We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room in a great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Victorian Inn to your Saves list
Victorian Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   400 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Inn the Mood for Love
Ranked #3 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Pacific Grove, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great room in a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night in June. All the rooms are on the 2nd floor in a solidly built and renovated large mansion from the late 1890s. The rooms are large and quiet and comfortable. It was our first time here but other guests we spoke with had stayed there multiple times. The street parking is plentiful and was not a problem. Its location in historic very walkable downtown Ferndale is a plus and was appreciated. There is a fine dining restaurant on the first floor under the same ownership. They serve a complimentary full breakfast there for guests only. Pleasant and helpful owner and staff. The Victorian Inn and Ferndale are well worth the 5 mile sidetrip from 101.

Room Tip: Don't let the stairs deter you. Staff is always willing and able to assist with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    67
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
35
198
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monterey County, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My second time here and it's better than ever. The rooms are charming. The staff is friendly and attentive. The food is great. The bar is well stocked and, most important, frequented by locals. The rates are reasonable and, at five miles West of 101, Ferndale is an obvious stopover for anybody traveling the coastal route.
We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our first night in a two week road trip up the Oregon coast from SF was here. The Inn is lovely and our room was spacious and well appointed. There is a very nice large communal room furnished with coff/tea.etc and games to play. The restaurant is very, very good and the staff very friendly and fun in a very casual way. East coast folks might find it a bit odd; we thought they were very funny! The ONLY draw back is the stairs: two flights straight up. Hard on the knees, especially coming down!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A friend and I spent two nights at the Victorian Inn in Ferndale with no purpose other than to experience the ambiance of the town and surrounding area. The Victorian Inn was over 50% of our experience. Not only are the accommodations superb, reminiscent of the town's historic past, but the owners, Lowell Daniels and Jenny Oaks, made us feel welcome as though we were visiting their own home. Within a couple of hours, we were completely relaxed after a long drive from home. It was completely unexpected to choose the perfect place to stay while visiting the area. The included breakfast was superb as were the two dinners we experienced in the dining room. Complementary tea and coffee throughout the day. We were completely spoiled and did not want to leave! I will submit a separate review for the restaurant. Thank you Lowell & Jenny!

Room Tip: The above list includes a pool; the Victorian Inn does not have a pool. If traveling with a friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon the Victorian Inn on a trip down the Pacific coast and through the redwoods. This town is an absolute gem, with numerous spectacularly preserved examples of Victorian architecture. Among the best of these is the VI. We were treated spendidly during our stay here, enjoying an excellent breakfast in the picturesque dining, and upon learning we were on a honeymoon of sorts, the manager gave us a free upgrade to the best room in the house. The next morning, we had a perfect view of a little parade passing down the street outside our window.

Ferndale is the best widespread example of Victorian architecture I have ever visited, and the Victorian Inn did not disappoint. It was a wonderful respite after days of hiking old growth redwood and spruce forests, and the best night of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We could not be happier with our experience with The Victorian Inn and the Inn Keepers (Lowell Daniels and Jenny Oaks). We were planning our wedding for over a year and from San Diego without seeing the location...we had a couple of obstacles (IE: cancellations of vendors) but with a great deal of cooperation and trust between both parties our wedding and reception (as well as our room accommodations) were absolutely amazing! If it wasn't for Lowell Daniels then we would have ended up having to find a different location away from the beautiful town of Ferndale. Once we made our trek up to the northern section of our great state to "The Lost Cove", we have fallen in love with the area and didn't want to leave. But the town and the generosity will be in our hearts FOREVER. We look forward to being able to rejoin our new friends in the town we were married, in the future. Thank you Lowell and Jenny for helping bring our dreams into reality...we would not have been able to do this without you!

Brian & Pam Williams

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Victorian Inn during a trip to see the Redwoods. It's fairly close to the Avenue of the Giants. All of the people we came into contact with at the inn were extremely nice. We ate dinner there one night and it was delicious. Breakfast was included with the room and it was great. Lot's to eat and so good. The only thing I was not totally pleased about was the size of our room. But admittedly, that was probably my fault. In an effort to save a bit of money I chose Sylvias Room. The room was nicely decorated, but was a pretty tight squeeze. Fortunately, the bathroom was very large and we could put our luggage in it so it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Inn

Address: 400 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victorian Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California's northern redwood coast you'll discover the quaint Victorian Village of Ferndale and the elegant Victorian Inn. Built in 1890 of Humboldt County redwood, this luxurious northern California bed and breakfast combines romantic accommodations with modern amenities for the convenience of vacationers, tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Ferndale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.