We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise in little Exeter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monet's

Monet's
20 South E St, Exeter, CA
559-592-9453
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 restaurants in Exeter
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/monets-exeter
Sacramento
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A surprise in little Exeter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This place was recommended by a local and so we had dinner here. Waiter "Caleb"was attentive and helpful. I had a tender ribeye, topped with mushrooms that had been flambeed in sherry. . My wife had grilled salmon topped with tzaziki, with a chilled taboullet salad and she loved it. She finished with a chocolate Grand Marnier cake that was to die for. Cannot recommend this little cafe enough!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    23
    8
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
“Find your way there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The food was wonderful, the atmosphere was lovely. I have been there twice and had no problems with service. Perhaps I try to imagine I am in Paris - where diners are not rushed - so I just don't notice! Small touches really make the difference.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This restaurant was very busy and apart from having to wait an hour for our food it is well worth visiting. The food was very good and tasty and worth the wait. It was the best restaurant that we visited when staying in Exeter.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Slow so slow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at 7:20 pm, got the menu at 7:40 and water at 7:50. The food, 3 salads and a ravioli dish we served at 8:30 pm. This is about the longest time we had to wait in a restaurant. Moreover, people that arrived after us got their dinner before us, difficult to understand how this was possible. Some people behind the bar were more interested in their iPhones. Luckily the girl who served us worked very hard else we would still not have eaten. Small comment on the restrooms: it is not toilette but toilettes (plural). Would we recommend this restaurant? Defintely no!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Monet's: French Cuisine, Without Crossing the Atlantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Monet's is an itty bitty culinary gem.
My girlfriends celebrate at least one birthday a year with a trip to a special place to eat. Though we do not officially feel we are "foodies", we DO love food, and have been known to get up at 4 a.m. and drive 3 hours from home to devour it.
Exeter, California is a small Central Valley town known for its murals, which depict the agricultural influences of the region. It also boasts some darling antique stores.
First, do NOT come to Monet's if you plan on "scarfing and running" as Americans tend to do, especially during lunch.
This restaurant/cafe is rumored to be owned and run by a frenchman.
And the french linger over their meals, relishing every bite and swallow.
The entire establishment MAYBE seats 25...maybe.
Sit. Look. Savor.
The water was infused with cucumber and cantaloupe.
If you have been to France, the menu will not disappoint you!
For the freshness of the food and the complexity of some of the dishes, I felt the food was reasonably priced. The entrees ranged from $15-$20. Our cheese plate was $19, and desserts were about $8.
It was worth every cent.
Try the lavender cheesecake...and then buy a piece to take home, and relive your Parisian experience, once again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monet's also viewed

 

Been to Monet's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monet's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.