We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Treasure in Exeter, CA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monet's

Monet's
20 South E St, Exeter, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 restaurants in Exeter
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/monets-exeter
El Portal, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Treasure in Exeter, CA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A high quality, culinary arts experience in orchard country! We go as often as possible to enjoy a wonderful variety of meals prepared to perfection by the chef Fred Imbert and his staff. Typically the owner Jennifer Davis or one of her friendly staff greet us. The specials are typically what we order with whatever wine we are recommended to try. Tastings of wine are available before making a final choice. After a typically superb meal we'll save room for dessert prepared fresh by Hope Fields. If you are in the area you don't want to miss this incredible treasure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    22
    8
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 11:30 am and was first people there. Such a cute place! Lots of selections to choose from for lunch! Ordered a bottle if renwood. Had the salmon salad and wow it was amazing! Also had lobster salad and enjoyed that. But what was the best was the desserts! Omg! Strawberry Marie choc cake! To die for! Choc torte! Everything outstanding!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“bit of paris in the middle of cow pastures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

great image right?
well once you step through the doors here you would think that you were transported to a cafe in on one of the many sidestreets of paris
while they have a small menu you must remember the place only has something like 20 seats

must try items
the mushroom soup
the lavender brie
confit of duck
and the water - yes even the water is good here!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went to Monet's in Exeter, as it was recommended by the staff at the Bed & Breakfast where we stayed. The food there was EXCELLENT! The service we got was terrible. The waiter never asked us if we wanted anything to drink so we ended up having just water. He never even asked if we wanted to see a wine list or anything. The people at the table next to us had an italian soda and my husband thought it looked good so he even asked the waiter what it was. The waiter just said "it's an italian soda" and walked away.That was it. He never asked if we wanted one or anything else about it. He also never asked if we wanted desert. We had to ask to see a desert list. He only came back to check on us once. We left a minimal tip. My husband is usually a very big tipper so that waiter missed out that night.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A surprise in little Exeter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This place was recommended by a local and so we had dinner here. Waiter "Caleb"was attentive and helpful. I had a tender ribeye, topped with mushrooms that had been flambeed in sherry. . My wife had grilled salmon topped with tzaziki, with a chilled taboullet salad and she loved it. She finished with a chocolate Grand Marnier cake that was to die for. Cannot recommend this little cafe enough!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monet's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monet's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.