We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed rooms with great views. Beautiful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windy Point Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fawnskin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windy Point Inn
Save Saved
You added Windy Point Inn to your Saves list
39015 N. Shore Drive, P.O. Box 375, Fawnskin, CA 92333   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Fawnskin B&B and Inns
So Cal
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Well appointed rooms with great views. Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had a terrific stay at Windy Point Inn to celebrate our 40th anniversary. The room had a lake view along one wall, a wet bar/coffee area, fireplace, and jacuzzi in the bedroom. Breakfast was over-the-top good. The room is very attractive and perfectly maintained. We plan to go back, and highly recommend it.

The B&B is small, with 4 rooms. The property is on the northwest shore of Big Bear lake. Essentially, there is no beach access, but it isn't far to Grout Bay and the marina park in Fawnskin. In less than 10 minutes you can be at the Discovery Center and walk along the north shore to your heart's content.

There is no TV but a DVD player (and library) as well as a CD player.

It is a place that I consider to be most suitable for couples.

Room Tip: Any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windypointinn, Manager at Windy Point Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit at Windy Point Inn. We love having guests celebrating their anniversary with us. 40 years of marriage is definitely worth celebrating! Again, Happy 40th Anniversary.

Val Kessler, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Valley, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

First, let me say I'm a little conflicted about how to write this review so I'm going to rate each thing on a scale of 1-10. The view absolutely a 10, can't beat it! Kent the host - 9. He was very accommodating. He came right away and fixed the heater fan and provided us with additional wood for the fireplace at no charge. He did offer good information about where to eat and things to do. The downside - some subtle warnings based on past experience or the cost of the complimentary shampoo/lotion etc. Food - 8. Adequate, hot, served on time, good. Compared to some other B & B's we have stayed at costing the same $$/night we did not rate this as higher because of lack of choices and amount. Still good. Cleanliness - 9. There was some spots on the glass of the bathroom picture and dust on the frame, and there was a very long hair in the shower that was not ours. Otherwise, no complaints. Quietness - 7; we like sleeping with windows open. We tried this the first night but WP sits right on a fairly busy road. We were in the Cove which has no other rooms between it and the road. I think we would have been better off in the Peaks. The second night we closed all windows/doors and it was very quiet, but we were a bit warm. We like to sleep cold. Bed - 5. This could be a deal killer for us returning. In the Cove the bed is a king but is only a mattress sitting on a piece of plywood inside the bed frame. There is no box springs and the mattress is not that good. There are dips in each side. We really had a hard time getting comfortable and the last night I got about 3 hours sleep. Granted my back has some issues but if the owners could upgrade their beds to have good box springs and mattresses then I would be back in a heartbeat! In fact before we had slept there our first night we were already planning to return in Spring for a week, but now have to rethink that. We would stay in the "Peak" as we think it would be quieter and perhaps we could have the windows open. There is no cable TV, but that's ok with us and I was not able to access any Wi-Fi, but I can't remember if that was advertised , but again not a problem.

Room Tip: Could not uncheck swimming pool as "Terrible" there is not one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windypointinn, Manager at Windy Point Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are sorry you did not have a great experience at Windy Point Inn, which is something we strive to achieve for all of our guests. We wish you would have let us know your concerns while you were here so we could have addressed them at the time. We try very hard to keep everything clean and we would have been happy to have housekeeping go back into your room. We also could have re-fluffed, or even removed, the feather topper on top of the mattress, which may have been more comfortable for you.
We are sorry you felt the need to close your windows during the night.

Val Kessler, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 4 nights on business. Very lovely B&B. Breakfasts were wonderful. I stayed at the Coves and the view is unbelievable. The only down side is there's no regular TV program. There is a TV and a DVD player in the room and the B&B has a wide variety of movie DVDs. So all in all, it was a lovely stay. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windypointinn, Manager at Windy Point Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review. We do appreciate it. We are happy you had a nice stay with us and look forward to having you visit us again the next time you are in our area.
Val Kessler, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our stay at the Windy Point Inn was way too short. We only booked one night there. In retrospect, we could have stayed there a week. Our room had a 270 degree view of the lake and was something out of a magazine. We hit it off well with Kent right away. He was very accommodating and advised us of a good restaurant in Big Bear. We'd advise anyone considering a trip to Big Bear Lake to take your time and settle in at Windy Point Inn for longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windypointinn, Manager at Windy Point Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are thrilled that you felt you could have stayed longer. Hopefully you can on a future visit. We are happy that Kent was able to provide you with information to make the most of your short time in Big Bear. Keep in mind that Big Bear offers four seasons of fun, so any time of year is great for a visit. We look forward to having you visit us again.
Val Kessler, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a lovely couple of nights here as part of our Californian road trip. Big Bear Lake was initially a stop over in-between Las Vegas and Disneyland but turned out to be one of the nicest parts of our trip. A very peaceful setting - lovely to wake up to an excellent breakfast over looking the lake. Kent was extremely friendly and gave us plenty of recommendations for places to go and where to eat - we hope to be back here one day, maybe next time for a spot of skiing. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windypointinn, Manager at Windy Point Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are happy that your stay with us was a memorable part of your holiday. We enjoyed spending time with you and hearing about your home, as well as your travels in the United States. Hopefully we can see you in the future on another visit.
Val Kessler, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband treated me to a weekend getaway before our life turns hectic with the final planning of our daughter's wedding. Windy Point B & B again gave us just what we were looking for. We enjoyed the beautiful and breathtaking view of the mountains and Big Bear Lake from our bed, jacuzzi and outside deck from The Cove's room. This is an amazing place that takes you away from it all, we can't wait to come back! Ken and Val have a wonderful place to share.

Room Tip: The Coves is our favorite but other rooms are great too. If you don't want the sun to get you up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Windy Point Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for visiting us again. It was nice seeing you, and catching up. We hope you enjoy the time you are spending with your daughter preparing for her wedding. Enjoy every minute of it! September will be here before you know it. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience at our Inn. We look forward to seeing you again, and hopefully seeing some of your photos from the big event. Big Bear is wonderful in the fall, too, if you need to get away after the big day!
Val Kessler, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The views are terrific and the breakfasts are good, but the inn seems stuck in an 80's time warp. The decor is very dated(as are the beds), although very neat and clean. Super nice inn keepers however, who provide a nice getaway place in the mountains.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake and have panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Windy Point Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that our eclectic decor did not meet your expectations.
Val Kessler, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windy Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Point Inn

Address: 39015 N. Shore Drive, P.O. Box 375, Fawnskin, CA 92333
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Fawnskin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fawnskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Windy Point Inn Fawnskin, CA - Big Bear Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windy Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.