We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super B&B in a wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Big Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Big Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yosemite Big Creek Inn
1221 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Yosemite Conservancy
Ranked #2 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super B&B in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days in October 2011. The room and all the facilities were superb and we particularly appreciated the snacks and drinks provided. As our time was limited Pamela gave us a great suggested route for a tour of Yosemite and we felt that we made the best use of limited time.

This is a B&B which operates to a very high standard and deserves all the good reviews.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
226
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place is the best B&B experience we've had and here's why:

+ The innkeepers Pamela and John are warm and welcoming; polite and professional. They are hikers and offered us spot-on suggestions for how to get the very best experience in the limited amount of time we had in Yosemite.

+ Pamela and John designed and built the place recently (he's a carpenter and the place is very well-constructed), and maintain it spotlessly. It's fastidiously clean.

+ The Inn is nestled in a meadow; the setting is beautiful and park-like. It is set back from the road and quiet.

+ The place is well-designed. The decor is beautiful and very tastefully done. The three guest rooms are upstairs, well away from the owners' living quarters. Our room was very quiet. Two common areas upstairs offer seating, snacks, a fridge, freshly-prepared coffee in the morning for early risers, hundreds of DVDs and an assortment of Yosemite-related reference books.

+ An electric fireplace in our room offered warmth and a cozy glow.

+ The bathroom has great lighting and lots of counter space. The tub/shower is spacious. The towels are extra thick.

+ The parking is steps away from the Inn's front door.

+ The breakfast buffet offers lots of selection and was exactly what we wanted. They even include energy bars to take along as snacks.

Even though the place is perfect, Pamela and John are the best part of the Big Creek Inn. They are happy, pleasant people who gave us great suggestions for what to see and do in Yosemite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamelaS, Owner at Yosemite Big Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We are grateful that so many guests have taken the time and effort to review our small business, which is also our home. John and I love living in Fish Camp and being innkeepers. After more than a decade here, we are still enthralled with Yosemite. It’s great fun to share the Yosemite experience with people of all ages from around the globe. With all the wonderful guests we’ve enjoyed, we hope to be innkeepers for a long time to come. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was a luxurious B&B, off the Fish Camp main road, so nice and quiet. On arrival we were greeted by John, who carried our luggage for us, made us feel at home with his hilarious humor and gave a guided tour of Big Creek Inns’ courtesy facilities, including the courtesy drinks/snacks/chocolate/fridge etc. There’s even tea/coffee available before breakfast for early risers. This place felt like (a luxury) home rather than a hotel/B&B.

We stayed in the Mariposa room for 4 nights and didn’t want to leave. The quality and finish of the furniture and fittings was better than any 5 star European hotels; it was huge and relaxing. You could spend weeks here just watching the huge range of DVDs in your room and also the list of satellite TV channels, including BBC USA!

The bed was massive and very comfortable, a great night’s sleep. Pamela's breakfasts were a feast (a pot of Earl Grey was most welcoming) and were a great place to chat to the other guests while planning daily walks based on Pamela and Johns recommendations. They have walking books and cool bags/ice blocks which can be borrowed, to keep the sandwiches (bought from the shop down the road from the B&B) cool - recommended if you’re here in summer as it was hot.

After getting back from the impressive sights of Yosemite we relaxed with a few games of table tennis on the rear decking, and got to see deer passing through the meadow while humming birds buzzed and bumped each other at the feeders; wroth staying here just to experience the birds. We could have sat on our private balcony, but ping-pong was too appealing.

They have menus for the local restaurants so we were able choose what sort of food we wanted before we set out. It was so comforting retuning from the Tenya Lodge resort knowing we were going back to luxury, rather than a mass market place which would have cost more than Big Creek Inn.

Yosemite Valley was a little over 45 minutes’ drive.

Room Tip: mariposa room was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent a weekend here in October and it was lovely.
* The inn keepers were very friendly, greeted us by name when we got in
* The room was very clean and tidy. We had a balcony with a view of the meadow and a cozy fireplace/stove
* There were complimentary snacks, tea and hot chocolate in the evening. They also had a giant selection of DVDs.
* Breakfast was served from 8-9am. We ate oatmeal, bagels and chatted with Pamela about hike options in south Yosemite.
Overall we had a very good experience and we'll stay here next time we come to Yosemite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This being my first B & B, I was a little apprehensive but from the moment we entered Big Creek Inn I knew I had made an outstanding selection. Every detail to make stay memorable was present in a restful relaxing environment. The suggestions in planning our day allowed us to maximize our short time and experience the majesty of Yosemite. Our thanks to Pamela and John for awesome hospitality and accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I can only echo all the glowing reviews by others. Pamela and John are exceptional inn keepers with nothing being too much trouble.
Their knowledge of the area and suggestions as to what to see and in which order saved us hours of needless backtracking,
You will not find a better place to stay in Yosemite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Innkeepers Pamela and John are really warm and wonderful people who went out of their way to make us feel both welcomed and well informed about Yosemite. The accomodations were impeccable. This Bed and Breakfast was a real find. I know of no better way to see the Yosemite National Park area. Our thanks to Pamela and John for all of their hard work. Erick and Talene.

Room Tip: The south side entrance via highway 41 is in our opinion the best way to see both the Yosemite Valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Big Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Big Creek Inn

Address: 1221 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest B&B lodging to the south gate of Yosemite National Park ~ A three guest room inn located on a tranquil bank of Big Creek, just 2 miles to Yosemite National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yosemite Big Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Big Creek Hotel Fish Camp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Big Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.