We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BARELY Marginal” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Eureka

Save Saved
You added Clarion Eureka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Eureka
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2223 4th St., Eureka, CA 95501 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Eureka
Santa Clara, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“BARELY Marginal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We got a second floor room in the hotel that faced towards a side street near the front of the hotel. The exterior of the hotel shows a lot of wear. There are cracks, unkept stairways, etc. The neighborhood is right on the edge of a poorer looking area.

Our room was pretty tiny. The small table could only be accessed by climbing into a chair the is wedged in next to it. The bed was crazy. If you even touched the side of it the bed would fall off the base frame and sink on one side. It was so bad with the close quarters that we had to forbid our kids from even sitting on one of the beds.

The breakfast was edible but barely. My kids liked the waffles. The staff that served the breakfast was not at all friendly. A gal running the place got on my wife for trying to get some milk from a nearby storeroom. She did not see it on the counter. The woman took real offense and did not handle it well at all.

One morning there were beer cans on the rail outside of our room...my wife and I had one reaction...no surprise at all...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    30
    13
    9
See reviews for
35
43
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place is a dump. We wanted a pet friendly room for our 10# dog. The room they gave us had multiple urine stains that smelled fresh. The room smelled bad. When I asked to switch rooms,Nathan, the manager said they were completely booked and he could not refund our money. Since he was Labor day weekend we could not get a room close by. The following morning, the hotel ran out of food by 9 am and the girl working the breakfast area was rude and said there was nothing she could do. The holiday rate of $160 per night was way out of line for such poor quality.

Room Tip: I would stay any where as long as it wasn't here. This was my all time worst hotel experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The motel had friendly staff and the breakfast area was large with a nice breakfast being served. When we arrived, we were told that soup and salad was available at no charge for a light evening meal. Both were very good. The room was clean, however, some work needed to be done on the place. The door to the room was very unattractive, scuffed up and dirty looking. We had a descent stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel on our way up the coast. It was an okay place to stay. We stayed on the ground floor, so we were able to park right outside our door and easily unload out luggage. Our room had a bit of a musty smell, so we opened the door and window to help air it out. Breakfast included as well as an evening snack (which we passed up).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

we had 4 separate rooms reserved. Upon check in, I was put in a room on the 3rd floor and the other 3 rooms were on the 1st floor... we had called 2 months in advance to reserve the rooms all being together, so this was not acceptable. The ad for the Clarion reads "3:00pm Check in time guaranteed" but we had to wait for our rooms to be cleaned (not long... but still a wait). when I got into my room there was still old left over food in the fridge and some sort of crusty like "substance" dried on the television remote (I do NOT even want to know what it was) I took the food and remote to the front desk clerk who personally cleaned the remote and taped it back together again for the back was coming off. The curtains were ripped. We always check hotel beds for bugs... they were clean and clear... but the bedding was very old and worn out. The air conditioner would not adjust up or down. Indoor pool was nice! but very few tiny towels available. Some of us had to go without and make a fast run across the parking lot to the room to dry off. The printed information in the room ie: television channels list etc. were old and crumpled. The front desk man made a comment regarding "sending one of there most attractive housekeepers to the room" and another about "liking wild women", I am sure he was just trying to be social and fun... but it was inappropriate and not to be rude but there was no attractive staff...but that would not matter... efficiency and friendliness are what bring people back. The charge for the room safe is a little ridiculous! BE SURE TO HAVE THEM REMOVE THAT CHARGE at check out time.
on a positive note: the bathroom was roomy and nice, lots of hot water, the breakfast was a very nice addition. waffles, sausage, cereal, fruit, biscuit and gravy, juices... there was an attendant who was very efficient and kind about keeping everything cleaned and stocked. The hotel was close to other attractions in the town. I would say it was a little pricey for what you get... but all in all it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: if you don't use the safe, be sure they remove the charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Ridge UT
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

First let me start by saying this was the 4th hotel we've stayed in over our vacation so far. The last 2 nights have been garbage so this was a very nice change....weekend summer on the coast, everything was booked so we paid a hefty price for this hotel but it was worth it!

Upon arrival, front desk clerk super friendly and helpful! We had called ahead requesting rooms with 2 queens which was good because the hotel was full.

The bed was soft and comfy, clean room, a little dated but nice. Lots of channels for tv, which made my tired kids happy! We used the laundry facilities which were reasonably priced and clean! We had a fridge and microwave which is always nice. Breakfast was really surprising! Waffles, sausage, biscuits, fruit, boiled eggs, muffins and breads. Not gourmet but definitely much more than most! Lots of seating and attendant to keep things full and tables cleaned.

When checking out we asked if they had a Place to refill our water bottles, front desk lady went out if her way to accommodate us! Thank you thank you!

This is an area with few nice accommodations at ridiculous resort prices so be prepared to spend more for decent lodging.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaghomeva@yahoo.com
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed for one night traveling from central CA to eastern OR, taking the beach route. Found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. Indoor pool was very popular with the kids, after a long day in the car. Internet signal was strong, and morning breakfast was complete and very tasty. Didn't notice any of the concerns presented in prior reviews that were posted here. Outside is showing a little age, but I understand that, having lived in a beach community for many years. My main concern was the room condition, which was very good. A couple of items to mention to management. The automatic safe charge is a bad idea. I didn't get charged as I mentioned it at check-out, but I only knew to do this as I read the registration card completely. Also, not sure if a fridge and microwave are standard for Clarion Inns, but I was very surprised not to have one in our room. Would have been very handy, since I was traveling with kids. Still, overall, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you are going to use the pool, as for a room near this part of the property. It gets very cool i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Eureka

Address: 2223 4th St., Eureka, CA 95501 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Eureka 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Eureka Hotel Eureka
Eureka Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Eureka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.