We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Solitude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fallbrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Blue Heron Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Blue Heron Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
5910 Camino Baja Cerro, Fallbrook, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Fallbrook B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charming Solitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This charming and informally elegant B & B provides a quiet respite from city life. Just a two hour drive from L.A. and one hour from San Diego among fields of organic produce. Andrea provides all the amenities for comfort including a truly gourmet breakfast featuring her just-picked strawberries and honey from the farm's hives. From the B & B, it's just minutes to Oceanside, Carlsbad, Vista, and Fallbrook. So much nicer than a hotel!

Room Tip: The king-bedded room is the most spacious but the queen-bedded rooms are equally as charming and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Andrea is an amazing woman with a fabulous farm/bed and breakfast. She is located at the very top of a hill in Fallbrook with commanding views of the farm and the rolling hills to the ocean. It's very quiet. For breakfast there are grapefruits right off the tree with just-picked strawberries and her own honey. There is nothing pretentious about this inn or Andrea; just really, and quite literally, a down-to-earth place with a naturally gracious hostess. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We discovered Andrea's B&B as a last minute divert when weather precluded our planned trip to Sedona (small airplanes hate icing conditions). My husband being recently home from overseas and the current hectic pace of my job left us in dire need of an escape together to just "be." The Blue Heron provided a wonderful respite, above and beyond expectations.

Andrea is truly the heart and soul of the Farm. A truly gracious hostess, she provided us with just the right balance of lively conversation and privacy... and punctuated it with a wonderful dining experience. You really can't get any better than a breakfast served up with the organic greens and berries direct from the Farm. To be honest, I am now spoiled forever when it comes to greens... and enjoyed them the entire following week at home.

The home is both spacious and cozy as it is the result of an expansion of the original farmhouse to accommodate a family being drawn together and this is exactly how you feel when you stay here... like a family member being welcomed home. We stayed in the Peacock Suite, a larger room with a kitchenette and two balconies... the bottle of wine in each room and the fresh cut flowers top it all off nicely. The king sized bed was incredibly comfortable and the wrap around windows looking out to the field of sugar snap peas let in a beautiful soft light. Andrea claims to not have any particular decorating style, yet the feel is comfortable and clean with just the right amount of luxury. I will include photos of the other rooms to round out the review.

The common areas include a picture window looking out over the bird garden which we thoroughly enjoyed over a cup of coffee in the morning. Andrea is clearly an expert in ornithology and I learned a lot from this experience. The kitchen and dining areas are open and inviting with smooth Mexican tiles and lots of wood. The den has comfy couches with a wood burning stove to stave off the chill of the coming storm. In that vein, note that the lighting of my pictures are the result of an approaching winter storm front; I look forward to going back to take more in the spring and summer sunlight.

Outdoors is full of blossoming flowers and any walker is sure to find the company of the Farm and neighborhood pups. The entry courtyard is truly a little slice of heaven.

I particularly recommend The Blue Heron for couples in the San Diego area in need of an escape but not wanting to travel far to get it. Oh, and definitely use the directions posted on the web site rather than your GPS... and trust Andrea's recommendations for dinner in Fallbrook! Thank you, Andrea for opening your home to us!

Room Tip: The Peacock Suite is the largest suite with two balconies, a private entrance, kitchenette and washe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I discovered Andrea's B&B years ago and now I can't get a room anymore. This organic farm will take you down to earth where anxiety and stress just drift away. The Spanish home commands presence when the sun peeks through curtains all through the house dusting the natural stone and woods. Andrea doesn't even try to host because she has hospitality in her veins, she effortlessly takes care of you. She personally prepares a huge spread of organic healthy foods which is served on her terrace looking over beautiful hillsides.

The beds are perfectly comfortable and the fresh flowers in the rooms makes you feel special.

Room Tip: The west wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had a lovely time at the farm. Andrea is a wonderful host and made a lovely breakfast for us. It was good to have organic strawberries and jam. My son loved playing with dogs and had a fun time running at the farm.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Blue Heron Farm for a romantic weekend getaway. It was just lovely. We stayed in the Peacock Suite, which is 2 rooms, has a kitchenette, living room, 2 decks, a king size bed, and private bathroom with a washer and dryer. We didn't use half of the amenities, but it was nice to have them anyway. The breakfasts were phenomenal - poached egg with artichoke and asparagus, strawberries on a biscuit with whipped cream, quiche with ham and swiss chard, homemade honey, and sausage. Andrea is a wonderful hostess and makes you feel very welcome. She has 2 golden retrievers who are also quite welcoming. All in all, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

I took my husband on a suprise vacation to San Diego and we like to get off the beaten track so, when I saw this B&B on the web I knew it would be something unique! I was so interesting. The accomodations were wonderful - we stayed in a really spacious room with a nice bath, living area with kitchen and had two decks overlooking the gorgeous land around. Andrea was our hostess and she is the most amazing cook - she uses lots of fresh fruit and veggies from her farm an the breakfast was the most amazing I have had at a B & B. She has 2 golden retrievers that are the cutest -- very friendly. I would recommend this to anyone who really wants a romantic get away.

  • Liked — Seeing the farm and the amazing breakfasts
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5910 Camino Baja Cerro, Fallbrook, CA
Location: United States > California > Fallbrook
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fallbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.