We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monet's

Monet's
120 S. E Street, Exeter, CA 93221
(559)592-9453
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/monets-exeter
Porterville, California
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“French Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Who would ever think you'd find a great place like this in Exeter, of all places. The food is fantastic...I can't say enough good things about this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Small french cafe with gourmet prepared foods is comfortable and delicious. They can usually help you pair your wine with your food choice (but sometimes not depending on the experience of your server). The food has always been some of the best found in the great Visalia area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Monet's - slow service! Did I say slow service?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

There were seven of us with a reservation for 6PM. It was mentioned to us upon arrival, that it would be nice if we were out of our space by 8PM, as they had another reservation. Hmmm. Not sure what to think about that, but whether we were out or not, was really dependent upon the service we received. Service was very slow. Appeared to be only one waitress working the restaurant. Water was delivered and then drinks - oops bread will be right out - never came. Entrees were served - over half were luke warm. One was warm, others were bordering on cold. Dessert menus were offered, but never delivered. Coffee was ordered, but never delivered. The place is very cute and has such potential. It's just too bad that the service is consistently poor - the food is good when it is served appropriately.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tc1957
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT, WONDERFUL ECT. ECT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My mom, sister and I just had the most wonderful lunch at Monet's. This is my 3rd visit and i can't tell you how wonderful each trip has been. The food has been excellent and delightful. Was so good, the staff can't say enough about in the service or how friendly they are. I'm coming back in March and can't wait till we can go to enjoy ourselfes again. I get lost in where I am eating, I might be in a little cafe in Paris not in a great small town of Exeter.Have to thank my sister for taking me there for the first time, because it's a place that I can't wait to go back too.. Thank you Monet's!!!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Central Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great food! Great service! Great selection of wine. Nice romantic dinner at a resonable price.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monet's also viewed

 

Been to Monet's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monet's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.