We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place with everything you need for passing through” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Broadway Street, Eureka, CA 95503-3810   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxfordshire,UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good place with everything you need for passing through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for 1 night on our way from Santa Rosa (California) up to Grants Pass (Oregon). It was a good location as it is around half way on the more scenic route which was the purpose of the trip. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful with fresh made cookies sat there to temp you.
The hotel is right off 101 pretty much as you get to Eureka so if you were arriving at night it would be easy to find and has a Mall and supermarket for groceries right next door. The rooms have coffee makers, fridge and microwave, so apart from cutlery and dishes you're all set for self catering. The beds were comfy and the room was quiet, I guess it will be different if you are next to the road but most rooms around the main block looked ok (they had parking in the middle so it's easy to get your bags to your car).
The room doors open straight out onto the outside walkway (just 3 levels high) so if you are extra security conscious you may not like it, but they seemed to have plenty of security in place and it didn't look like the type of place that you need to be worried about.
They have a washer and dryer for guest laundry although the washer broke just before we wanted to use it, so a bit of hand washing had to be done, they have a change machine
and sell detergent from a dispenser, so it's all there for you. The dryer is just a pay as you go 25c for each 7 mins. Handily it's located right next to the swimming pool and hot tub so we went for a dip whilst we waited.
The breakfast is fairly basic, paper bowls and cups etc, but all included so pretty good value for money if you ask me and the coffee was good. All in all, for the money it was a great place that I would highly recommend to anyway needing a place to stay for a night or 2 in that area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your visit. We appreciate the honor to provide a comfortable stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    264
    86
    19
    27
See reviews for
239
317
33
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our roudtrip down the pacific highway from Seattle to San Francisco was amazing. I just wish I had found more bestwestern that we could have stayed at. The Bayshore Bestwestern was excellent.. I find the Bestwestern Plus and Priemer are great hotels

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your visit here at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn. We really strive to provide excellent service to all of our guest, and we are please to see that we are headed in that direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very helpful staff. Comfortable rooms, clean, good full breakfast. The garden area is peaceful and the Koi pond very nice. Nice to stay in the back so your away from the traffic noise on Highway 101. The staff is friendly and pleasant. Good BBQ restaurant within walking distance of the motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your visit here at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn. We really strive to provide excellent service to all of our guest, and we are please to see that we are headed in that direction. We hope to assist you in any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the back of the hotel in the no kids/no pets section. The was a view of the parking lot from the room but the room was huge and had an electric fireplace. Everything looked new. For the buffet breakfast, you have to check in with the front desk staff. Food was goid- usual pastries, cereal, sausage, you make it waffles. No hotel restaurants but the hitel is on a budy street so food was mit far away. Staff are very friendly and the front desk sells postcards.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your visit here at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn. We really strive to provide excellent service to all of our guest, and we are please to see that we are headed in that direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a jacuzzie tub and couldn't even enjoy that because we couldn't get cooled off after. Because the heat lamp comes on with the light in the bathroom it made it hard to get ready it was so hot in there. Sweating and putting makeup on is not a good combination. Don;t feel good about stay at all, left the room has much as possible to stay cool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here. I am sorry to hear that things were not completely satisfactory. I am not sure if you talked to the front desk staff at all, but we are here to try and provide an excellent visit. They may have been able to offer some solutions to assist you. We hope to assist you in any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great room! Nice Staff! Felt safe. We had a beautiful view of the inner courtyard. Breakfast is more than the basic pastry and juice. Several hot choices (oatmeal, eggs, meat, French toast) including waffles with fresh strawberries and whipped cream! I did have a very bad experience at Marie Calendars that is on the same property as the hotel and I would not recommend going there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for writing a revie on our facility. I am glad to hear that things were good with your stay. I am sorry to hear about the Marie Callendars. I will make sure to pass on this review to they management there. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed at a number of Best Western Plus Hotels near various points of interest (e.g., near Yosemite) because they are conveniently located and allow guests to bring a dog. In my experience this one was among the best.

Pros:

1. A very knowledgeable and friendly person behind the counter named Rachel who is the staff manager. She was excellent and was spot on when she recommended restaurants (listen to her...she won't steer you wrong!). She was also very responsive to our questions and comments.
2. The entire staff was quite friendly and made us feel welcomed.
4. The hot tub room was large and had ample space in the dressing and living areas.
3. Everything was very clean and there was no musty odor that can sometimes ruin stays in other similar hotels.
4. Excellent breakfast, compared to other Best Western Plus hotels. The oatmeal was fresh (not instant) and the eggs were real scrambled eggs, unlike the thawed-out frozen type you see elsewhere. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and selection of items.

Cons:

1. The fireplace would be a "pro" during cooler weather, but in August the pilot light makes the room too hot so we had to ask to have it turned off. The maintenance man came right away and advised us to call again if we wanted it turned back on in order to use the fireplace later at night.
2. The hot tub jets did not work. The motor would start, but no air came through the jets. This was unfortunate because we really wanted to use it and paid extra for this.
3. The fitness center is really too small and feels claustrophobic.
4. This is out of the control of the hotel, but the area has a fairly large homeless/transient population just outside the property. This made venturing out to the bay or the Bayshore mall, both of which are within walking distance, a little dicey, especially in the early morning or evening hours.

Room Tip: If you are travelling without kids or dogs, they have an area sort of segregated from the rest of ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your visit here at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn. We really strive to provide excellent service to all of our guest, and we are please to see that we are headed in that direction. We hope to see you on your next visit to Eureka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn

Address: 3500 Broadway Street, Eureka, CA 95503-3810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka
#2 Family Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn we have all of our travelers needs in mind, we offer free wifi all rooms,and dsl in some rooms, free breakfast buffett, indoor/outdoor pool and spa, guest laudry and fitness center onsite. We have two restraunts onsite Shamus T Bones steakhouse also offering fresh sefood and a wide variety of bbq steaks ribs etc. We also have Marie Calenders restraunt onsite serving up yummy pies and homestyle comfort foods. Come in and relax in one of our many suites available. Extra ammenities also provided at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayshore Hotel Eureka
Best Western Bayshore Hotel
Best Western Eureka
Eureka Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.