We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A serene slice of paradise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Danish Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ye Olde Danish Inn to your Saves list
Ye Olde Danish Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A serene slice of paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We chose this inn while visiting the Humboldt County Fair and it was certainly a great choice. We stayed in the Copenhagen Suite which was a good size two room apartment with a deck off the bedroom overlooking the town of Ferndale. The suite had a frig, microwave, coffee maker and a nice sitting area for morning coffee. The property sits above Ferndale on a quiet hill but within walking distance to the restaurants, town and fairgrounds. My husband wanted to add that he loved the privacy, seclusion and outstanding views surrounding this inn. Thank you Uffee and Kuniko for making out stay very memorable. Olivia and Steve

Room Tip: The Copenhagen Suite is the larger of the two suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

A lovely, quiet, and peaceful place to stay. The owners are really nice and made us feel very welcome. We had a great time!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Although we only stayed one night, we settled in without any issues. Beds we comfortable including the fold-out sofabed. Uffe was very friendly and I had a couple of interesting conversations with him. The cottage was clean and bright. I asked if he had wifi and he turned on his wireless router in his home. My daughter and friend camped in a tent outside the cottage and enjoyed the cool breeze and fog in the morning. We would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Quiet, charming, private suites and friendly atmosphere in a lovely and peaceful town. Reasonble price.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Dell, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 3 days and it was great, we over looked the city of Ferndale that was close by but the Inn was well hidden behind trees that it seemed we were in the country. deer ran around free on the property and we watched them lay around and eat from our wooden porch. we took walks on the nature trails and enjoy the peacefull surroundings.
the room was very comfortable as it had a real nice entertainment center with satellite TV. the folks up there were very friendly and were hardley seen and left us alone which was great. even had a game room below our room. five stars ,we really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Ye OldE Danish Inn

The owner of the inn left a note in the room asking for a reviews on TripAdvisor. I would probably have done it anyway, but here are the facts.

General Description

The location is very quiet. The unit has two rooms. The large room that is entered first has a recliner and a couch that converts to a queen size bed. There is a microwave, a small frig and a coffee maker. Plates and utensils are provided in case you want to prepare a meal. There is no sink or stove. There is a table with three chairs. There is a gas heater in the room and a wood burning stove. We did not try the stove, but assume it works. There is a very large TV.

The second room has a double bed, a dresser and one night stand. Both rooms have slanted ceilings. It is very difficult to walk around the bed in the second room. The bath has only a stall shower.

Pros

The location is very quiet. The unit is roomy and warm. Deer wander the property. The owner was helpful when we had a problem with the TV.

Cons

Don’t mistake this place for a B & B. There is no breakfast provided.

It is reasonably clean, but there is an unpleasant odor that could not be identified. There is deferred maintenance. The deck and railings need to be painted or stained. Both towel holders in the bath are ready to fall off the wall. The hot water delivery is inconsistent. It runs hot and cold. Because of this problem, I would not recommend staying here with small children. It would be very difficult to bath them in the shower with the inconsistent hot water delivery. The double bed is not large enough for tall or wide people. The bedroom has only one nightstand and lamp, which makes it difficult for both occupants to read in bed. There is no telephone or WiFi. The electrical plugs in the bathroom did not work for the hair dryer. The furnishings are inconsistent with a little of this and a little of that. Because of the slanted ceiling in the bathroom, the mirror is about a foot low for an average person. A tall man can’t shave without bending over to see his face.

The price of the unit would not be too bad for a family of four, but it is definitely too high for two people. We spent the previous night at a motel in Crescent City where the room was about the same size as this unit and had far more amenities, plus a continental breakfast. The price there was about two thirds what we paid here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uffeinc, Owner at Ye Olde Danish Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
First of all we want to thank all and any person(s) that takes the time to help us make Ye Olde Danish Inn the best get away place it can be. Ye Olde Danish Inn is not a Motel nor a Hotel, we are a alternative to such. We are situated on the most beautiful private 10 acres in Ferndale. With a spectacular panorama of the city and the valley. Both suites offers complete privacy and country comfort. No, we do not offer breakfast, since a 2 minute walk to downtown Ferndale offers several great breakfast places. We do have micro wave, refrigiators, and plenty of coffee. We do have WiFi, but no land-line telephone. And, as to regards to "tall and Wide" people, we do recommend that they should try the Copenhagen suite, that has a queen size bed with a queen size hide-a-bed. The slight odor in the Aalborg suite may be from the pilots light in the propane heater unit, we will make sure that the room is completely aired out prior to arrival, and any fumes left by the pilot flame is burned off....And, we supply up-to date hair dryers...So, if you are looking for a true country get-away place, Ye Olde danish Inn is the place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange county, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Ye Olde Danish Inn consists of two separate and charming cottages, one on either side of the hosts' residence. As a family with two college age daughters, we booked both properties, one for the parents and one for the kids. Each of the cottages was beautifully spacious, with charming decor, very fresh and clean, with a television, comfortable couches and chairs, a dining nook with table, small fridge and microwave, and a large balcony with wonderful views of the Victorian town and countryside. There were even complimentary water bottles in the fridge. Each house was furnished with bookcases packed with bestsellers. We found the information and brochures for area attractions very useful. A separate room for sleeping and a pristine bathroom in each house completed the accomodations. As a bonus, there is a huge game room on the bottom floor of one of the houses filled with a jukebox, pool table, bookcases, TV, etc. We didn't have time to use it, but it looked like fun. Our hosts, Uffe and Kuniko, were gracious and charming, and Uffe made sure to check with us each day to see if there was anything we needed. (There wasn't.) It was a lovely, welcoming space to come home to at the end of a day of hiking and sightseeing. Our daughters at their first sight of Ferndale were a little crestfallen at what appeared to them (city girls) to be a ghost town. But by the time our stay was over 3 days later, they didn't want to leave. We were completely seduced by the leisurely pace and relaxing atmosphere of our very own Mayberry experience. The wonderful quiet for sleeping, the invigorating fresh air, and the charmingly old-fashioned town had worked its magic. We found the quality of the food in town to be high (probably due in no small part to being in the middle of farm country) and enjoyed the friendliness of the people. The Humboldt State Park just 20 minutes south had an interesting visitor's center and beautiful walks and drives in the middle of the magnificent coastal redwoods. We look forward to returning to stay at Ye Olde Danish Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ye Olde Danish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Danish Inn

Address: 132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ye Olde Danish Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Danish Inn has become a national and international beacon for adventurous travelers to relax in privacy and complete comfort. On the 10 acres private estate overlooking the Victorian Village of Ferndale, the Inn offers seclusion and plenty of room to breathe, while within proximity to the wonderful recreational opportunities for which the Redwood Coast is famous: redwood forests (nature’s cathedrals), secluded beaches, pristine nature preserves and lot of wildlife. As an added bonus a town that invites you to step back in time. We are located only a 4 to 5 hour scenic drive (Highway 101) north of San Francisco, CA and about 3 miles in from the Pacific ocean. We offer two very comfortable and very private suites, each with its own private balcony, overlooking beautiful views of the Victorian Village of Ferndale and the Eel River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ye Olde Danish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Danish Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.