We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Victorian Inn to your Saves list
Victorian Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   400 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We could not be happier with our experience with The Victorian Inn and the Inn Keepers (Lowell Daniels and Jenny Oaks). We were planning our wedding for over a year and from San Diego without seeing the location...we had a couple of obstacles (IE: cancellations of vendors) but with a great deal of cooperation and trust between both parties our wedding and reception (as well as our room accommodations) were absolutely amazing! If it wasn't for Lowell Daniels then we would have ended up having to find a different location away from the beautiful town of Ferndale. Once we made our trek up to the northern section of our great state to "The Lost Cove", we have fallen in love with the area and didn't want to leave. But the town and the generosity will be in our hearts FOREVER. We look forward to being able to rejoin our new friends in the town we were married, in the future. Thank you Lowell and Jenny for helping bring our dreams into reality...we would not have been able to do this without you!

Brian & Pam Williams

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    71
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
38
212
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Victorian Inn during a trip to see the Redwoods. It's fairly close to the Avenue of the Giants. All of the people we came into contact with at the inn were extremely nice. We ate dinner there one night and it was delicious. Breakfast was included with the room and it was great. Lot's to eat and so good. The only thing I was not totally pleased about was the size of our room. But admittedly, that was probably my fault. In an effort to save a bit of money I chose Sylvias Room. The room was nicely decorated, but was a pretty tight squeeze. Fortunately, the bathroom was very large and we could put our luggage in it so it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I had planned to stay in Eureka, after seeing Ferndale and the Victoria Inn we changed our plans and are so glad we did. As everyone else has said the staff and owners were so friendly and helpful, beautiful rooms, and furnishings, I love the big picture at the top of the stairs. Dinner and breakfast both wonderful. The Museum in town was fantastic staff so friendly and informative as well don't miss it while you are in Ferndale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We found this beautiful Victorian Inn on our road trip up north. The town of Ferndale is very cute with all the Victorians, but the highlight was the Victorian inn. We were driving all day through the avenue of giants when we decided to check out this town. We stopped at the Victorian Inn for a bite to eat. It was just after lunch and just before dinner service. I decided have a beer at the beautiful bar as my friend went out to take pictures of the town. When they opened for dinner we went in and Cat the bartender waited on us, she was great and the food was excellent. I had the chicken pot pie and my friend had the rib eye. Both were great especially the chicken pot pie. After dinner we decided to stay the night, the nicest people helped us decide a room from the hard to choose (because they all are charming in there own way) we were given a free upgrade so we chose the Ira Ross suite. It was incredible the most beautifull room I have ever stayed in. Everything was impeccable from the furniture to the sheets. It felt like being in Victorian times. After a great nights sleep we had a great breakfast as part of the room. You really have to see this hotel for yourself, I can't wait to come back. Lowell and Jenny are great people and really have spared no expense to making this a beautiful hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Alaska
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Ferndale is a bit out of the way, but if you choose to make a trip to this quaint Victorian town, the Victorian Inn is a wonderful place to stay. There weren't very many guests when we stayed so on arrival we were upgraded to a larger room than we had reserved. We were welcomed warmly and oriented to the facilities and to the town. The room (we stayed in the Victorian Parlor) was comfortable and well appointed. There is a full service restaurant and bar on the ground floor.

As this is a historic building, there are very few electric outlets. Be sure to bring a power strip and extension cord.

We were also warned that the city Fire Dept. might sound a rather loud alarm when activated. We experienced this around 2 am. I just mention this because it did indeed happen during the night.

Many businesses are closed on Mondays and quite a few also on Tuesdays. Plan your visit accordingly.

We would stay again at the Victorian Inn.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife Renee and I spent our wedding anniversary at the Victorian Inn. The atmosphere of the hotel had a historic, yet cozy vibe. The staff and the owners we're very nice and friendly. The building is beautiful inside and out. We really liked the character of our room, "Jessica's Haven" on the second floor. Our room had an old fashioned heater stove and vaulted ceilings as I'm sure all of them did in this beautifully restored Victorian. Right off the main street of the village, we went on several walks and explored the Victorian buildings and houses. It was well worth the drive from the Sacramento area! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The inn was very cozy and the inn keepers were incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed in a corner room over looking the town. The view was great. The breakfast served in the restaurant below was delicious! I highly recommend a stay at the Victorian Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
14.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
16.8 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#1 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.1 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
0.2 mi away
Ye Olde Danish Inn
Ye Olde Danish Inn
#1 of 6 in Ferndale
5.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Inn

Address: 400 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victorian Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California's northern redwood coast you'll discover the quaint Victorian Village of Ferndale and the elegant Victorian Inn. Built in 1890 of Humboldt County redwood, this luxurious northern California bed and breakfast combines romantic accommodations with modern amenities for the convenience of vacationers, tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Ferndale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.