We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lodge is in a great location BUT didn't like the inside!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Chief Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added White Chief Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Chief Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7776 White Chief Mountain Road, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Fish Camp
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The lodge is in a great location BUT didn't like the inside!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had a hard time finding a decent price in expensive Hotels of Yosemite area. This hotel was one of the few that didnt have crazy rates, plus it is close to the park entrance (giant sequoia area). The location is great, the cottage was really in the forest, sorrounded by super tall trees. Inside, though, the carpet was smelly, the toilet not very clean, not enough furniture to place our 4suitcases, being a family... We stayed for 2 nights and they also forgot to make our beds once, maybe because we forgot to tip, but being from Europe, we never do that and we really forgot to do it by mistake. Breakfast constists of a bag full of sweet snacks, juices and coffe for your room; no milk neither cereal. If you have picky children, they won't eat anything! I don't say it was terrible, but still, we payed too much for what we got; next time I would go somewhere else.
For Italians: bellissimo da fuori, immerso nella foresta, viciissimo alle sequoie di Yosemite,spazioso e non troppo caro, ma dentro moquette puzzava e non grande pulizia. la colazione di merendine confezionate e succhi di frutta stra-dolci senza latte, non è piaciuta ai miei figli. Se siete di passaggio andateci, se state una settimana evitate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
16
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were concerned when we read some of the tripadvisor reviews but decided to give the hotel a go as we were looking for simplicity and proximity to the park. It is very much no frills but the room was clean and there was a tv, coffee making facilities and it was wonderfully peaceful and we slept really well. The young couple who do the housekeeping are delightful and gave us a really warm welcome. The owner was less friendly and seems to be missing an opportunity to make much more of this hotel. In our time there, there were only three or four other people staying. There is no doubt that the hotel is overpriced for what it is but in this area of Yosemite it's hard to find anything cheaper and so it was worth it for us. We would recommend a stay here.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figueres, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

This motel is just on the entrance of Yosemite. We stayed there on May 2010, after driving from Chicago all along Route 66. We had booked a tent in Curry Village but when we saw it we preferred a betteer place. Almost everything was full and this was the only place we could find (in fact a very kind woman at the tourist information found it for us :)). We were surprised about its location: it is very near from Park entrance, in Fish Camp, a very small and nice village.

The motel is a bit old, but it seemed quite clean for us. Price was absolutely great according to its location (I think it was about 30$ more than the tent at Curry Village).

There ain't many places for dinner near s our only option was the motel's restaurant. It is very nicely decorated and feels quite romantic for a couple. The food we ate was GREAT. Staff was very friendly too.

I recommend it without any doubt.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

First of all, I stayed here in May 09. I chose Nov 09 above, because they don't have an option that goes earlier than Nov 09. Nice clean rooms and nice functional bathroom with hot water. No problems whatsoever. Given that it is a lodge near a national park, I don't expect rooms like Sheraton or Holiday Inn. It was like regular cabins. The pricing was the most reasonable compared to anything that is available around Yosemite. The lodge is just at the entrance of Yosemite, which makes it a good location as well. We had to drive everyday in to the park, but that for us was better than choosing expensive rooms inside the park. The drive is beautiful anyways. Service was good as well. Thoroughly enjoyed!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We were very pleased to get a room since we went during the busy season and did not make a reservation. We were given a very reasonable rate since we were mid-week. Everyone was extremely hospitable. The food in the restaurant was great. The rooms are small and simple but were clean and stocked with soaps and shampoos. The TV got great reception. The bed was very comfortable and for me that's the most important thing. We sat out on the porch in the evening, it was so quiet and pleasant. They are also conveniently located only a few miles from the south entrance to Yosemite. I am sure we will be going back there again. I can't imagine why I would want to spend more to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We arrived fairly late in the afternoon, checked in got the keys to our $160 a night room, dropped our bags in it and went straight out to the Mariposa grove which is 5 mins drive from the hotel. When we arrived back at around 10pm we showered and were about to get into bed when we pulled back the covers to reveal........lots of mouse dropping, in our bed, under the sheets, pillows in fact we then started to notice that they were everywhere. On the kitchen table, ontop of the refrigerator. We'd put the musty smell down to the location and age of the accomodation but oh no! it was actually rodent crap. My wife freaked out at this point and I pulled on some clothes and trudged wearily across to the office which was closed around 10.40 pm. The old guy who owns the place was in the house opposite so I regretfully disturbed his peace and told him what was occurring. He seemed confused by the state of affairs but gave us the keys to the next door room. Guess what- it was even worse, covered in little black droppings-UGHHH!
We then got the keys to a room nearer the office and this was free of rodent crap but was infested with insects, covered with green insect killing pellets and smelled so bad that we had to cover ourselves with perfume to mask the smell. We put up with this (lying in our clothes on top of the bed for about 2.5hrs). I was unable to sleep and didn't want to touch anything in the room. My wife told me she had had enough and we went to sleep outside in our car. We then managed some sleep till 6am when we decided we wanted to not let it spoil our plans and went for a wonderful hike in Yosemite.
We returned around midday to see what the management had to say- to be fair the lady behind the desk (who was very nice like all the staff and the owner) said she didn't want to charge me anything (which would still have been too much!) but was afraid she might have to pay. I decided I would just pay the lower room rate which was $139 and would NEVER EVER go anywhere near that place again.

Here's a word to the wise, heed these reviews and whatever you do avoid this place like you would a gun toting maniac in a burger bar.

Even if they cleared up the rodent problem it's old, tired and not worth the money. If I could give a zero rating I would. My single worse hotel experience ever made all the sadder by the fact that the owner and staff are such nice people.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole_WhiteChief, Office Manager at White Chief Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2009
We apologize for the problems that you experienced while staying at our lodge. I first of all want to inform you that the problem has been corrected. Unfortunatelly there is forest all around our hotel and when it does get hot and dry the rodents come looking for food and water. Once it is detected, we take the steps to correct any problems. Again we apologize for any inconvience this may have caused you.

Kindest Regards,
Nicole D.
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

The best thimg about this motel is the location, just 2 miles from Yosemite and, once within the park, a further 2 miles from the Maraposa Grove.

The motel (lodge) itself is away from the main road and, because the sign at the roadside is old and in need of a lick of paint, it would be quite easy to miss the entrance to the motel.

The rooms are of the very basic motel type and the owners are able to demand a relatively high price (based on comparably equipped motels elswhere) because of the location. The attached restaurant (seperate management) was fine and served a variety of breakfasts at, what I'd say were, standard costs. (the evening meal prices seemed slightly high but we didn't use it).

The walls to each room are thin, the furniture very basic, the bathroom small but functional. I was able to use my laptop with limited but acceptable download speeds ... but if you are staying here I guess your main priority is the ease with which you have access to Yosemite.

In summary, a very basic motel that will enable you to eat, sleep and shower for an early start in the park.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Chief Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Chief Mountain Lodge

Address: 7776 White Chief Mountain Road, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — White Chief Mountain Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the White Chief Mountain Lodge. We are now under new Ownership and Management. We have recently remodeled our guest rooms and our cabins are under remodel right now. We are 2 miles away from the front entrance to Yosemite National Park. We are a hidden jewel in the woods with a lounge that we offer a free continental breakfast with a make your own waffle maker. We are far enough off the beaten path to enjoy the peace. We are perfect stop for travelers who are on a budget.You can find us on your way to Yosemite on the right. We also offer free wi-fi, Directv, fridge, microwave, and coffee in every room. We look forward to hearing from you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your White Chief Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Chief Mountain Hotel Fish Camp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Chief Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.