We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the North Shore of Big Bear Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Fawnskin

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Fawnskin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Fawnskin
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   880 Canyon Rd., PO Box 378, Fawnskin, CA 92333   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Fawnskin B&B and Inns
La Palma, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved the North Shore of Big Bear Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Inn at Fawnskin is a nice quiet mountain get away. We only spent one night, but the location, near the lake, is perfect for relaxing. The property is big enough for guest's to sit outside, look at the lake, and enjoy the summer mountain weather. We had the smallest room at the Inn, but no matter, the Inn is beautifully decorated and our room was lovely and quiet. The attention to detail is evident from the toiletries in the bathroom (A cute little pot of lip balm, how thoughtful) to the books in the library to the delicious scones for breakfast. Nancy and Bill were gracious hosts. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Karyn,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us! Bill and I (and Heidi) truly enjoyed meeting you and James, even though it was a short stay! We appreciate your sharing your personal experiences with prospective guests, and we hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is THE place, if you're looking for EXCELLENT accommodations, and even better food.
The innkeepers Nancy and Bill are, without exception, the best hosts we've had the privilege of meeting.
The LakeView Suite - PRIMO. The upgraded bathroom with jacuzzi - to die for.
The room: very comfortable, with a lot of quaint charm. Excellent viewing point for Big Bear Lake.
We surely believe that the food we were served, is the best we've eaten, bar none.
Our stay, accompanied with great conversation, and tremendous food was the best point of being in Big Bear.
We loved the ambiance and were able to rest and relax, which was so needed after a family funeral just the week before.

Room Tip: LakeView Suite is the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Nancee and Kim,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us! Bill and I really enjoyed meeting you both...getting to know all our guests is our favorite part of being Innkeepers! We look forward to seeing you again, and appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have been to the Inn at Fawnskin twice now and love it! It is a wonderful B & B on the Fawnskin side of Big Bear Lake. I like that side better because it is quieter and you can look across the lake to Big Bear City and the ski runs. Nancy and Bill are wonderful people and the breakfast and conversation each morning were amazing and a highlight. They also do weddings in the back of the house. This place is like the best family cabin in the woods! Our room didn't have TV, but there is a library of DVDs, so we watched one. Nancy made some good restaurant recommendations for us and then made reservations. The highlight was a new wine tasting room that had a jazz combo playing that night. We went and saw Bill and Nancy there and then the combo had Nancy get up a sing while they played. I hope to return to the Inn at Fawnskin again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Tracey,
Thank you so much for writing a review for us! It is so special when you take the time out of your busy schedule to let other guests know of your experiences. I am sorry you didn't have TV in your room....all the rooms do have basic cable tv, but it is possible someone left the DVD player on, in which case, your tv would have been "snow"! I'm sorry I didn't know about it, because I could have helped. Anyway, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you'll visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I spent the July 4th weekend in Big Bear at the Inn at Fawnskin. Our room (Lakeview suite) was fabuous, super large with a king bed, large sitting area, fireplace and nice jacuzzi tub. Bill and Nancy are very warm and interesting people who take excellent care of their guests. Breakfast was wonderful and different every day and it was nice to meet the other guests and learn more about them, as well as about Nancy and Bill. They make you feel right at home. The grounds are lovely with great outdoor spots to relax and read. It is on the North shore, so not right in Big Bear village. But the drive only took a few minutes and it was actually a bit more peaceful than the hustle of the village. Good restaurants were recommended for dinner. I would highly recommend this property for couples, solos or even friends or small families. The Northshore quite is more like an apartment as it has a sitting room that is separate from the actual bedroom. The Garden Suite is lovely too, on the first floor, with a huge bath and lovely green garden views. A perfect rustic but luxurious southern California get away!

Room Tip: Any of the suites are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Vikki,
Thank you so much for writing a review for our Inn! We so appreciate your taking the time to express your own personal experience, it really helps other people make an informed decision. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for 2 nights, in two different rooms and they were both great. The Inn is a true log home, which we love these types of B&B's to stay. It is located across the road from the Lake and we had a lovely view of the it. Bill and Nancy were fantastic, very friendly and knowledgable of the area since it was our first trip to Big Bear. The Lakeview Suite was the room we had the first night, lovely and cozy. The next night we stayed in the North Shore Suite, a real gem. Actually is 3 rooms, bedroom, living room and bath room. Love the decor and the beds were comfy. The breakfasts were amazing, the Light As Air pancakes and Cowboy Bacon, unbelievable!!! Fresh squeezed juice, scones, coffee and fruit, all were delicious. I know we will stay here again on the future trip to Big Bear. This is a true quaint place to stay, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, lovely place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! It was so nice of you and Dan to move rooms, since all the others were taken, but as you said, you got to experience two different rooms too! We appreciate your taking the time to write a review, and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was our first experience at a B&B - what took us so long!!! The Inn at Fawnskin was exquisite. The treatment offered by our hosts, Nancy and Bill made us feel more like family rather than customers. Our room, the Lakeside, was so cozy and comfortable; the addition of daily fresh flowers was such a nice touch. The breakfasts we were served were over the top. Nancy's cullinary skills are beyond reproach, and Bill's speciality brewed teas and fresh squeezed orange juice cannot be beat. What a delightful way to start the day. We will definitely recommend the Inn at Fawnskin and we certainly plan to return. Our stay was for 3 nights - which I believe was just a perfect amount of time to relax and enjoy our 41st anniversary and to be able to appreciate all the offerings The Inn at Fawnskin had to offer.

Room Tip: The Lakeside room had a nice sitting area with a sofa, along with a small refrigerator, and a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Randey & Michael,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay-thank you for taking the time to write a review! We so appreciate your comments, and look forward to seeing you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a sort of anniversary gift to ourselves. We have stayed in B&B's in many countries over the years and enjoy the pleasure of more intimate contact with the people living there.

Nancy and Bill are the perfect hosts; delightful, knowledgeable, intelligent and attentive to ones every need.

The breakfasts they prepare are nothing short of outstanding.

Located in Fawnskin,on the opposite side of the lake, it is much quieter yet only minutes from the hub of the more commercial side.

No wonder current and historic entertainment figures have chosen to live here. Gable and Bogart among others had homes just up the street.

You will most certainly be happy you chose to stay here!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple

Room Tip: All rooms are unique but excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Steve and Debra,
We so enjoyed meeting both of you, and spending quality time with you both as well. Steve,
your photography is amazing, and we appreciate Debra sharing her legal expertise with us as well. We look forward to seeing you both again! Thank you for taking the time to write a review-it is much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Fawnskin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Fawnskin

Address: 880 Canyon Rd., PO Box 378, Fawnskin, CA 92333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Fawnskin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fawnskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Fawnskin 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Fawnskin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Fawnskin Hotel Fawnskin
The Inn At Fawnskin CA - Big Bear Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Fawnskin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.