We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Yosemite, Friendly, Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Narrow Gauge Inn

Save Saved
You added Narrow Gauge Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Narrow Gauge Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   48571 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
phoenix
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Near Yosemite, Friendly, Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here October 2013. Despite the gov't shutdown, there was plenty to do in the area. Hotel was clean, good view of woods. Rooms were a bit dated to a 1960's feel, but added to the charm. Restaurant was very good with people coming from outside the hotel to enjoy (prepare to reserve or wait 1/2 hr to get a table). Hotel staff was super nice and helpful. They pointed us to a Sequoia grove outside Yosemite which was great due to the shutdown. Don't miss the narrow gauge train ride just next door -- it's fun! Also, there's an antique fire engine on site which is fun for small kids to view. Say hello to the multi-toed cat in the office!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    122
    38
    22
    3
See reviews for
54
176
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Besides the romantic quality of this hotel, with its solid wood interior and welcoming fireplace, staff are first class in making you feel truly welcome. We added a night's stay, just to linger in the warmth a bit longer. Excellent restaurant with some great local wines on the list. Pastry chef deserves medal for her chocolate tart, alone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are very thankful for our beautiful Inn and our wonderful staff, we all truly love to serve our guests. I know the Netherlands is far from our Inn but we do hope to see you return in the future, you could have another bit of the fabulous tart. PLEASE NOTE: Our restaurant is seasonal, our last night for dinner this year is Oct. 27th, 2013. Our re-opening date is April 16, 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have to cancel our reservation because of the shutdown of the park and they want to take half of the deposit. So we have to pay for the government's fault? It feels like a robbery. Will stay away from them forever.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
The park shutdown has been sad for all travelers involved. I do apologize for you feeling robbed, that is the last thing we want our guests to feel. The Inn likes to meet our guest half way even when a full penalty can be enforced. PLEASE NOTE: Our Inn is still open even with the park shut down, we do have activities and trails in our area that guests can enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Narrow Gauge Inn is a charming hotel located just outside the entrance of Yosemite National Park, an ideal base for visiting Mariposa Grove and Glacier Point. The atmosphere is lovely, very romantic, with soft lighting. We stayed in the suite. The room was comfortable with a large terrace with a beautiful view of the woods. The hotel restaurant is very romantic and every detail is taken care of in a harmonious way. The food is great. I love this place ....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at Narrow Gauge Inn with my husband and we brought our dog. Great location - probably about 10 minutes from the entrance to the park. Great woodsy area - walked our dog and enjoyed the paths around the Inn. Included dog treats for the dog on arrival. Room was nice (overlooked the woods). Arrived too late to really enjoy the patio but it would have been nice. Ate in the restaurant on the property and enjoyed it greatly...husband ate elk for the first time (like a steak he said). Breakfast was included and was really nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we just love it when the pet has fun to. Being you are from L.A. keep in mind we have some wonderful fall and winter rates and we still have things to keep you busy until the park re-opens. Our restaurants last night will be Oct 27th, maybe we can see you back for another wonderful meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here in September when the National Parks were still open. This Inn is wonderful. Close to the park and there is a tour service that will come and pick you up from here for a guided tour of Yosemite. We were in the rooms that face the forest with a outside deck. Wonderful to watch the sunset from. The staff are very helpful and there is a computer available in the office for guest use. (Also easy to use room wireless access.) The breakfast was included and in the restaurant since the mornings were cool. Great outside hot tub to fight off any chill. (Office has 30 min time slots since there is only room for ~ 4.)

Room Tip: Rooms with Forrest view and outside deck are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and before the park closer. We do hope to see you return for a visit in the future.
TRAVELERS PLEASE KEEP IN MIND WE STILL HAVE GREAT ACTIVITES TO ENJOY IN OUR AREA EVEN WITH THE PARK CLOSER.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Narrow Gauge Inn is near Tenaya Lodge, and the south entrance to Yosemite. A great place to stay if you're visiting Mariposa Grove or Wawona in Yosemite. We're very glad we chose it over Tenaya.

It has everything you need, unless you need an urban experience next to a national park, which is what some people seem to want these days -- perfect cell phone reception for endless calls, giant rooms, etc.

An outstanding restaurant is attached to the lodge. There are early bird special dinners for about $14. The breakfast in the lobby is advertised as continental, which can mean bagels and coffee. They made waffles to order, and had a nice spread of cold cereal, instant oatmeal, hardboiled eggs, and decent bread and bagels to toast. The Brazilian woman who makes the waffles is by herself a reason to stay at Narrow Gauge. Very warm and natural with people.

The small kidney shaped pool is very nice, surrounded by pines. It's represented well on the website, as is the entire place. Most places look better in photos than in real life. There's also a hot tub.

The overall feel of the place and its grounds are the strengths. It feels woodsy, but they didn't surround it totally with woods, so it is also breezy and sunny at times.

We found our room tight for three people, but would have been fine for two. Everything worked fine. There was no air conditioning -- you don't need it -- but they probably have rooms which have it. We had a ceiling fan. In our section, each room had a large balcony looking at nothing but green and a far-off ridge.

Price-wise, it's a good deal for Yosemite-area lodging. There is a general store in Fish Camp on the way to the park, if you need to pick something up. There is also a store in Wawona, about four miles inside the park. We would definitely use this inn again on a Yosemite trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Narrow Gauge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrow Gauge Inn

Address: 48571 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Narrow Gauge Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 26 room Inn located 4 miles from Yosemite's South entrance. This pet friendly Inn has a seasonal fine dining restaurant, pool and hot tub. Spend time in the beautiful gardens or ride the historic Railroad, just next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Narrow Gauge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrow Gauge Hotel Fish Camp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narrow Gauge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.