We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Building, Average Drinks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of VI Restaurant and Bar at Victoria Inn

VI Restaurant and Bar at Victoria Inn
400 Ocean Ave, Victoria Inn, Ferndale, CA 95536
707-786-4950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 restaurants in Ferndale
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
southern oregon
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice Building, Average Drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The service in the bar was slow and the drinks were nothing more than cheap mixers and little alcohol. Don't order the margaritas.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    75
    25
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SJ CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I treated my wife to dinner at the Victorian Inn Restaurant. They recently swapped locations of the jewelry store and the restaurant (they are both in the same building). Maybe the area was bigger for the restaurant, but in my opinion, the decor didn't quite match up to the original location. The original restaurant felt like an elegant restaurant. The new spot, not so much.
The food was very good, and the portion sizes were good , and our server did a fine job, but I think the specials should have been explained more that handing us a sheet that listed them. Prices are a bit high. Maybe because there are only a handful of restaurants (that are open late) in Ferndale, and one of them in the Ivanhoe Hotel is closed on Monday and Tuesday, so you're almost a captive audience, unless you drive to Fortuna or Eureka.
We enjoyed ourselves and will probably eat there again. Hopefully they'll spruce up the decor a little more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cool building, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great Victorian building. Very good service. Food was ordinary. I had the beet salad but the beets were actually hot. First time I had had a hot beet salad. We both had the pork chop with grilled peaches. Pork chop needed more seasoning and more peaches.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Few places open for dinner in Ferndale. The VI is the place to go for gatherings and special events. Great food and very friendly staff.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming Dining Room at the Victorian Inn in Ferndale, CA ~ Great food and wine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We loved the food, the atmosphere, and the service. Worth the drive into Ferndale from the 101. The waitress was really nice and the food was delicious. Husband had the halibut and chips with sweet potato fries. I had the crab cakes. Try the local wine from Ferndale, Frog Alley Cellars' Pinot Noir or Sauvignon Blanc.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VI Restaurant and Bar at Victoria Inn also viewed

 

Been to VI Restaurant and Bar at Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VI Restaurant and Bar at Victoria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.