We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NUT BURGER MADNESS” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Drive-In

Sunflower Drive-In
10344 Fair Oaks Boulevard, Fair Oaks, CA 95628
(916) 967-4331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Fair Oaks
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Fast Food, Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Fair Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“NUT BURGER MADNESS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love the nut burgers, but since I have somewhat of an allergy to tree nuts, I can't eat them. If I'm dying for one, I will put up with my reaction anyway. The milkshakes and smoothies are authentic. Real stuff in them, not fillers. As stated before, Sunflower is a 60's throwback. And you have to wait about that long for your order to come up. It is best to place your order then do other errands til it is ready. Sunflower's amenities are really makeshift backyard. But oh well. The food is great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good for an occasional treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

When ever we get a craving for something quick and delish we come here. The Nut Burgers are still to 'die' for, and the nutty tacos are close behind. Milk shakes are thick and tasty. Note: Sunflower prices are really on the high end. This isn't a complaint but more of an observation. You are eating something special and unique. But you've been warned...you aren't going to pay In & Out Burger prices here. The food is really fresh and yummy and we do eat here for the occasional treat.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Different but Good all Natural”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Drive in type of restaurant offering Natural food made to order. The made to order means that there is a wait involved to get your meal but well worth it. The Burritos, Sandwiches and salads are great. Also the milkshakes are really like old time milkshakes, my husband got a peanut butter one that was really tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food and you feel like it the 60's all over again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Been going here since I was in college, over 25 years ago. Love the nutty taco and falafel. Not fancy. Outdoor picnic tables with one long wood table inside. Very 1960's vibe. Place gets packed with all kinds of people. And the well known chickens of Fair Oaks are always wandering around.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yay! Vegetarian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've eaten here since I was a kid. It's not great, but it is a good, big fat sandwich of vegetables, sauce and Fair Oaks love. Save some stale chips for the roosters! Then go get a beer at Stockman. Life is good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunflower Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Sunflower Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.