We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than average. Great value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaweah Motel

Kaweah Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaweah Motel
Save
You added Kaweah Motel to your Saves list
319 South Kaweah Avenue, Exeter, CA 93221   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Exeter
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Much better than average. Great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Family of 2 adults and two young teens, we were visiting Sequoia National Park. Didn't feel like paying the summer rates of $180-$220/night in Three Rivers. No point. Drive just 30 minutes to Exeter and pay $70 week nights, and $75 weekend rate. Don't get ripped off by the tourist prices at Three Rivers.

The hotel is very clean. Two big queen size beds and a very effective air conditioner. Unlike some places the sheets aren't threadbare, and the lightweight blanket is very comfortable. The mattress is nice, firm enough that it doesn't sag, or the two people spend the night bumping into each other.

The shower fits us over 6 foot tall comfortably. [Most hotels put the shower in a bathtub and the water comes out at a height suitable for pygmies.] The rooms are much more spacious than typical roadside hotel/motels. Even has a large wardrobe & hanging space where we could fit four huge suitcases. Many hotels, two people can't pass each other in the room. An earlier guest commented that the bathrooms are small; on the contrary, they are big enough, and have ample head-height that it doesn't feel claustrophobic.

Very clean and tidy grounds, nice little pool. Sensibly the modernisation not only provides fridge, microwave and flat-screen TV, it also includes double-insulated windows. Great for noise reduction and environmentally sensible in this climate. We noticed that all light bulbs are energy-efficient compact fluorescents. The office has a sign say "Certificate of Appreciation", as the Kaweah sponsors the local police K-9 unit. Good community spirit.

Also enjoyed the meals at East - West Restaurant 1/4 mile back along Park Street.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

70$ for a clean room, nice swiming pool, ice machine, lcd, double bed. After similar quality for 200$ in Grand Canyon we are very happy. Nice town with pizza and msny more restaurants with no crowd at all. Like it. Near Visalia.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I really loved staying at this quiet little family-run motel. The room was very clean and I felt safe. As a single woman traveling by herself, it is important to feel comfortable and safe in your surroundings, and this place fit the bill. Staff was friendly and accommodating. I was very pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room that was in the center of the complex and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

great price, ultra clean and walk to downtown. Exeter is what america used to be, and this place reminds me of that. why pay more for less, let's hear it for family owned motels. great place to ride from, great area. good antique pricing, we travel a lot and this is a great place for the money

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nothing special, but a great place to spend the night, get a good shower, good nights sleep, and not have any surprising events. The train is a bit loud, but isn't very active at night, so it raelly didn't matter.

Fine place to stay, great value.

Exeter is a really nice teensy downtown, too, with lots of nice places to eat, and a good walking business district.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Not many places to stay here. This one was cheaper. Didn't expect much. Found a clean, roomy room. Quiet and off a quiet street. Manager went out of her way to help us as we were there due to car trouble. Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: our a.c. took a while to cool the room - might want to check a.c. first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Clean enough rooms. Bathroom was small. My wife and I couldn't both fit in there at the same time. The shower was slightly dingy but not scary. The shower head was more like a jet stream. The bed was comfy. If your looking for a decent 1 night stay it's probably a good fit. If your looking for a nice place to stay on vacation... Keep looking. It does the job and is overall clean. The lady up front couldn't find me any shampoo when I told her our room didn't have any. She rummaged through a couple drawers in the desk up front though before she said she didn't have any so an A for effort I guess. I'd give it an overall "meh". Good value overall, just don't stay here if you are looking for a really nice place to stay on vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kaweah Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaweah Motel

Address: 319 South Kaweah Avenue, Exeter, CA 93221
Location: United States > California > Exeter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Exeter
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaweah Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.