We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recharged My Batteries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Eureka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Eureka to your Saves list
Clarion Eureka
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2223 4th St., Eureka, CA 95501 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Stratford, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Recharged My Batteries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on my 7 week road trip across Canada & the U.S.
Wound up here quite by accident because earlier on in the evening I had checked into the local KOA campgrounds only to have a defective smoke alarm in my cabin keep me awake! So it was fate that brought me here in the middle of the night dog tired and in desperate need of a warm bed and SLEEP! They must have felt sorry for me at the front desk after hearing my story because they gave me a discount on the room! And the room was like heaven compared to where I had just come from...huge comfortable bed with cable TV and modern clean bathroom with tub & shower that washed away all my problems. By the time I got into bed it was 4:30 a.m. so I decided then and there to stay a second night before heading further South. Next morning I had a great breakfast in their spacious on site facility...lots of modern clean tables & chairs with sunlight coming through the windows while you catch up with the latest news on the wall mounted LCD TV. This place has more than one parking lot so the next morning I moved my car to a spot directly outside my room and left it there while I walked into the old part of town. Lots of historical buildings to see here and one in particular drew me in like a fly to honey! I seem to have this uncanny ability to sniff out foods that make me feel warm & fuzzy all over and Bon Boniere Ice Cream definitely recharged my batteries big time...even took a picture before I dug in! In the end what started out as a crappy night eventually turned into one of the better nights of my trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    41
    31
    13
    9
See reviews for
36
45
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a great stay here. The staff was friendly. They offer a hot breakfast every morning and a light meal in the evenings, very nice.The rooms were clean and spacious. We enjoyed our trip to the Redwoods. The hotel is easy to find and in a good location there is a target within walking distance. The only downfall is the indoor pool is not in the main building so it was a little chilly was back from the pool, but still a great place. We would stay here again if we are ever visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manteca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was bummed that my favorite hotel, Best Western, Bayshore Inn was booked for the weekend so I had a choice between Comfort Inn (south of Eureka) or Clarion (north of Eureka), based on the reviews between the two, as well as convenience (I wanted to be closer to Old Town where my daughter lives), I opted for Clarion. No complaints here, the manager was very friendly and accommodating, and the room seemed nice enough. The bed was perfect, very comfortable and the tub was big so I took nice hot baths. Although the hotel appeared to be kinda run-down but it was adequate for a busy weekend in Eureka.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We got a second floor room in the hotel that faced towards a side street near the front of the hotel. The exterior of the hotel shows a lot of wear. There are cracks, unkept stairways, etc. The neighborhood is right on the edge of a poorer looking area.

Our room was pretty tiny. The small table could only be accessed by climbing into a chair the is wedged in next to it. The bed was crazy. If you even touched the side of it the bed would fall off the base frame and sink on one side. It was so bad with the close quarters that we had to forbid our kids from even sitting on one of the beds.

The breakfast was edible but barely. My kids liked the waffles. The staff that served the breakfast was not at all friendly. A gal running the place got on my wife for trying to get some milk from a nearby storeroom. She did not see it on the counter. The woman took real offense and did not handle it well at all.

One morning there were beer cans on the rail outside of our room...my wife and I had one reaction...no surprise at all...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place is a dump. We wanted a pet friendly room for our 10# dog. The room they gave us had multiple urine stains that smelled fresh. The room smelled bad. When I asked to switch rooms,Nathan, the manager said they were completely booked and he could not refund our money. Since he was Labor day weekend we could not get a room close by. The following morning, the hotel ran out of food by 9 am and the girl working the breakfast area was rude and said there was nothing she could do. The holiday rate of $160 per night was way out of line for such poor quality.

Room Tip: I would stay any where as long as it wasn't here. This was my all time worst hotel experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The motel had friendly staff and the breakfast area was large with a nice breakfast being served. When we arrived, we were told that soup and salad was available at no charge for a light evening meal. Both were very good. The room was clean, however, some work needed to be done on the place. The door to the room was very unattractive, scuffed up and dirty looking. We had a descent stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel on our way up the coast. It was an okay place to stay. We stayed on the ground floor, so we were able to park right outside our door and easily unload out luggage. Our room had a bit of a musty smell, so we opened the door and window to help air it out. Breakfast included as well as an evening snack (which we passed up).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Eureka

Address: 2223 4th St., Eureka, CA 95501 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Eureka 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Eureka Hotel Eureka
Eureka Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Eureka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.