We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild about the wild salmon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VI Restaurant and Bar at Victoria Inn

VI Restaurant and Bar at Victoria Inn
400 Ocean Ave, Victoria Inn, Ferndale, CA 95536
707-786-4950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Ferndale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
n ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wild about the wild salmon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We almost expected swing saloon doors and the piano player to stop in mid-tune.... given that Ferndale is so "Olde Worlde"! It is in fact a very friendly place with good grub and a well-reccommended bottle of wine from our waitress.
Enjoyed every mouthful of the beautifully cooked wild salmon. Yum!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    35
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in a lovely town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in Ferndale for one night on a trip down the coast. We chose the Victorian Inn Restaurant based on the reviews and it's charm. It did not disappoint. An absolutely lovely building with Victorian charm as if you'd stepped back in time. Better yet, the food, wine and drinks were great. The place manages to be classy and upscale yet casual without being pretentious. It's a great place for a special occasion or date night. During the Christmas season the town is completely lit up, if you can manage to be there duing the holiday season I highly recommend it. The Creme Brulee' is a must do and try one of the local wines made right down the street that you can't get anywhere else, a real treat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Retirement Dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We celebrated the retirement of our coworker here and had a terrific experience. Food and service were both excellent, and, guests from across the country enjoyed the town atmosphere and the unique and beautiful restaurant. Highly recommend and hope to be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in a fascinating town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Touring the Californian coast whilst on holiday from England UK our friends from Denton,Texas brought us to Ferndale for an overnight stay. The town looks like it has stood still in time with buildings dating back to the late 19th century but impeccably maintained. The Victorian Inn is from the same era but has been updated and with all modern conveniences is a great place to stay. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well furnished. The dining room was spacious and with its wooden balcony and stairs at the rear harked back to bygone days and one half expected a cowboy and his girl to appear and make their way down, as in the movies. The food was excellent with a well chosen menu and the service both at dinner and at breakfast the following morning was of high standard, polite informative and friendly. I would recommend the Inn and Ferndale to anyone planning a visit to theis lovely part of California.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
“Mini Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived with our friends, Fred and Marlene Sorsabal, who had been there before, and knew that we would love it. And we did! You have done a beautiful job of renivating. The food was delicious, and we would love to come back again. The countryside is gorgeous. Vince and Gail Carter.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VI Restaurant and Bar at Victoria Inn also viewed

 
Ferndale, Humboldt County
Ferndale, Humboldt County
 

Been to VI Restaurant and Bar at Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VI Restaurant and Bar at Victoria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.