We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing. Not Worth The Price, But Hotel Restaurant EXCELLENT” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pala Mesa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pala Mesa Resort to your Saves list
Pala Mesa Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Old Highway 395, Fallbrook, CA 92028   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Dissapointing. Not Worth The Price, But Hotel Restaurant EXCELLENT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

Went to Temecula region for an overnight stay from the Los Angeles area. Pala Mesa Resort was overpriced for what it was. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone for the price. It was disappointing and the room did not make for a relaxing get away. For that price, I have stayed in much nicer places, I was very disappointed. The rooms were decent size but not "nice". For some reason they were not inviting, you did not want to stay in them. I asked the person who I was traveling with how they felt and they said the exact same thing. The hotel photos online are also deceiving. Pictures online look lush, vast, private, it’s not like that. It is pretty much right off the road and the hotel rooms are right on the parking lot. The suites are the only ones that are more private, off of the parking lot.

However, the restaurant Aquaterra was amazing! Some of the best food I've ever had and I've been to several restaurants around the world. I would recommend anyone going to the area to try the restaurant for dinner. The Chilean Sea Bass was incredible

The hotel staff was courteous and nice.

Again, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone for the price. It was disappointing and the room did not make for a relaxing get away.

  • Liked — The Restaurant Aquaterra
  • Disliked — The Room - was not relaxing, did not feel welcoming
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    59
    35
    23
    27
See reviews for
54
80
10
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

We arrived Thursday October 18th as part of a large wedding party. When we booked the hotel 6 months prior we mentioned that we were with the wedding party, as to get a discount and to be close to the others who would be attending. When we arrived, the lady at the front counter looked at us like we were crazy. She had no idea what wedding we were talking about and could not guarantee us a room near each other. Before we arrived, we checked out the hotel website and discovered at Thursday night rates were much cheaper then what we were quoted. When we brought this to their attention, they did nothing. After asking if we could pay more to be near our other family members, they told us no, that no more rooms were available. We said fine and went to our rooms. What a disapointment. It was dark and didn't look very clean. We went to the bride's room, who had a nice patio and was much larger and she was paying the same as us. But she also had to be moved, as her screen door was ripped and her hot water heater was leaking. When elvauating out room, we noticed that not only did they have the most uncomfortable bed around, there were very few towels, which were not soft but a light in the bathroom was out.
We had a very lovely dinner Thursday night and the concegie gave us great direction to a winery. Friday morning breakfast was slow, cold and not good. Our bed was made, sheets were not changed and no toliteries were filled. Friday night was the rehearsal dinner, we had a cocktail hour before hand. The staff at the resturant was dumbfounded when we asked where the party was. We had to move our own tables together and wait patiently for drinks. Then we heard dinner would be an hour late due to the hotel. So we waited even longer. By the time we were allowed at the dinner the food was cold and bad at that. Buffet style and cold. We returned to our uncomfortable bed. Saturday was the day of the wedding. I'm not sure if the wedding planner was part of the hotel staff or not, but she was worthless. She had no idea of our questions and no direction for the wedding party. The scenery was beautiful! The food was yet again, COLD. Saturday night our room keys stopped working, we called and John (who will help with everything and made our stay pleasant) came up, let us in our room and ran down to get us two more keys. Checking out was difficult as well, they charged us for 5 movies we never watched.
I will not stay here again, the pool was small and boring. The hot tub looked dirty. For the price of a basic room while others got a suite with a patio for the same price, I was not impressed.
It was suppose to be an easy going weekend but instead it was full of problems.

  • Liked — That my family was there
  • Disliked — Everything, the food!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

This resort is wonderful! Highly recommended for those of you who love golf! The restaurant was superb with many different choices. Great outside patio dining. The rooms were VERY nice and up to par. In regards to the bed bug comment left by another TripAdvisor member....there were no bugs in site of our rooms! Our group had 7 total, and none of us had a problem with bugs!

I would HIGHLY recommend this property to any one who needs to get away!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

Mediocre was the theme of this stay. With the exception of the grounds (which were beautiful), most everything else was just so-so.

We stayed there with a large group of people the weekend of June 30th as we attended a friend's wedding in the area. One gal in our group woke up with bed bug bites!!!!

Bed was comfy, room decor was updated and nice. BUT bathroom was one that you would find in a Motel 6. The toilet in our room was the slowest flushing toilet I've ever seen in my life.

Food in the Aquaterra restaurant on the grounds left a lot to be desired. Hubby and I ordered Philli Cheese Steak sandwiches...looked the the chef threw some meat, cheese, and peppers in a hot dog bun and nuked the whole thing.

And towards the end of our stay on the day of checkout, our key card became uncoded and wouldn't work. A staff member was assisting another guest two doors down from us. We asked her what we should do, and she just shrugged her shoulders and just mumbled that we should go to the office as she drove away on her golf cart...towards the office. No offer to let us hitch a ride with her.

Would NOT stay here again!

  • Liked — The grounds were beautiful
  • Disliked — The bed bugs
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

We stayed at this resort with a group of 14. I am a golfer and I appreciated the beautiful looking course. However, I did not play golf while I was there. The resort was very quiet, and peaceful. The restaurant for dinner was exceptional. The rooms were comfortable, nothing really out of the ordinary. However, the room was everything I needed including a refrigerator/coffee pot. I did some research on things to do in the area ahead of time. However, when I asked the front desk for a map, all they had were maps south of the hotel, the wine country is north of the hotel. So, just be prepared to know what you want to do while you are there.

  • Liked — Location, quiet, peaceful.
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2007

The resort is very nice. Beautiful surroundings, and, although im personally not interested in golf, a beautiful golf course. The employees at the front desk, and in room service were very friendly, and quick. The Aqua Terra restaraunt also has a very friendly staff, with excellent service, and excellent food!

  • Liked — The scenery
  • Disliked — i'm not particularly interested in golf
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2006

We were there on our honeymoon and our room was beautiful. It did smell a little musty and there wasn't much to do if you don't golf. The restaurant had great food, but overpriced. We had originally planned 2 nights there, but only stayed 1. It's really far from anything to do off property.

  • Liked — mountain view
  • Disliked — nothing to do
  • Tips/Secrets — bring games to play because there's not much there!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pala Mesa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pala Mesa Resort

Address: 2001 Old Highway 395, Fallbrook, CA 92028
Location: United States > California > Fallbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pala Mesa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pala Mesa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pala Mesa Hotel Fallbrook
Pala Mesa Fallbrook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pala Mesa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.