our reservation online and Pamela was kind enough to call us early Friday afternoon and let us know that a room had become available. This would only be the first time that Pamela would go above and beyond. We stayed in the Merced Room and although this might not be the first choice for some married couples, the room was lovely. There is a long entrance hallway from the door to the room with a good size closet. Off of that hallway is a spacious bathroom with new upscale finishes that was spotless and inviting. The bedroom area has cute matching but minimalist furniture that allows for plenty of storage space without feeling crowded. Off of the bedroom is a balcony with a bistro table, 2 chairs and umbrella. Really what more could you ask for? Yet Pamela has added touches that you wouldn't think of such as matching Tiffany reading lamps next to each bed and an electric fireplace (although we didn't use it in summer). In the bathroom there were dispensers with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, as well as a brand new non-slip shower mat if necessary. There was a container filled with Q-tips and band-aids (perfect for those blisters). Pamela even had insect repellent wipes, a cork-screw and things to clean and dry your shoes! My husband and I couldn't get over the level of thought and care that went into each detail. After an amazing nights sleep in the heavenly beds we were treated to a delicious breakfast downstairs. Pamela is very kind an welcoming but if you are not the chatty type she still makes you feel comfortable with out talking your ears off. After breakfast Pamela took the time to sit down with us and show us some hiking trails she recommended in her maps and guidebooks. So by staying at Big Creek Inn not only did we have a wonderful nights stay but we had help planning our magical last day in the park. Please know that although the town of Fish Camp is small there are several dining options. We ate a late dinner at Jackalope's Bar and Grill located at the Tenaya Lodge. We also restocked on some hiking snacks at the General Store, where the people are very nice and the prices are fair. All of this made Big Creek Inn a truly wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It's hard to say anything that hasn't been said by other reviews here. We booked our stay here based in large part on the glowing recommendations offered by other TripAdivsor reviews, and our expectations were not only met, but exceeded. We were welcomed on arrival by Pamela, the innkeeper, and throughout our stay, she provided patient and well-honed advice for us as we plotted our travels and walks. Her breakfast table was also the perfect place to prepare for the day. Our room was exquisitely clean and well appointed, and the views across the meadow offered a wonderful conclusion to a hefty day of stiff walks and dizzying vistas. Marvellous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMtnW, Owner at Yosemite Big Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you. It is my pleasure to share Yosemite with first-time guests. And it's always interesting to hear about my guests' occupations. You two have cool jobs! ~Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights at the Big Creek Inn during our first visit to Yosemite. After reading all the stellar reviews, I wondered how the "real thing" would hold up. Not only did this B&B live up to the reviews, but it surpassed them, in my opinion.

Pamela, the innkeeper, not only met us at the door when we arrived, but she called the morning of our arrival to let us know that our room would be ready anytime we were. Her vast knowledge of Yosemite started then and there as she offered guidance on which route to take from the Bay Area - advising us to drive through the park to take advantage of the sights along the way.

Upon our arrival she led us upstairs to the Mariposa room - a large room with a comfortable deck overlooking the meadow. This immaculate room features a king size bed with luxury linens, beautiful hardwood floors and furniture, a large TV with satellite TV and DVD player, and a double bathroom. A common area with a huge and current DVD collection is just outside the door - fully stocked with wine & champagne glasses, coffee cups, a refrigerator for guests to use, trail mix and chex mix, as well as a wide variety of teas and instant coffee. Pamela made sure there was a fresh pot of coffee each morning as well. A very nice touch that we so appreciated!

Other amenities in the room included - Yosemite hiking and guide books, mosquito repellent, shoe warmers/driers, hair dryer, robes, band-aids.

Breakfasts were wonderful - from buffet style fruits, yogurt, eggs, canadian bacon, fresh muffins, to sit down eggs benedict - it all was delicious. Following breakfast, Pamela was ready to send us off on our day, but not without first going over the Yosemite map with us and gave us great guidance on "must sees" for our short trip. Glacier Point, Sentinel Dome and Taft Point were highlights.

The whole experience was perfect...with a personal touch. No way we would have gotten this kind of service at one of the bigger lodges. We would go back in a heartbeat. And we will tell anyone who will listen to stay at the Yosemite Big Creek Inn!

How could I forget Indy? The sweetest, most gentle and loving pup you'd ever want to meet!

Thanks Pamela for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMtnW, Owner at Yosemite Big Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous review. I appreciate the time and thoughtfulness it takes to write such a review. I have the best job ever--helping nice people experience Yosemite. I hope you and Tony come back with a houseful of friends! ~Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights in the Mariposa Room! Each day we returned exhausted from hiking in the park and then relaxed with a cocktail on our deck. We shared our space overlooking the meadow with the Steller’s Jays and hummingbirds flitting nearby. Following a restful night on our comfortable bed we came downstairs to a marvelous home-cooked breakfast. Eggs Benedict one morning, waffles with fresh strawberries the next day and a buffet the following morning. Pamela even makes her own muffins! In addition to being an excellent cook, she is the perfect hostess (and Yosemite tour guide). We highly recommend the Big Creek Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This has been our second stay at Big Creek Inn (our previous visit being in Oct 10) and as before we have found this to be a great place to stay. If you want peace and quiet in a lovely location looking out over meadows and trees (see the Meadow Cam on the website) and in a beautifully appointed home then look no further. This is the place to stay. What makes this Inn even more perfect is it's owner, Pamela. She is a font of knowledge about the area, including some places that you won't find in the guidebooks -if she tells you that some place is worth visiting then trust her! We also had reason during our stay to call on her for help and her kindness was priceless to us. She has created a comfortable, home from home that is just perfect, 5 stars in our view. We can't wait to go back and will be going back. Julian & Jen.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMtnW, Owner at Yosemite Big Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you, Julian and Jen, for your kind review. You had a Yosemite adventure you hadn't planned! I do hope you will come back someday. It is always a pleasure having you here. ~Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Big Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Big Creek Inn

Address: 1221 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest B&B lodging to the south gate of Yosemite National Park ~ A three guest room inn located on a tranquil bank of Big Creek, just 2 miles to Yosemite National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Yosemite Big Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Big Creek Hotel Fish Camp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Big Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.