We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monet's: French Cuisine, Without Crossing the Atlantic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monet's

Monet's
120 S. E Street, Exeter, CA 93221
(559)592-9453
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/monets-exeter
Central California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Monet's: French Cuisine, Without Crossing the Atlantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Monet's is an itty bitty culinary gem.
My girlfriends celebrate at least one birthday a year with a trip to a special place to eat. Though we do not officially feel we are "foodies", we DO love food, and have been known to get up at 4 a.m. and drive 3 hours from home to devour it.
Exeter, California is a small Central Valley town known for its murals, which depict the agricultural influences of the region. It also boasts some darling antique stores.
First, do NOT come to Monet's if you plan on "scarfing and running" as Americans tend to do, especially during lunch.
This restaurant/cafe is rumored to be owned and run by a frenchman.
And the french linger over their meals, relishing every bite and swallow.
The entire establishment MAYBE seats 25...maybe.
Sit. Look. Savor.
The water was infused with cucumber and cantaloupe.
If you have been to France, the menu will not disappoint you!
For the freshness of the food and the complexity of some of the dishes, I felt the food was reasonably priced. The entrees ranged from $15-$20. Our cheese plate was $19, and desserts were about $8.
It was worth every cent.
Try the lavender cheesecake...and then buy a piece to take home, and relive your Parisian experience, once again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    14
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The entres are so-so, dessert is good, under-staffed and over-priced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

For just a little more money you can go to the Vintage Press in Visalia and have a better experience.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
266 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“French Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Who would ever think you'd find a great place like this in Exeter, of all places. The food is fantastic...I can't say enough good things about this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Small french cafe with gourmet prepared foods is comfortable and delicious. They can usually help you pair your wine with your food choice (but sometimes not depending on the experience of your server). The food has always been some of the best found in the great Visalia area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Monet's - slow service! Did I say slow service?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

There were seven of us with a reservation for 6PM. It was mentioned to us upon arrival, that it would be nice if we were out of our space by 8PM, as they had another reservation. Hmmm. Not sure what to think about that, but whether we were out or not, was really dependent upon the service we received. Service was very slow. Appeared to be only one waitress working the restaurant. Water was delivered and then drinks - oops bread will be right out - never came. Entrees were served - over half were luke warm. One was warm, others were bordering on cold. Dessert menus were offered, but never delivered. Coffee was ordered, but never delivered. The place is very cute and has such potential. It's just too bad that the service is consistently poor - the food is good when it is served appropriately.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monet's also viewed

 

Been to Monet's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monet's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.