We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Comfort - Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Big Creek Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Big Creek Inn to your Saves list
Yosemite Big Creek Inn
1221 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Yosemite Conservancy
Ranked #2 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Walnut Creek, California, United States
1 review
“Charm and Comfort - Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights at the Big Creek Inn during our first visit to Yosemite. After reading all the stellar reviews, I wondered how the "real thing" would hold up. Not only did this B&B live up to the reviews, but it surpassed them, in my opinion.

Pamela, the innkeeper, not only met us at the door when we arrived, but she called the morning of our arrival to let us know that our room would be ready anytime we were. Her vast knowledge of Yosemite started then and there as she offered guidance on which route to take from the Bay Area - advising us to drive through the park to take advantage of the sights along the way.

Upon our arrival she led us upstairs to the Mariposa room - a large room with a comfortable deck overlooking the meadow. This immaculate room features a king size bed with luxury linens, beautiful hardwood floors and furniture, a large TV with satellite TV and DVD player, and a double bathroom. A common area with a huge and current DVD collection is just outside the door - fully stocked with wine & champagne glasses, coffee cups, a refrigerator for guests to use, trail mix and chex mix, as well as a wide variety of teas and instant coffee. Pamela made sure there was a fresh pot of coffee each morning as well. A very nice touch that we so appreciated!

Other amenities in the room included - Yosemite hiking and guide books, mosquito repellent, shoe warmers/driers, hair dryer, robes, band-aids.

Breakfasts were wonderful - from buffet style fruits, yogurt, eggs, canadian bacon, fresh muffins, to sit down eggs benedict - it all was delicious. Following breakfast, Pamela was ready to send us off on our day, but not without first going over the Yosemite map with us and gave us great guidance on "must sees" for our short trip. Glacier Point, Sentinel Dome and Taft Point were highlights.

The whole experience was perfect...with a personal touch. No way we would have gotten this kind of service at one of the bigger lodges. We would go back in a heartbeat. And we will tell anyone who will listen to stay at the Yosemite Big Creek Inn!

How could I forget Indy? The sweetest, most gentle and loving pup you'd ever want to meet!

Thanks Pamela for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMtnW, Owner at Yosemite Big Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous review. I appreciate the time and thoughtfulness it takes to write such a review. I have the best job ever--helping nice people experience Yosemite. I hope you and Tony come back with a houseful of friends! ~Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
230
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights in the Mariposa Room! Each day we returned exhausted from hiking in the park and then relaxed with a cocktail on our deck. We shared our space overlooking the meadow with the Steller’s Jays and hummingbirds flitting nearby. Following a restful night on our comfortable bed we came downstairs to a marvelous home-cooked breakfast. Eggs Benedict one morning, waffles with fresh strawberries the next day and a buffet the following morning. Pamela even makes her own muffins! In addition to being an excellent cook, she is the perfect hostess (and Yosemite tour guide). We highly recommend the Big Creek Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This has been our second stay at Big Creek Inn (our previous visit being in Oct 10) and as before we have found this to be a great place to stay. If you want peace and quiet in a lovely location looking out over meadows and trees (see the Meadow Cam on the website) and in a beautifully appointed home then look no further. This is the place to stay. What makes this Inn even more perfect is it's owner, Pamela. She is a font of knowledge about the area, including some places that you won't find in the guidebooks -if she tells you that some place is worth visiting then trust her! We also had reason during our stay to call on her for help and her kindness was priceless to us. She has created a comfortable, home from home that is just perfect, 5 stars in our view. We can't wait to go back and will be going back. Julian & Jen.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMtnW, Owner at Yosemite Big Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you, Julian and Jen, for your kind review. You had a Yosemite adventure you hadn't planned! I do hope you will come back someday. It is always a pleasure having you here. ~Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

For me, there is just one place to stay outside Yosemite....Big Creek Inn. Pamela, the hostess/proprietor, has continued to invest since our last stay there years ago. She has lovely rooms, a wonderful healthy buffet breakfast, and lots of knowledge about the park. We learned a lot from her, used her guidance and definitely enjoyed the experience more thanks to her. This is a small B&B with a lovely view, great food, lots of conveniences, a perfect location and Pamela who I wanted to take along to help guide us on the rest of our trip. Her advice stretched all the way to Lee Vining, so we did port her knowledge with us, but would have rather had her lovely company. Can't miss at Big Creek, winter or summer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMtnW, Owner at Yosemite Big Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. And thanks for noticing that we keep the place up! Return guests are always gratifying. Indy enjoyed your company, as well. ~Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our family arrived on May 31st, and felt at home in this cozy, clean B & B. Pamela makes the most amazing breakfasts, so our first day in Yosemite started off with luxury. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable, and there is plenty of room to sit outside and enjoy the serene setting and hummingbirds. Pamela was very helpful in directing our routes during our stay, and also in recommending other places to eat and visit. We would highly recommend her guest accommodations to other visitors desiring to stay outside Yosemite, with close proximity to the park and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Yosemite and staying at Pamela's B&B out of the hustle and bustle of the valley was the best decision we could have made. We had a wonderfully spacious room with our own little balcony to relax and look out over the creek and meadow. The room also featured two baths for convenience and just outside our room we could find a freshly brewed pot of coffee every morning to start our day before heading down to a buffet breakfast spread. This was a great place to start our day of activities and Pamela gave us terrific guidance on everything Yosemite. The park is amazing - a terrific addition to our wine country adventures.

Room Tip: The Mariposa room faced the creek and the back of the Inn. Beautiful views and terrific nightly bree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The big creek inn is a must stay!! We arrived to be warmly greeted by Pamela. Our room (mariposa suite) was very spacious and gorgeous. The quality of the furnishings was outstanding, beautiful wooden flooring, with lovely furniture. Everything was thought of, far better appointed Than most hotels. Pamela was most helpful in planning our day and it was well worth every moment!! Yosemite is beautiful and Pamela's knowledge was most helpful. The breakfast - grand selection with beautiful home made treats!! We were so relaxed here and fly at home immediately. Amazing!!

Room Tip: Mariposa was beautiful! Huge double bath and excellent space!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Big Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Big Creek Inn

Address: 1221 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest B&B lodging to the south gate of Yosemite National Park ~ A three guest room inn located on a tranquil bank of Big Creek, just 2 miles to Yosemite National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Yosemite Big Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Big Creek Hotel Fish Camp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Big Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.