We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Alternative to staying in Eureka, CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Danish Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ye Olde Danish Inn to your Saves list
Ye Olde Danish Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Alternative to staying in Eureka, CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I arrived during the first rainstorm of the year. We stayed in the large suite over the garage. In June 2011, another TripAdvisor rater posted photos of the suite. Looks very much the same.

We arrived early, and were allowed to check in, which was greatly appreciated! The host and hostess were pleasant, gracious, and non-obstrusive. This was a one night stay; spent little time in the room (touring Ferndale, College of the Redwoods, Eureka, Arcata).

The 4-star rating is based on the peace and quiet, which is very important to us. The suite was clean, quiet, warm, and cozy. We are average sized people and slept cozily in the double/full bed with the low slant ceiling. No problem. We purchased breakfast foods from the local market in Ferndale upon our return for the evening, enjoying our breakfast in the beautiful setting.

The television reception was mediocre to poor; we did not ask the owners for assistance as it was late evening, and were too tired to ask for assistance. We are recommending Ye Olde Danish Inn to our family members as an alternative to staying in Eureka.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
35
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brush prairie WA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while exploring the surrounding environs, including Avenue of the Giants. We booked the Copenhagen suite which we found to be comfortable, cozy and very private. Felt like we were off in our own corner of the world. The suite has a private balcony overlooking the beautiful valley. Only a short walk into town for meals. The hosts were very accommodating but left us to our own devices.

We accidentally left our credit card at a downtown restaurant, and since we were due to leave the next day, were resigned to leaving it behind. Our gracious hosts tracked the card down and returned it to us by insured mail.

At night, snuggled under the comforter, the only audible noise you'll hear is a frog croaking...the only visible light from the moon and stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our third visit here and we always choose the Copenhagen suite, it seems we love this place more each time we stay. Our friends joined us this time and they stayed in the Aalborg suite which they also loved. We enjoyed the peacefulness and views of Ferndale from the balcony off the bedroom, my husband was so inspired he even painted some water colors of the surroundings. We visit Ferndale every year so we could say now that this is our "home away from home." Again, thanks to the owners of this magnificent place, Uffe and Kuniko for running a great get away.

Room Tip: There are only two suites, but we always stay in the Copenhagen suite, seems a little bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This gem sits halfway on the hill adjacent to beautiful Ferndale (a 4 minute walk).The rooms are large and very well equipped. The bed is good and the view over town & bay is awesome. The owners are kind and very helpful. During our stay they succeeded in powering up the wi-fi to a good connection providing fast online access. It is very, very quiet here up the hill.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodega Bay, CA, USA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This Inn was great, comfortable. Lot's of space and views of downtown Ferndale. Hosts were pleasant and provided good information in the room of activities in the area. I had the rooms over the garage - living room with dining area, bedroom, bath and patio overlooking Ferndale.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Wyoming
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived late. The host and hostess waited up for us and helped us find the property. The cottage was very nice with a great view. We were able to view the night sky. It was quiet and beautiful. Very close to the several beaches.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Yes, your GPS is correct. You have arrived at the right address. Just look at the little road that goes up the hill. Follow the road. As you go up the road, you will realize there is a small sign at the bottom. Our pleasant large room was above a garage and up a flight of stairs. You do have to be careful in the bedroom as the ceiling slants right over the bed. They do not serve any breakfast but they do have a kitchenette with coffee pot, refrigerator and microwave. There are also some utensils to use. When we were in the village we purchased some breakfast items so we did not have to go out in the morning. The sitting area was very comfortable and had books for reading, too. A very relaxing place. If you want peace, the location is great. If you want to be closer to town, it gets a lower score.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ye Olde Danish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Danish Inn

Address: 132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ye Olde Danish Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Danish Inn has become a national and international beacon for adventurous travelers to relax in privacy and complete comfort. On the 10 acres private estate overlooking the Victorian Village of Ferndale, the Inn offers seclusion and plenty of room to breathe, while within proximity to the wonderful recreational opportunities for which the Redwood Coast is famous: redwood forests (nature’s cathedrals), secluded beaches, pristine nature preserves and lot of wildlife. As an added bonus a town that invites you to step back in time. We are located only a 4 to 5 hour scenic drive (Highway 101) north of San Francisco, CA and about 3 miles in from the Pacific ocean. We offer two very comfortable and very private suites, each with its own private balcony, overlooking beautiful views of the Victorian Village of Ferndale and the Eel River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Ye Olde Danish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Danish Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.