We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good the second time around.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Danish Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ye Olde Danish Inn to your Saves list
Ye Olde Danish Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Brisbane, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good the second time around.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just spent 4 days at this wonderful serene, quiet inn. We loved it even more this year, maybe because we had some sunny days where we could use the deck. We stayed again in the Copenhagen suite which is the larger of the two suites, however, I got to view the Aalborg suite and that one is also spacious. If you want peace and quiet, walking distance to the town, and all the amenities, stay here. We were here for the county fair which is walking distance from the inn. A big thanks to the owners, Uffe and Kuniko on a great job they've done with this property.

Room Tip: We had the Copenhagen suite which seems a bit bigger with a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding.CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Thanks to a last minute cancellation by someone, we were able to escape the heat of Redding and spend two delightful days in cool Humboldt County. Our suite at the Old Danish Inn was clean and comfortable. The hosts were congenial and non-intrusive. We enjoyed the beaches, jetty and marsh trails. The wildlife highlight was a sighting of three dolphins porpoising along the south jetty. Dinner at the Ivanhoe is recommended, with more locals than tourists. All in all, a great spontaneous getaway from the heat of the Sacramento Valley.

Room Tip: Dinner at the Ivanhoe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My Family of 3 stayed there for 1 night. I wished we could have stayed longer! Owners were great friendly people. The room had a great view of town and was very cozy after driving all day. They had board games and a TV so we could play and catch up on the Olympics. Great space. Planning on staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

What a gem. Ferndale was a highlight and the inn was fantastic. Not only were the owners gracious, but the room had everything to make our stay memorable. Although the furnishings are dated, it didn't seem to matter. Have dinner at the Ivanhoe and you will see what the locals are like. What a nice find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed here with my Fiance because his dad grew up in the little town of Ferndale and I must say it was not what you'd expect. It is a second living space built above the garage (separate building) with its own bathroom/shower and private balcony that has the most amazing view overlooking the adorable town. We were able to feel completely isolated, you'd never know the owners (lovely quiet couple) were there at all. Its less than a half hour to the beach and less than 5 mins from grocery, food, bar, and any outdoors activity you can dream of! Its been nearly 6 months since we stayed here but we are still planning to go back next chance we get... If you are looking for comfort/cozy/privacy but hate how tiny hotel rooms can be then this is the place for you! because places and towns are more spread out in this part of california and we have family that live in other towns near by were able to have them over with all the extra space instead of a hotel room. Unique and far more relaxing than that living out of suitcase feel you get from a hotel, I will return to this place time and time again. not to mention that the price is less than any surrounding lodging, for the accommodations and view combined you just cant beat it! Please support local/small business and take a chance on this one of a kind gem!

Room Tip: Anything you need is just a few feet away, no calling room service, its more like going to ask your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed for one night at Ye Olde Danish Inn, located on a hill above the town of Ferndale, California. It was very clean, cozy and had all the amenities that we needed. It felt as if we were staying at the home of someone we knew. I enjoyed having coffee on the deck overlooking the bucolic scene of the little town and the dairy farms. The owners are friendly, helpful and not intrusive. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We recently overnighted in the Copenhagen suite and were very pleased with the accommodations. The suite was well-equipped with all the comforts: good lighting, heating, satellite TV, and kitchen amenities. Overall, a very cozy yet spacious suite. The view from the balcony (where we ate breakfast) was fantastic; you could see for miles. Moreover, the inn is nestled against a forested hill so it is very private and I was amazed at how fresh and woody and clean the air smelled! The inn's owners, Uffe and Kuniko Christiansen, were very friendly and helpful, and did everything to make our stay a pleasant one. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde Danish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Danish Inn

Address: 132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536
Location: United States > California > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ye Olde Danish Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Danish Inn has become a national and international beacon for adventurous travelers to relax in privacy and complete comfort. On the 10 acres private estate overlooking the Victorian Village of Ferndale, the Inn offers seclusion and plenty of room to breathe, while within proximity to the wonderful recreational opportunities for which the Redwood Coast is famous: redwood forests (nature’s cathedrals), secluded beaches, pristine nature preserves and lot of wildlife. As an added bonus a town that invites you to step back in time. We are located only a 4 to 5 hour scenic drive (Highway 101) north of San Francisco, CA and about 3 miles in from the Pacific ocean. We offer two very comfortable and very private suites, each with its own private balcony, overlooking beautiful views of the Victorian Village of Ferndale and the Eel River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ye Olde Danish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Danish Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.