We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food. Friendly Servers. What's With the Parking?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmelita's Mexican Restaurant

Carmelita's Mexican Restaurant
4071 Howard St, Fair Oaks, CA 95628
(916) 961-3327
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmelita's Mexican Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 72 Restaurants in Fair Oaks
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
CA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good Food. Friendly Servers. What's With the Parking?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Carmelita's for years and have always enjoyed the experience. The food is usually quite good and the servers have always been friendly and courteous. On our last two visits, however, we found (as did the previous reviewer) that the upper parking lot is closed except for valet parking - and there is no attendant in sight. We don't like to park on the street, especially since street parking is more or less "shoulder/ditch" parking. I wonder if anyone knows what is going on. The parking situation is a bit of a deterrent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food - parking nightmare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Visited this restaurant several times but most recently this last Friday night. Shocked to see that they have now "closed" their large parking lot to their customers unless they use their valet service. Because of that, people were parking anywhere they could squeeze into. When we arrived there was NO ONE using the valet parking lot and when we left (2 hours later) there was 1 car. Bad decision on the part of management because their food is just average. Good portions, nice staff but average food. If the food was exceptional, might hassle with parking but it just isn't. Green sauce chicken enchiladas are my favorite. Don't know if we will visit again if they are going to continue with valet parking only. Gave the POOR rating in atmosphere because of the parking.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage, ak
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great mexican food hidden behind palm trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

They have themes inside during the year and have great food.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good food, big portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

It's a good place for solid food, nothing too out of the ordinary, a pain to find parking, pretty dark inside, but good service and consistently good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Food was average, bathroom was yucky”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I normally base my rating solely on the food, but this review will be an exception to that rule. Based on the food alone, I would have given this restaurant three stars, but....

First off, there was a long wait for a table. The hostess said is would be twenty minutes but it was more like thirty. The meals come with unlimited rice and beans, but we had a hard time getting staff to bring refills because they seemed to be understaffed. But these things happen, perhaps they were just having a busy night and I wouldn't have dinged them for any of this. But then I had to go to the bathroom. I walked in, heard the sound of an overflowing toilet and looked down to see that about an inch of water covered the floor. I interrupted the hostess while she was chatting with another employee to tell her about the problem. Her response was that they already knew about it and would be taking care of it soon. I looked at her incredulously - they knew the bathroom was flooded but didn't put up a sign warning women not to walk into it?

Food was ok. Decent selection of vegetarian entrees and my meat-eating companions were happy with their selections, too. But I'm still amazed at their lack of concern about basic sanitation.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmelita's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carmelita's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmelita's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.