We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“confort in the midst of nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Narrow Gauge Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Narrow Gauge Inn to your Saves list
Narrow Gauge Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   48571 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“confort in the midst of nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed three nights in this hotel near the southern entrance to the Yosemite Park.
If you are looking for a “conventional” and /or “modern” type of hotel, look somewhere else, but if you want to be near nature in beautiful and peaceful surroundings this is your place. .

The room we stayed (5 people) was huge and quite comfortable, with a balcony to the forest around it, but furnished in an unconventional way , you need to be open minded about it.

Rooms are located in 3 levels, and you should choose the lowest one, which is furthest from the road and also from some noisy machine located on the back of the restaurant.

Service is very friendly and efficient. There is a small swimming pool and a hot tub, but those are open only part of the year.

The same applies to the restaurant. When open it serves only dinner (except Monday and Tuesday).
It is quite good, but expensive.

Breakfast is included and Ok and there is free wi-fi.

The hotel is about 12 miles from the nearest town, and about 3 miles to the park's entrance and very well located to access the Mariposa Grove and Glacier Point, two of the “must see” points in the park.

However it is still at least a 40 minutes drive to Yosemite valley .

In general when driving to Yosemite , and to the hotel in particular, do not use a GPS as it tends
to get confused in mountain roads , use a map instead.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    125
    41
    22
    3
See reviews for
57
185
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were unable to get a King size room other than the Suite. We are so glad it happened that way. For a few dollars more you get the Suite with a King bed and two baths...one with a clawfoot tub. It is decorated beautifully. We had our own PRIVATE deck overlooking the forest. It had patio furniture on it & we found it funny there were no cushions on them...but thought maybe that was the way they were. But the last night we were there the cushions showed up! So, if you stay here and have no cushions be sure to ask for them because it's a lot more comfortable sitting on the deck. I had read a review before going that there were no hair dryers in the room. I contacted them about this prior to the trip & there was one waiting for me in the room....so ask for one. The grounds are gorgeous. Beautiful flowers, planters, and trees everywhere. The restaurant has an awesome breakfast (included with the room) and the staff is great. We didn't eat there at night because it was only open our last evening there. There isn't a lot of choice on the menu and most of it is very pricey. By the time we'd get back we just didn't feel that hungry to pay for such food...so we stopped along the way back somewhere to eat. Great WiFi service available if you need/want it. It's just a short walk from the hotel over to the Sugar Pine Railroad. We road the steam engine train & it was a beautiful and relaxing ride. The gift shop at the inn as an assortment of things if you need a last minute souvenir or something to bring home to someone. All in all....great location, great breakfast, awesome room....don't hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: Can't say anything bad about it at all...awesome place to stay and the location is great. I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Narrow Gauge Inn. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were fantastic - they set us up nicely for a day in the park! Evening meals in the restaurant are not cheap, but good quality. The drive into the valley takes about an hour but there are also more local attractions including the steam train and local trails.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent three nights here in Sept. 2012 while visiting Yosemite. It is a lovely "inn" - great continental breakfast - which included scrambled eggs & bacon or sausage.
Restaurant was very atmospheric and the food was very good. The only draw back is that Fish Camp is about an hour from Yosemite --- only 30 miles, but I counted 217 curves in 7 miles. However, based on the options for hotels when visiting Yosemite, I'd probably choose this one again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We are so happy that we cancelled our original booking at a large lodge and booked here because of the reviews. This is a lovely rustic inn with a funny cast of characters including a six toed cat in the lobby. We had a two bed room with a private deck overlooking the forest. Very quiet and relaxing. There was no tub only shower, but lots of hot water. You need to pick up a hair dryer from the front desk. Beds were ok, could have been a little better quality but overall a good sleep. The breakfast served in the morning is considered continental but they do ask if you want eggs, bacon or sausage. They also had a good supply of breads, buns, cereals, yogurt and fruit. We were so pleased with the inn that we ate there for the three nights we were there. Excellent selections and they served a sunset dinner between between 430 - 700 pm which was almost half the price of the meals after 700 pm. We would highly recommend this wonderful inn. Save your self the time of driving and staying right in the valley as the prices was more than double.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My spouse and I spent 2 nights at The Narrow Gauge Inn as part of a weekend visit to the Yosemite National Park during July. We had tried for accomodation in the park but due to the peak season all was booked and by visiting the Tripadvisor website came across this property. As far as location goes, it is a short drive on the main road ( Highway 41) into the Southern park entrance. Located in a lush forest surrounding it is well placed to be able to visit the Mariposa Grove , famous for it Giant Sequoia trees as well as access to the rest of the main attractions in the park. The inn had a very homely feel and although rooms were simple, they were comfortable, clean and had a great wireless internet connection as well as shower and comfortable dressing/bathroom. A wooden deck balcony looked over the lower parking area towards the forest surrounds. The service was very good and I particularly must mention the excellent quality of food and service in the dining room. The reception area has a lovely garden infront and the one can also buy souvenirs at the INN store. As we had 2 nights, we would drive into the park early and return later at night. Bear in mind that there will be a considerable amount of driving involved from the Mariposa Grove to Glacier point and then to Yosemite Village. However is well planned once can get to see all the main attractions in a weekend as we did. I would certainly come back to the Inn again , maybe next time combining it with a night or 2 within the park and closer to Yosemite Village.

Room Tip: As for a room closer to the reception / dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The decoration is nice and warm, the outdoor terrain is unnecessary since we came back late. But breakfast was great, we ordered scrambled eggs with sausage.

It's a little farther than the Tenaya lodge Yosemite to the South gate, but the rate is much lower here. Receptionists and waitress are lovely.
In short, it is worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Narrow Gauge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrow Gauge Inn

Address: 48571 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Narrow Gauge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 26 room Inn located 4 miles from Yosemite's South entrance. This pet friendly Inn has a seasonal fine dining restaurant, pool and hot tub. Spend time in the beautiful gardens or ride the historic Railroad, just next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Narrow Gauge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrow Gauge Hotel Fish Camp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narrow Gauge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.