We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Narrow Gauge Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Narrow Gauge Inn to your Saves list
Narrow Gauge Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   48571 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
San Diego, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A relaxing time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is an older hotel with a cozy, mountain lodge feel. Our room was large and very clean. The room was to the right of the office, had a wrap around patio, and felt very private. This room is next door to the kitchen, so is noisy in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful. A small continental breakfast is offered. The closeness to Yosemite and area trails are a plus, as is the Narrow Gauge Railroad. The ride is worth it - dress warmly in Oct/Nov! Be aware that most attractions and restaurants close down in the Oct-Nov timeframe and do not reopen until spring. You may have to head down the mountain to Oakhurst for meals. If you are the type of traveler that requires mini-fridges, microwaves, onsite laundry, lots of television stations and strong Wifi, this hotel may not be for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    132
    42
    23
    3
See reviews for
60
198
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were relieved when we phoned to have the last room at this hotel as it was a busy time of year. The room itself was dated but adequate. There was however one big drawback which we were to find to our cost later that night. The room was situated at the far end of the hotel, first right at the bottom of some wooden stairs next to the restaurant. At every 20/30mins intervals a generator would power up and reverberate through the walls, it sounded like a tractor starting up every half an hour. This went on all night. We did complain at around 11.30 pm but we were stuck as there were no other rooms available. I am a light sleeper so had a terrioble night. We complained again at reception in the morning and they reduced the price by half without quibble so I guess they were aware of the problem. Unless you are a heavy sleeper, do not take this room!
Positives: The hotel is situated in a beautifull wooded area and the wild west style train next door is well worth a look. We didn't board it but it was great to see it chugging away in the distance, smoke billowing and hooter sounding. I have to say that the staff were very polite and curteous at all times and we had the best meal ever in our three week US holiday at the restaurant there. It was simply outstanding. So all in all I would recommend staying there - just heed my warning above!

Room Tip: See my review above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here October 2013. Despite the gov't shutdown, there was plenty to do in the area. Hotel was clean, good view of woods. Rooms were a bit dated to a 1960's feel, but added to the charm. Restaurant was very good with people coming from outside the hotel to enjoy (prepare to reserve or wait 1/2 hr to get a table). Hotel staff was super nice and helpful. They pointed us to a Sequoia grove outside Yosemite which was great due to the shutdown. Don't miss the narrow gauge train ride just next door -- it's fun! Also, there's an antique fire engine on site which is fun for small kids to view. Say hello to the multi-toed cat in the office!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Besides the romantic quality of this hotel, with its solid wood interior and welcoming fireplace, staff are first class in making you feel truly welcome. We added a night's stay, just to linger in the warmth a bit longer. Excellent restaurant with some great local wines on the list. Pastry chef deserves medal for her chocolate tart, alone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are very thankful for our beautiful Inn and our wonderful staff, we all truly love to serve our guests. I know the Netherlands is far from our Inn but we do hope to see you return in the future, you could have another bit of the fabulous tart. PLEASE NOTE: Our restaurant is seasonal, our last night for dinner this year is Oct. 27th, 2013. Our re-opening date is April 16, 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have to cancel our reservation because of the shutdown of the park and they want to take half of the deposit. So we have to pay for the government's fault? It feels like a robbery. Will stay away from them forever.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
The park shutdown has been sad for all travelers involved. I do apologize for you feeling robbed, that is the last thing we want our guests to feel. The Inn likes to meet our guest half way even when a full penalty can be enforced. PLEASE NOTE: Our Inn is still open even with the park shut down, we do have activities and trails in our area that guests can enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Narrow Gauge Inn is a charming hotel located just outside the entrance of Yosemite National Park, an ideal base for visiting Mariposa Grove and Glacier Point. The atmosphere is lovely, very romantic, with soft lighting. We stayed in the suite. The room was comfortable with a large terrace with a beautiful view of the woods. The hotel restaurant is very romantic and every detail is taken care of in a harmonious way. The food is great. I love this place ....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at Narrow Gauge Inn with my husband and we brought our dog. Great location - probably about 10 minutes from the entrance to the park. Great woodsy area - walked our dog and enjoyed the paths around the Inn. Included dog treats for the dog on arrival. Room was nice (overlooked the woods). Arrived too late to really enjoy the patio but it would have been nice. Ate in the restaurant on the property and enjoyed it greatly...husband ate elk for the first time (like a steak he said). Breakfast was included and was really nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we just love it when the pet has fun to. Being you are from L.A. keep in mind we have some wonderful fall and winter rates and we still have things to keep you busy until the park re-opens. Our restaurants last night will be Oct 27th, maybe we can see you back for another wonderful meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Narrow Gauge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrow Gauge Inn

Address: 48571 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Narrow Gauge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 26 room Inn located 4 miles from Yosemite's South entrance. This pet friendly Inn has a seasonal fine dining restaurant, pool and hot tub. Spend time in the beautiful gardens or ride the historic Railroad, just next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Narrow Gauge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrow Gauge Hotel Fish Camp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narrow Gauge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.