We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bit of paris in the middle of cow pastures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monet's

Monet's
20 South E St, Exeter, CA
559-592-9453
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 restaurants in Exeter
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/monets-exeter
Porterville, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“bit of paris in the middle of cow pastures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

great image right?
well once you step through the doors here you would think that you were transported to a cafe in on one of the many sidestreets of paris
while they have a small menu you must remember the place only has something like 20 seats

must try items
the mushroom soup
the lavender brie
confit of duck
and the water - yes even the water is good here!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    24
    8
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went to Monet's in Exeter, as it was recommended by the staff at the Bed & Breakfast where we stayed. The food there was EXCELLENT! The service we got was terrible. The waiter never asked us if we wanted anything to drink so we ended up having just water. He never even asked if we wanted to see a wine list or anything. The people at the table next to us had an italian soda and my husband thought it looked good so he even asked the waiter what it was. The waiter just said "it's an italian soda" and walked away.That was it. He never asked if we wanted one or anything else about it. He also never asked if we wanted desert. We had to ask to see a desert list. He only came back to check on us once. We left a minimal tip. My husband is usually a very big tipper so that waiter missed out that night.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A surprise in little Exeter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This place was recommended by a local and so we had dinner here. Waiter "Caleb"was attentive and helpful. I had a tender ribeye, topped with mushrooms that had been flambeed in sherry. . My wife had grilled salmon topped with tzaziki, with a chilled taboullet salad and she loved it. She finished with a chocolate Grand Marnier cake that was to die for. Cannot recommend this little cafe enough!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
“Find your way there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The food was wonderful, the atmosphere was lovely. I have been there twice and had no problems with service. Perhaps I try to imagine I am in Paris - where diners are not rushed - so I just don't notice! Small touches really make the difference.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This restaurant was very busy and apart from having to wait an hour for our food it is well worth visiting. The food was very good and tasty and worth the wait. It was the best restaurant that we visited when staying in Exeter.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monet's also viewed

 

Been to Monet's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monet's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.