We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time in Fantasyland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gingerbread Mansion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Gingerbread Mansion Inn to your Saves list
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   400 Berding St., Ferndale, CA 95536   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay longer save more!
Ranked #2 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Time in Fantasyland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place is beyond description. Linda is fantastic, as an Innkeeper, cook, hostess, or just to talk with. The gardens are gorgeous filled with so many varieties of plants big and small. Each room has a story, we were in The Hideaway, my friend in the downstairs, me upstairs both fantastic.
The little town of Ferndale is just precious. Some outstanding shops great for shopping of any kind. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    13
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
64
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wonderful, accommodating staff. Comfortable beds, quite and great breakfast. Ferndale, CA is a great, little clean town and the Gingerbread Mansion is a asset to the community. We met people from Arizona and Canada and had wonderful conversation at breakfast. Please support this wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: Second Floor Rooms are more roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We reserved two rooms at the Gingerbread Mansion B&B. We were so happy with our selection. Immediately we were greeted with afternoon tea and the great inn keepers. We had the Hideaway room which was so quiet and comfortable. The gardens are spectacular and well maintained. We were served a great breakfast and especially enjoyed our visit with Baxter the Inn's dog. Thanks for our wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Rooms by the garden are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We came to Ferndale to visit family and fell in love with the Gingerbread Mansion. Linda and her staff were warm and so accommodating. The B&B itself is beyond lovely and our room, The Garden Room, (on the first floor - something to consider if you have heavy bags!), was beautiful, with a large and lovely bathroom. The breakfasts and afternoon teas were delicious (a little TOO delicious) and elegant. If you are planning a trip to Ferndale or the surrounding area, this would be the perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: The Garden Room is on the first floor. There is no elevator, so be sure to ask which floor your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Innkeeper at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Greetings Donna!
It was such a pleasure to meet you and Charles. So happy you had a nice visit with your cousin and stay at the Gingerbread Mansion. We miss your smiles and conversation. Hope the package arrived and we see you again.
Take care,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent two nights at the Gingerbread Mansion and had a fabulous time. The mansion is beautifully and tastefully decorated, with great attention to detail. The bed was extremely cozy and comfortable, and room was really spacious. We stayed in the Fountain Suite, but were able to see all the other rooms which were just as nice. The non-suites are smaller but still had plenty of room and were very inviting. The staff was warm, friendly and helpful. When you add up all the extras: early morning coffee/tea service brought to your room, exceptional breakfast with huge portions, refrigerator with fully stocked beverages-plus room for your picnic supplies, afternoon wine and snacks, and the most delicious truffles put on your bed, this is a great value. The town of Ferndale itself is very charming, and is a great way to casually spend a few hours exploring. The only downside was the volunteer fire department alarm going off in the middle of the night, but this would be an issue regardless of where you stayed in Ferndale. We are definitely looking forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fountain Suite and loved the very comfy bed and two oversized clawfoot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Years ago my mother operated a B&B in a beautiful town in Vermont. She set the standards incredibly high and subsequently, my husband and I have had a difficult time finding any B&Bs that meet those standards- We were pleasantly surprised with our stay at the Gingerbread Mansion! The recently renovated rooms are beautiful- I'd love to come back and eventually stay in each of them. The ambiance is peaceful and elegant. From the wine and cheese cocktail hour to the turn-down service and delicious breakfast; our experience was outstanding! I simply can't say enough about this wonderful B&B!

Room Tip: They have handicap accessible rooms as well- be sure to ask for availability when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We just spent three nights at the Gingerbread Mansion Inn for my wife's birthday. The mansion and grounds are beautiful. The rooms are large and very well appointed. The inn keeper and her staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very good. The town of Ferndale is very friendly and picturesque. Staying in Ferndale does require driving fairly far to some of the region's attractions, which could be problematic during high season weekends, but staying at the inn would be worth it. Our only regret was that we didn't have more time to spend there.

Room Tip: We liked the Veneto Room. Nice views and morning sun with your morning coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Innkeeper at The Gingerbread Mansion Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
What a joy to have you spend three nights in Veneto. It was our pleasure to host your stay and hope you come again. I'll have the special sparkling wine and daffodils awaiting your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gingerbread Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gingerbread Mansion Inn

Address: 400 Berding St., Ferndale, CA 95536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ferndale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gingerbread Mansion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gingerbread Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gingerbread Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.