We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Spacious.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Danish Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ye Olde Danish Inn to your Saves list
Ye Olde Danish Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and Spacious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had a wonderful overnight experience at the Ye Olde Danish Inn. Very spacious apartment and comfortable. The owner was excellent and was waiting for us even though we arrived late. An excellent stay.
Only downside, it would have been nice to have breakfast included.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We are relatively locals, two hours away in Mendocino County, but we make a couple of trips a year to visit the bay and marshes of the area. This was our first stay at this Inn, and we liked it very much. We prize privacy and quiet much more than swimming pools and business center, so this worked out fine for us. Being able to step out on the balcony with our binoculars to track some raptors enhances the whole experience.

Room Tip: only two second floor cabins as far as I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Beautiful setting just up hill from Ferndale town centre packed with historic buildings. Easy walk to shops & great Curlys restaurant, recommended by hosts. (Very good food and very busy mid-week.) Lots of space in the Aalborg Suite. Space for dining, relaxing on sofa, window seat, and deck to watch the deer on the lawns morning and evening. Was the sort of place to easily stay a week and use as a base. Interesting books and shelves of holiday reads too. Bed comfy & place very quiet at night. Uffe shared interesting historical information about the Danish settlers in the area. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed two nights in the Copenhagen Suite and it was the best stay we've had in all our years of traveling. The property overlooks Ferndale and the valley and the peace and quiet was amazing. We have never stayed at such a unique and peaceful Inn - anytime in the future we are anywhere near Ferndale we will plan some time here. Uffe and Kuniko are wonderful hosts. This morning when we left we sat on our deck as Monday morning was birthed in the valley and it was a perfect start to the day.

Room Tip: The Copenhagen Suite is our experience and it is at the north end of the property. A great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were traveling from 28th April till 2nd May 2014, from Portlend to Las Vegas (we are three friends from Russia, 26-29 years older). Every day we stayed in different hotels and motels. And this one was really the best place we stayed. When I search for remembers in my head it appears the first from all. I don't now why, but it is the first. May be because it is very lovely, sweet and cosy flat (it is really like appartments - there as all you need - kitchen, bath, drawing-room, bedroom). May be because of very nice owners, who are very hospitable, may be because of home-decor and atmosphere (there is fireplace, the shelves with books, vases with dried flowers, curtains and coverings with lovely patterns), may be the silence and little deer who met our vehicle on the road and showe the hotel, which is hidden on the hill. So I can recommend it all people, who like quiet cosy rest. It was really great experience!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

This review is based solely on a one night stay in which I was thoroughly impressed with the quality of service from the owners! We booked a couple weeks ahead as we were picking up a friend in California and needed a place to stay close to the redwoods. We had planned on arriving around 5, but like any road trip ended up way behind schedule. We called to inform the owners we might not arrive until after 10. We ended up not arriving until almost midnight, and to our surprise the owners had stayed up and the male owner happily showed us around the room and made sure we were comfortable. He even went as far as to honor a request we had that I'm sure many places wouldn't have. It really made our night and we couldn't have appreciated it more! I would explain more, but wouldn't want others to then request the same. Thank you to the lovely owners of Ye Olde Danish Inn! You made our stay a very pleasant one!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have stayed at Ye Olde Danish Inn several times and each experience has been more than satisfactory. The two rooms, which are in separate buildings from the main house and each other are wonderfully quiet, spacious, and at the same time, cozy. They are well equiped and comfortable with microwave, frig and coffee makerand a dinette table in each so that light meal preparation is possible. They are convenient to the town of Ferndale with its many shops and historic buildings as well as close to the Redwoods and the beach and about 20 minutes fro Eureka.and an hour to Benbow. The settings is lovely on a hill overlooking the town and is set away from other houses on it own ten acres of woods, garden and grass.The owners are friendly and accomodating without being intrusive. I would highly recommend. One accessibility caution, both rooms are accessed by a full flight of outdoor steps.

Room Tip: Pictures on Web site are representative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde Danish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Danish Inn

Address: 132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536
Location: United States > California > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ye Olde Danish Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Danish Inn has become a national and international beacon for adventurous travelers to relax in privacy and complete comfort. On the 10 acres private estate overlooking the Victorian Village of Ferndale, the Inn offers seclusion and plenty of room to breathe, while within proximity to the wonderful recreational opportunities for which the Redwood Coast is famous: redwood forests (nature’s cathedrals), secluded beaches, pristine nature preserves and lot of wildlife. As an added bonus a town that invites you to step back in time. We are located only a 4 to 5 hour scenic drive (Highway 101) north of San Francisco, CA and about 3 miles in from the Pacific ocean. We offer two very comfortable and very private suites, each with its own private balcony, overlooking beautiful views of the Victorian Village of Ferndale and the Eel River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ye Olde Danish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Danish Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.