We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Victorian Inn to your Saves list
Victorian Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   400 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Inn the Mood for Love
Ranked #3 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Petersburg, Alaska
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Ferndale is a bit out of the way, but if you choose to make a trip to this quaint Victorian town, the Victorian Inn is a wonderful place to stay. There weren't very many guests when we stayed so on arrival we were upgraded to a larger room than we had reserved. We were welcomed warmly and oriented to the facilities and to the town. The room (we stayed in the Victorian Parlor) was comfortable and well appointed. There is a full service restaurant and bar on the ground floor.

As this is a historic building, there are very few electric outlets. Be sure to bring a power strip and extension cord.

We were also warned that the city Fire Dept. might sound a rather loud alarm when activated. We experienced this around 2 am. I just mention this because it did indeed happen during the night.

Many businesses are closed on Mondays and quite a few also on Tuesdays. Plan your visit accordingly.

We would stay again at the Victorian Inn.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    67
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
35
198
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife Renee and I spent our wedding anniversary at the Victorian Inn. The atmosphere of the hotel had a historic, yet cozy vibe. The staff and the owners we're very nice and friendly. The building is beautiful inside and out. We really liked the character of our room, "Jessica's Haven" on the second floor. Our room had an old fashioned heater stove and vaulted ceilings as I'm sure all of them did in this beautifully restored Victorian. Right off the main street of the village, we went on several walks and explored the Victorian buildings and houses. It was well worth the drive from the Sacramento area! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The inn was very cozy and the inn keepers were incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed in a corner room over looking the town. The view was great. The breakfast served in the restaurant below was delicious! I highly recommend a stay at the Victorian Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Although we weren't staying here we thoroughly enjoyed their dinner faire in the nicely decorated dining room. We received excellent service and good food. They also had a tavern that was very inviting and also serves the dinner menu.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with another couple. They absolutely loved the place! The outside is a lovely victorian. They try to maintain that feel on the inside--so if you are into modern looking places, this is not for you. The thick hallway carpeting is of an older pattern, with the rooms repeating the Victorian them in the window dressings, bed & furniture. It was all quite comfortable. There is no elevator to the second floor, but the staff cheerfully carried up our heavy luggage. We stayed in Hanna's Room, which was nice. We got a peek at some of the more expensive rooms--very nice!

The staff is very helpful. Breatfasts good, but nothing unusual. Try dinner--wonderful dishes!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after switching our reservation to here from their sister "hotel", The Redwood Suites. We were very disappointed with Redwood, so we decided to try this hotel even though they were twice the price. First off, the room looked very nice. It had a nice bay window with a couch and a nice view of the town. The bathroom was very nice sized, but no place to set your shaving kit or makeup bag, etc. while you are getting ready. The shampoo/conditioner and lotion were pretty low quality. I shampooed again as soon as I got home because my hair looked like a dry mess. The shower/tub was an insert and pretty small. The hot water heater is shared by the rooms, so hopefully you shower when others are not. The bed/mattress was definitely old. I liked the bed itself for the Victorian look, but the mattress should have been replaced 20 years ago. The sides were broken down and you could actually feel the springs on the side. The bed also squeaked loudly when you moved on the bed at all. I liked the fact there was a "noise machine" next to the bed, so we could hear the ocean and waves crashing all night. I also liked the cd player and the cd's made available in your room to play. The chocolates set by the bed were also good. There is no coffee maker in the room, but there is a room where you can get coffee, tea or hot cocoa. The fresh coffee is supposed to be available from 8 til ? but it was not ready until about 8:20 one morning. They do have coffee in tea bags available, but if you are a coffee drinker, you won't enjoy this "instant" type coffee. We came very close to moving into a different hotel after the first night, but were afraid they would charge us a cancellation fee for leaving. There is a complimentary breakfast served for guests of the hotel. The breakfast is average at best. I ordered scrambled eggs which I believe were powdered eggs (I'm sure the hotel will say otherwise, but they certainly tasted powered). The service was less than average on our first morning. I'm not sure what is so hard about making sure someone's coffee cup is filled, but it seemed to be very difficult for the gal serving us. She seemed to be able to not do more than one thing at a time. Such as, bringing ketchup and the coffee pot to refill the cup.
Overall, it was an ok experience, but nothing I would pay for again....especially at $200.00 per night. One last comment, you are warned there is an alarm that may sound any time to summons the volunteer fire department. Well, it went off at 4 a.m. the first night there and sounded 5 times. While we were not surprised by it, it still wasn't great to be awoken at 4 in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stay at the Victorian Inn for over 15 years when we are in the area and recommend it to friends and family as well. We have come her for work and recreation. WiFi Internet means we can work in the room when we need to. The owners and staff are always friendly but considerate of privacy. They’re happy to tell you about local events and sights. Breakfast is great and the place is just far enough away from the busier areas of Eureka and Arcata that you feel like it is a getaway. Beds are comfortable and the owners have done a very good job of blending old and new with furnishings and comforts. We have not been here during a really busy week but during off-season, it is really pleasant to walk outside and see storefront businesses that are not chain stores or big box stores. The grocery is a perfectly clean and organized store; meat market and pharmacy are small and personal. And there is some nice local art on display, especially ironwork. But using the Inns a springboard to explore redwood forests and rocky coast is the best part.

Room Tip: the main bldg. has stairs but the Inn also has nearby rooms that are ahndicapped accessible and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Inn

Address: 400 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victorian Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California's northern redwood coast you'll discover the quaint Victorian Village of Ferndale and the elegant Victorian Inn. Built in 1890 of Humboldt County redwood, this luxurious northern California bed and breakfast combines romantic accommodations with modern amenities for the convenience of vacationers, tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Ferndale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.