We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but very basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Chief Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added White Chief Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Chief Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7776 White Chief Mountain Road, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Fish Camp
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location, but very basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The lodge is located just 2 miles outside the south gate of the Yosemite in beautiful rustic surrounds. The rooms are very small with a small, but comfortable double bed with good linen and nice towels. The shower runs strong and hot. The building is a dormitory of single rooms.

The room charge was $90.00 per night.

Breakfast is a tiny quantity of cornflakes & two small pancakes. You don.t really want to eat at their restaurant but there's not much choice in the area. Chicken burgers, very basic, was $15.00 each and a small glass of orange juice was $5.00.

There's a little convenience store, next to the information centre about 2 min from the lodge on the opposite side.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    22
    12
    11
See reviews for
19
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yukon, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had to cancel a reservation very late at night at a Mammoth Lakes resort because we could not get to it because the road was closed duel fire. We found White Chief Mountain Lodge by chance and was very pleased with the price, location and accommodations. The cabin we got was a "duplex" attached to another cabin, but it was unoccupied so-that was great. We ate in he restaurant and it was reasonably priced and very acceptable burgers and fries.
We would stay again at this lodging because we were also very pleased with its location to things to do the next day ( Mariposa Grove of Giant sequoias)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the most over priced tent camp I've ever seen. At $150 + per night they must be laughing their heads off for the suckers who pay it. The rooms are small & old, reasonably clean except for forgetting to vacuum 2 days in a row. It might be nice to invest in a vacuum @ $150 + per night. You can't check in before for 3 pm due to there towel service. Then you have to go to the office to get fresh towels. No drawers, dirty stain shower, & toilet + runs constantly. good attention to detail.. If it was at least half the price I could live with that. This place needs to be renovated for the prices charged. the location is the only thing going for it. Why have an ice bucket in the bathroom when you don't have an ice machine or a drink vending machine on the property. The restaurant is a joke also. It over charges and is so old and outdated that you hav to question what kind of food you'll be served and how old is it. Really ! $30 for a steak dinner in what looks like a 50 years old tent house. There's a 4 Star hotel 500 yards from here with all the ambience and amenities that can charge that without question. You really need to check out your competition before you can ask these prices. Start small and earn your way up the ladder instead of scaring off the clients staying here. Time for a major reality check. I suggest watching restaurant impossible to get a clue. It can be made to be a charming place but you have to work at it not just wish it. Don't stay in business if your not willing to sweat. Look around and see what's out there and learn to compete. I have already made my charitable donation.

Room Tip: Go else where for comparable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed for one night while visiting Yosemite to be close enough to get to our all day tour the next day. Room was basic but nice. Matt, who leases out the restaurant, was very nice and we enjoyed our dinner there. I recommend the boneless pork chop. I had the bone in but the boneless was a better value. We were unable to enjoy the complimentary breakfast the next morning. Staff very helpful and a quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The hospitaly is awesome. The cabin is comfy with clean beds and terrific views. The food at. Tthe restaurant is amazing. The owner truly cares anout his customers and the customer se service is wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

There's a lot to like about this little lodge. It's old, has been well maintained, and has just been taken over by new owners. You can see the evidence of their work, fresh paint, newly sealed and striped asphalt, updated furnishings, new beds and linens. Part of the charm is it's rusticness, and if you like that type of place, you'll like this. It's off the highway, and is very quiet and pretty. It also has a good little restaurant. They're working out the details of complementary breakfast vs menu breakfast. Both days, we used our credit toward a menu breakfast, and it was excellent. We would stay here again, and we wish the new owners well. The best part is that it is by far the closest lodging to the south gate of Yosemite, but quite a bit, is only 1 mile from the gate!

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side, have a view of the pretty trees, and I'm sure are a bit quieter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I expected basic but was still surprised by the size of the room. We had 3 adults and there was barely room for 2 suitcases. The complimentary breakfast was awkward. We were seated and handed a menu. When we told them we only wanted the complimentary breakfast, we were brought a packaged danish, a small muffin and a bowl of yoghurt each. Because it was table service, we then felt obliged to tip. We stayed for 3 nights but only went to breakfast on the first day. The hotel is close to the park entrance but still 1 hours drive from Yosemite Valley. It was very overpriced for what it offered. We stayed in a 5 star hotel in Vegas for about the same cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Chief Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Chief Mountain Lodge

Address: 7776 White Chief Mountain Road, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — White Chief Mountain Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the White Chief Mountain Lodge. We are now under new Ownership and Management. We have recently remodeled our guest rooms. We are 1.5 Miles away from the front entrance to Yosemite National Park. We are far enough off the beaten path to enjoy the peace. We are a perfect stop for travelers who are on a budget. You can find us on your way to Yosemite on the right. We also offer free Wi-Fi, DirecTV, fridge, microwave, and coffee in every room. We look forward to seeing you soon! -White Chief Mountain Lodge Staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your White Chief Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Chief Mountain Hotel Fish Camp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Chief Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.