We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservations are not guaranteed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Broadway Street, Eureka, CA 95503-3810   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reservations are not guaranteed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

I work with a group of professional musicians from England. We booked 7 rooms at this hotel, and guaranteed the reservations to a single credit card. When we arrived that evening, we were told that the hotel was full, and we could only have 6 rooms. The clerk told us that they started to run the credit cards for all their reservations that afternoon, and when they got to our 7th person, the charge was declined. She claimed they tried to call a phone number in the reservation, but there was no answer, so they gave his room to someone else, and there was nothing they could do. We had to find another hotel for our 7th person. First of all, I have never heard of a hotel running credit cards before the guest has arrived. Secondly, after running 6 identical charges on the same credit card, it's not unusual for the credit company's fraud department to stop the transactions until the cardholder phones to approve them (but of course, he was not there to call). I've never seen this happen in 17 years of touring. I suspect the hotel was overbooked, and was looking for any excuse to bump someone without compensation.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    245
    79
    16
    25
See reviews for
218
288
29
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

My wife and I stayed here this summer on our way up to see the grandkids. The room we got smelled like marijuanua. We asked to be moved but were told we would have to pay more. The lady at the front desk was rude, and said if we didn't want to move we should just air it out. There was noise from the parking lot all night and when we checked out there were homeless people mingling near our car. When we left we asked to speak to a manager, were told no one was available I left our number so we could be called to talk to them and never got one. Never again, unsafe drug hotel, bad service

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — Terrible service bad part of town
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san carlos, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

Well, booked a last minute trip to Redwood country based on positive reviews of this place. First off we are very easy going travelers who tend to go to 5 stars due to business travel but are equally at home camping or going to 2 star motels/hotels. After a very long drive we are greeted to a tired room that was suffocatingly hot and an AC that never seemed to catch up with the heat. The bedspread was very old with holes and each bed had just 2 tiny, wimpy pillows (looked like little baby pillows - perfect for my 5 year old) The service at the front desk was OK - despite the fact that we had to go back at least twice b/c the key card did not work - Another guest at the hotel told me theirs did not work either the two days they have been there and had to go back and forth to the office too. They never apologized about the inconvenience with the key cards and nonchalently informed us of construction happening to the rear of the hotel (building more rooms). The ground staff seem to be much more attentive helping us out with the door with his maintenance card and then informing us about the pool being very cold because he just refilled it so the heated pool will be warmer in a few hours. The toilet was running constantly and the rug were very old plus there signs saying to be careful the toilet can overflow made me a little leary of the cleanliness of the rug so I was constantly telling my son to not roll on the floor with his toys. The dated decor and dirty rug and bedspread did not reflect the new appearance on the outside and the very high cost ($160/night) now that could be for booking it last minute but it seems to be the going rate. On a plus side the breakfast was good with 2 belgian waffle makers and ample food but we ended up moving after the second night to the Clarion hotel near downtown with a great staff, an indoor pool, breakfast, and great rooms. Though they are smaller in size the beds each had down comforters and 4 fluffy pillows. The AC worked like a charm and at $103/night a much better deal.

  • Disliked — Price, construction noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forks
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

I stayed here the night of May 25th and had reserved a king bed jacuzzi suite and wow what a GREAT surprise!

Clean property, VERY well managed, and the room was FANTASTIC! The king jacuzzi suite I stayed on was on the highest floor in the back corner where I had a view of the water. It also has a fireplace. The jacuzzi was wonderful, the fireplace was very cozy later in the evening for a bit prior to bed, and the room itself was very well appointed with an EXCELLENT decor of color and style. They have an elevator up to the higher floors which was quite handy in lugging all the luggage up to the suite. The property staff were courteous, helpful, very cheerful, and really made travelers feel right at home :)

I did order a take-out dinner from Marie Callender's restaurant which is located at one end of the parking lot and it was an easy 2-minute walk to pick up dinner and bring it back to the room. This restaurant is excellent and their pies are out of this world! Very large portions and tasty tasty tasty!

All in all, the next time I drive through the Eureka area this fall I MOST DEFINITELY will be staying here again! This was a delightful overnight stay experience and I highly recommend this property to anyone visiting the area!

  • Liked — The king jacuzzi suite! Wow!
  • Disliked — Checking out.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

BW Bayshore is a newer property an is therefore clean and kept up. There's an indoor/outdoor pool, indoor jacuzzi, gym, business office, and conference room. A higher end continental breakfast with hot food is included. While there, I visited Old Town Eureka shops, the Sequoia Park Zoo, Arcata and Humboldt State University, and Samoa Beach. For good affordable eats, try Lui's Restaurant near D and 4th for great Chinese food. I highly recommend the BW Bayshore for an affordable, clean, comfortable stay in Eureka, CA.

  • Liked — The pool and jacuzzi area
  • Disliked — the proximity to Hwy 1 (it's on it)
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

Very nice large room. Very clean. Comfortable bed. Vanity is outside shower area. Friendly staff. Next to shopping, movie theatre and restaurants. Nice extended breakfast. Discount on meals at Marie Callender's which is on the property.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

Stayed three days here while visiting family in Eureka area. Wife and I travelled with daughter and grandson. Booked room with three queen beds. Was pleasantly surprised to find one queen bed was in separte room. Room was clean and well appointed. Breakfast buffet was very good. Grandson loved the indoor/outdoor heated pool. Only downside was the beds were a little too firm for our tastes. Overall a great experience.

  • Liked — location next door to the bayshore mall and Marie Callender's restaurant
  • Disliked — beds were too firm
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn

Address: 3500 Broadway Street, Eureka, CA 95503-3810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka
#3 Family Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn we have all of our travelers needs in mind, we offer free wifi all rooms,and dsl in some rooms, free breakfast buffett, indoor/outdoor pool and spa, guest laudry and fitness center onsite. We have two restraunts onsite Shamus T Bones steakhouse also offering fresh sefood and a wide variety of bbq steaks ribs etc. We also have Marie Calenders restraunt onsite serving up yummy pies and homestyle comfort foods. Come in and relax in one of our many suites available. Extra ammenities also provided at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayshore Hotel Eureka
Best Western Bayshore Hotel
Best Western Eureka
Eureka Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.