We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mankas Tapas Bar & Steakhouse

Mankas Tapas Bar & Steakhouse
2522 Mankas Corner Rd., Fairfield, CA
707-425-3207
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mankas Tapas Bar & Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 197 Restaurants in Fairfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Clayton Road
Vacaville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had the best dinner I’ve ever had, last night. Our waiter Doug was terrific.... Had been here before and wasn’t to keen on going back, the food just didn’t have much flavor and not much on the plates. But last night was a total turn around.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Food and Service Worth the Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Mankas Corner has been a rural grocery, a bar, as well endured several reincarnations as a café or restaurant. This newest version is well on its way to being a destination hot spot for Suisun Valley. The food is very good as is the service. Our fantastic waiter was Ricardo and he was attentive, courteous, and knowledgeable. The lobster bisque missed its mark as it was not served hot enough and the chunks of cheese distracted from the flavor. The beet salad was fresh, colorful, and delicious. Our party ordered the duck and the elk, both highly recommended and perfectly executed. We found the portions to be plentiful and even took home the left overs in a box. The prices on the meals are on par with any good restaurant, although the wine list definitely needs to be revamped to reduce the price points. Many local wineries are featured with price tags as much as four times what you can buy the bottle for in a store or at the tasting room. When diners know wine, they won’t be inclined to pay $36 for an $8 vintage. The backroom needs better lighting, perhaps candles on the tables to make the space more enticing. Mankas is a work in progress and it’s headed in the right direction. We’ll be back to see how they keep improving on a great beginning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have eaten here more than once. The food was good, although a little pricy. They have both indoor and outdoor seating with a large fireplace outside. There is full bar as well. Because they are next door to Vezer Family Winery, they serve some of their great wines. Their small Tapas plates are fun to share with friends over drinks.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The dinner was excellent. The service was good. But... It is expensive. OK for special occasions but not for an everyday dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great location for Suisun, but prices too high for area!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Today, I dined at the Makas Tapas Bar for lunch. This was the third time that I have enjoyed this gem, but today was the first time under the new ownership. Bottom line - the cost of the tapas and the WINE were too much for this area. The cost of the entrees and the size of the portions were in disagreement. After all, this is Solano County - not San Francisco. Prior to today, both of my meals were quite nice - a great value and quite tasty. Today, the food was nice, the service was pleasant but merely "adequate", but for the quantity of food that we had, the price was too much. My friend and I both enjoyed iced tea, and we split a Mankas Salad, and split a chicken penne pasta. Nothing else. We were served delicious complimentary french bread and great butter. But the bill was $38.66 without tip. It isn't that $38.66 was too much, but we SPLIT two items because neither of us wanted to eat much. Had we enjoyed the same entrees without splitting which would have been average in size, the bill would have been almost $80. Looking at the tapas menus, most tapas ranged from 12 to 15 dollars. However, in nearby Napa and Walnut Creek, there are two different tapas restaurants that do not charge as much as Mankas Tapas does. What is wrong with this picture? And the wines were very pricey - especially for Solano County.

My understanding is that the new ownership did a large renovation on this place. Regardless, they won't recoup their capital outlay if they continue to charge prices like I saw today.

I would give this a 4 on food, a 3 on service and a 2 on value. So this is only a three star restaurant for me. Sorry. But there are too many other outstanding places to enjoy at a much better value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mankas Tapas Bar & Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mankas Tapas Bar & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mankas Tapas Bar & Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.