We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Pala Mesa Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pala Mesa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pala Mesa Resort to your Saves list
Pala Mesa Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Old Highway 395, Fallbrook, CA 92028   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Pala Mesa Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pala Mesa Resort for a wedding. The wedding experience was wonderful considering the extremely high temperatures that day (106 degrees). The service, venue and food was excellent. We have never seen a better venue for a wedding ceremony. We also had the opportunity to play golf and enjoyed the course very much. The greens were in excellent condition along with the fairways. The green fees were very fair considering the quality of the course.

We ate several meals in the Aqua Terra Bar and Restaurant. All were excellent and the service outstanding. Out room and patio was everything we could have hope for during our stay. It was clean, updated and worked very well for our cocktail party on the deck. Couldn't believe that everything we experienced during our 5 day stay was exactly as advertised on the website. We will return again when out travels take us to the San Diego area.

Room Tip: We loved our patio suite 467. The room was very large and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    59
    35
    23
    27
See reviews for
54
80
10
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The lobby, restaurant and public rooms did not disappoint, nor did the restaurant and Sunday Brunch. The reception and restaurant staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The room though was disappointing and not good value for money. It was dark and dingy and although clean it felt grimy. The bedcover and bed cushions were outdated and being heavy I did not feel these would had been laundered between guest stays. They smelt musty and did not have a clean laundered smell or feel. After 2 nights we were given a complimentary upgrade as the room we occupied was due for maintenance. This turned out to be for the treatment of termites. Pool area was also closed for maintenance. Upgraded room had larger bathroom but was not anymore comfortable and view was of the car park although first room had a lovely view of the golf course.
The grounds were well kept although badly lit pathways from main buildings back to rooms.

Room Tip: Would not recommend paying extra for deluxe room which may overlook the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

CALL HOTEL DIRECTLY FOR BETTER RATE AND USE AAA CARD.

From other reviewers I have seen some terms like, "outdated" and "dirty old rooms." I don't know what those reviewers expected but this is a rustic-type golf resort that is not going to feel like or look like an upscale city hotel. Our room was immaculate and the sheets were crisp and clean. The grounds were beautiful with many room choices and at multiple property levels depending which view the room had. Exceptionally quiet and I am a stickler for quiet! From reservation to check-out all staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: CALL THE HOTEL DIRECTLY AND GET A BETTER RATE! Also use your AAA card. I thought a room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Pala Mesa resort because it was near to our home which was being "tented" and we had to get out of the house. We were very surprized to find how nice it was. The grounds were exceedingly well kept, and if you are a golfer, this place is a dream for you. The rooms are set back from the main building, and are spacious, clean, and soundproof - we really liked that.
We took out a membership to Aquaterra, which gives you a number of perks, with discounts on food & rooms, and free appetizer party for 10, to mention but a few. After this stay, we thought we probably will go back to relax, and enjoy the resort fully, rather than the fact that we were escaping from the fumigation of our home. This last weekend the resort was packed full, so it is obvious that it already has a great reputation. Recommend this for a great getaway!

Room Tip: Am not sure which to recommend, as we only were in the one room, and this was our first visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Pala Mesa golf resort and had the best time. I am never let down by the room or the view. The staff are friendly and so accomadating. The cheif at the resturant even came out to greet the guests, and made me a special vegan/ vegetarian meal. It was delicious. I totally recommend this resort. The golf course is also very beautiful and well kept.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Staff was outstanding, room was nice, clean, and comfortable. Grounds were very relaxing. Cost was a little pricey and the rooms could use a little updating in style (furnishings). Restaurant was nice with a good view, and food was very well prepared, but menu was a little limited and needs expanding with regard to choices. They need to ammend their policy on not allowing dogs over 50 lbs to stay at the resort. All in all we had a very pleasant and relaxing stay at Pala Mesa and will do so again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are old and scratched up. Tv was terrible. Towels had mystery stain. Way too expensive. Furniture was old and beat up. They should be embarrassed for renting these rooms out and stealing money. Grounds look ok but rooms are a total letdown.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pala Mesa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pala Mesa Resort

Address: 2001 Old Highway 395, Fallbrook, CA 92028
Location: United States > California > Fallbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pala Mesa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pala Mesa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pala Mesa Hotel Fallbrook
Pala Mesa Fallbrook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pala Mesa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.