We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferndale Historic Cemetery

Ferndale Historic Cemetery
Eugene Street & Bluff Street, Ferndale, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Ferndale
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Pretty neat little place. The view is nice. The cemetery is a bit strange in the way it's laid out with headstones facing all directions but this is a cool place to stop if you like history & cemeteries!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paradise
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This cemetery is nestled up the side of a hill at the edge of Historic Ferndale. It can be quite a climb, but worth it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I know what you are thinking...a cemetery...really? Yes, really. I quickly skimmed right past this attraction while perusing Trip Advisor before our drive South on Highway 101. Once on our trip, we decided to zip into downtown Ferndale for a sweet fudge stop. Before we left Ferndale, my husband humored me by driving around looking at the beautiful Victorian houses...and that's when we came upon the cemetery and I remembered reading something about it. It was fascinating as we watched the cemetery come into view, admiring its location on the hillside. We couldn't help but stop, wander around a bit, and get totally caught up thinking about the history of the town and its inhabitants. A very humbling, beautiful view indeed. Even my three year old was impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nostalgic cemetary with nice view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Peaceful, nostalgic place set in among the redwoods - Great view from top - Ferndale is green and lovely - scenes from the Jim Carrey film "The Majectic" were filmed at this cemetary. Withing walking distance from Main Street - downtown not that big - everything within walking distance

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Who Would Have Thought”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Walked up to the cemetery from downtown, Beautiful victorian home to view. Lots of history in this cemetery. Who would have taht it would be so interesting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferndale Historic Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Ferndale Historic Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferndale Historic Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.